Thread: Darwin & loving it!!

Re: Darwin & loving it!!

Sounds like fun up there. Heaps of good species to catch. If theres jack up there you will find them. I am still jackless but i got this good sized snapper on my aviator. I bet those huge tides took a bit of getting used to. Keep your posts coming it will give a lot of boys good info on the top end if and when we get up there. Cheers.

bout time you crawled out of the mangroves...thought you were croc crap..lol.. mate what can I say you've got it all up there so go hard at it while you can.
    best of luck mate and keep it coming.
    pickers

Well done Richie, I'm heading up to Darwin In July and still wondering which rod to bring. If I get time might just head out on a charter for the day, as I will only have a week this time
    Aussiefool

Cheers fellas for the repilies. It truly is a magnificent spot to fish and I am very peivelaged to be able to fish 4 times a week up here. Just gotta watch the fuel bill and thank god that my fav spots are less than 5 minutes from the ramp.

Whytey: Nice fish mate. As hard as it is to believe I do miss our Bream/Jack sessions. Just make sure you bring your game come run off champ.

Jeff: Seen a few crocs. They pulled over 270 crocs out of the harbour alone last year. Biggest I've seen went around 3m and I've hooked a little fella on the flats. Part and parcel of the territory mate.

Jackson: Yep Fishfinder was the 1st thing I bought up here. Fished the Catalina's a few times with mixed results. Topwater lures seem to be the go there. I do all my Jewie fishing off Charles point unless it's blowing a gale. Thanx for the tips mate.

Dan5: Leader's is also on the cards after the wet season and the road gets grated. Great snags full of Jacks. Fished it once only but shot off to the blue holes as the tides were wrong.

AussieFool: PM me if you need any tips mate, I may have some time off.

Cheers boys. More reports to come in the future. Hopefully bigger barra.

Richie

PS:
    Mozza: Havn't tried the Howard yet. Hit Shoal bay once but the wind was up. Next spring will be fishing the mouth of King and Meckitts Creek. Big female barra haunts in there I've heard.
    Spewing on your missed barra oppurtunities (last report). It's happenend to me heaps already I could have bettered my PB 3 times over.
    Last edited by richieboy; 13-02-2008 at 09:20 AM.

Thanks for the report Richie.... sounds like a top place.

I have a mate going up to Darwin soon for a visit, can anyone recommend a charter to get him on some barra?
    Not enough time in the day, to many spots to fish!