Thread: Darwin & loving it!!

Darwin & loving it!!

G'day boys and girls.
    Firstly, Happy New year to all as it's been a long time in between posts.
    I managed to sneak in on a mates computer today and after getting the camera back last week I have hit the water to get a report up and say g'day.
    As some of you may know I left the Jack filled waters of Bris-vegas late last year for another seachange, this time up to Darwin.
    Things were little slow in getting the rig up here but when it arrived and getting my head around the massive tidal movements that occur in Darwin Harbour I decided to do a bit of exploring.
    And explore I did.
    East Arm, West Arm, Middle Arm reaches, Woods Inlet and all the other small creeks that hold snake drains and flats. Shoal bay and Buff creek where big Barra abound and the threadies are fickel.
    This place has it all boys. The sun is hot and when the Spring tides are on and the flats are draining the barra come on the bite boofing bait left right and centre. If you've never ever heard a barra boof it is a sight/sound to behold.
    Unfortunately for barra, this gives away there presence and several casts in their direction will ensue from the Zillion.
    I've managed to suss out 2 creeks really well that fire on these Springs and landed countless barra. However, I've also lost my fair share. Never to bust offs but always to pulled hooks and frenzied head shakes in the shallows.
    My PB landed so far is 84cm but I've hooked a few that would be well over 90cm on previous trips.
    Enough on that iconic fish the barra, onto the hardest fish to tempt with artificials (IMO)............Threadies. These fish are everywhere and prolific on the flats. Jumpimg Jelly Prawns give away there presence easy enough just before they get enhaled leaving a foaming mess of water.
    I've only landed one since being up here that fell to a Classic Just under worked quickly on a deep water colour change and it went harder than any barra I've hooked so far. Was a highlight but only a pisser at 60cm.
    Queenies are a plague, Trevs are just plain anoying and when the macs come thru on the bluewater it's painful.
    I have yet to land my 1st Jewie but give me time fellas, I've only had so much time to suus the creeks let alone the Bluewater scene.
    No I havn't fished any of the big rivers yet, ie Daly, Mary, Adelaide,Roper etc.
    The Harbour produces enough beaut chromies that taste way better than the swampies that can frequent these big rivers in the flood. I make a point to fish the run off tho just so I get a crack at getting that metre fish.
    Lures which stand out for me up here are Classics, Killalure and the almighty bomber. Bombers in particular account for most fish as you may see in the pics.
    I have tasted Jack success but due to barra fever havn't targeted them much. All creeks heve em but I just look for snags.
    Leader Creek is supposed to be filled with snags so when the road improves after the wet you can bet I'll be there.
    Anyways, enough ranting, sorry I havn't taken any great pics being on my lonesome. Enjoy anyways.
    Note the pic of one of my hotspots. There is about 2 ft of water and all it is,is stand and deliver and wait for that jarring hit that signal a barra. That's when the boofs start everywhere and it's game on.
    Cheers boys and all is good up here in the NT.

Richie

PS: Nick, Cheif, Garret, Pickers, Creek Vermin.......Where are you boys. Holler when you are up here.

Re: Darwin & loving it!!

nice little barra mate good catch

Good stuff Richie, sounds like your having a ball. Looking forward to your next post, it will only get better as you get the place sussed.
    Marty.

Good to see ya getting some fish, the trevs do get anoying up north i know haha.

Good to see your report again and great fish there...
    Last weekend I managed to pick 2 barra from a charter in Townsville...
    Oh I already miss best fishing up norhtern

BIG RICHIE! hows it mate. looks like you've been enjoying yourself since we spoke last. Some nice barra your been tangling with up there mate. wheres the pics of the big queenies? Had a hot sess this morn with bream aplenty around the bay shallows, hot topwater bite. ill put up a post later so you can have a squizz at what your missin out on

I shall try and work out what part of april i can come up ill give you a bell during the week.

Whytey.

PS Keep up the reconnaissance.
    If you wish to learn more about reading and getting the most from your Lowrance units or learning more about fishing with artificial baits I will come out in the comfort of your own boat for one on one coaching. Please call for more information.

Ausfish Silver Member jackson4300's Avatar

good on ya mate, was up there at the start of the year, got there the w/e after the cyclone hit, no fish at all. No boofing no nothing, couldn't find a single fish.

Went way offshore to make an attempt for some reefies and only got onto a couple which was way out past all the dirty water.

Mate if your after a jewie try the catalinas (spelling??) get the book called 'Fish Finder' invaluable for spots up there. The gps marks are exactly spot on, shows some wrecks as in pictures of them on the bottom, just the best book for up there. But yea give the catalina wrecks a shot if your after a jewie you will also get a few golden snapper aswell.

Great report though, makes me jealous that i am back down in brissy and not up there, good on ya

Looks like your all settled in and getting a handle on the local scene. It must be good to drive past jack folled snags on the way to catch some chromed ones

G/day mate, we'll be up soon. Some great pics,just leave a few in the water for us

Onya Rich, sounds like you're havin' a ball. I'm jealous!!!!

Have you seen many floating handbags in your travels??????????

Cheers Jeff.

Great to hear all is well and you have settled in up there ,i really enjoyed the read and the pictures are great keep up the good work i am so wanting to go up there next year for my 50th thanks for the great report ...matt P .S did the boat get up there in one piece mate....
    A bad days fishing has got to be better than any day at work......

What a life! Well done with the barra.

Know what you mean with the threadfin. When I was up north, the only time I had any luck with them on lure was on dusk (getting pretty dark) when the tide was pushing up on to flats. The buggers would be in really shallow water chasing bait and I'd land the lure in the action, then it'd be on! They do go real hard in shallow water.

Geez I'm jealous.

Good onya Richie! Glad to see a few people moving northwards for the fishing! Nothing beats Northern Oz!!!

Hey bloke doing it tuff up there hey?Do yerself a favour and head out to leeder's and troll the mouth for a jewie and a barra and a thredie.Cheers Dan...........

Great Richieboy,

If only I knew then what I know now about barra fishing when I was in Darwin....

Have you tried the Howard yet? It's funnell shaped and the change in tide has to be seen to be believed. There's a rock bar to the north of it that fishes well for salmon and barra, the creek itself has some nice holes and gutters on the runout and it FIRE's well when the wet's on. You can nose right up to a rock bar that rocks when the fresh is flowing. Easy to get too from Buffalo - about a 15min trip. Good for crabbing too.

I'm envious.

Mozza