Thread: HELP....Holdaying with inlaws,wife & 2 kids

HELP....Holdaying with inlaws,wife & 2 kids

G'day everyone,

As you can see I'm new to the forum. I've been a member of a couple of others but neither appear to cover such broad horizons.

I'm heading up to Seaworld resort on 30/03 and returning 5/04 for a supposed holiday. I'd really like to get a days fishing done (the only way to holiday) in between the family squables, kids crying, theme parks, visiting family & trying to stay remotely sane .

I read that there is some decent fishing nearyby. does anyone know if I can hire rods/reels nearby as it's a pain to take one's own stuff by plane (especially when one can't remember who he lent his rod cannister too ). Either that or would it be worth getting a charter for a day? I've a had a bit of a look around it seems like around $170-$190 seems to be the going rate for a day out. Can anyone suggest maybe a decent operation up there at a reasonable rate. I'm not to fussed what I fish for as long as I get some happy snaps although big is good.

The last option would be to beg a local for a days fishing with paying for bait, petrol etc. Anyone local who knows where I could put a notice up would be handy.

Re: HELP....Holdaying with inlaws,wife & 2 kids

Quote Originally Posted by wawoftam View Post
    in between the family squables, kids crying, theme parks, visiting family & trying to stay remotely sane .
    Sorry mate, you will be in hell and nobody can help you.
    I would forget about taking your own gear, hopefully someone will recomend a decent charter operation, what's another couple hundred bucks compared to the money you'll go through in the theme parks? I've been on a couple around there, but can't remember the names, but they had good gear.

Frenzy Fishing Charters (07) 32094576

Quote Originally Posted by Captain Stabin View Post
    Frenzy Fishing Charters (07) 32094576
    Thanks for that. I bummped into their site amongst many. It actually looked the best but sometimes the glitz covers up poor services. Anybody can post impressive piccies but service can be another thing.
    Have you personally used them?

Quote Originally Posted by wawoftam View Post
    Thanks for that. I bummped into their site amongst many. It actually looked the best but sometimes the glitz covers up poor services. Anybody can post impressive piccies but service can be another thing.
    Have you personally used them?

Yeah mate a few times.
    Garry goes out of his way to put you on the fish.

I thought this was going to be one of those sad threads ....... but you haven't been to hell yet
    Please accept my commiserations
    Nagg

Hell starts if the wife and kids want to go fishing too.

Remember all those fishing trips where you never really got to fish, but baited hooks, fixed tangles and pulled gear off snags, not to mention the comments of
    "I'm Bored".

Just kidding, hope you have a great time and get some quality fish.
    Fillet and Release Squad

As they used to say in the old days as the judge passed sentence

May god have mercy on your soul..

How about ducking down to the local plumbing supply shop, get some 90mm storm water pipe, an end, and a collar with a lid that screws off ? I did this for my campervan, made a stellar rod storage box.. bit of foam each end to protect the rods, and I have been offroad several times and my rods are still fine.
    It would only cost you about 10 bucks, and the airline should take it on for you through special luggage.
    Take your own gear mate, buy some local bait like yabbies or blood worms. There are some good fish in that area like whiting , flatties and bream

Oh, and the local chemist has those ear plugs you use when mowing the lawn, grab a couple of pair so you become hard of hearing

Russell
    If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?

Quote Originally Posted by Dirtysanchez View Post

How about ducking down to the local plumbing supply shop, get some 90mm storm water pipe, an end, and a collar with a lid that screws off ? I did this for my campervan, made a stellar rod storage box.. bit of foam each end to protect the rods, and I have been offroad several times and my rods are still fine.
    It would only cost you about 10 bucks, and the airline should take it on for you through special luggage.
    Take your own gear mate, buy some local bait like yabbies or blood worms. There are some good fish in that area like whiting , flatties and bream

Oh, and the local chemist has those ear plugs you use when mowing the lawn, grab a couple of pair so you become hard of hearing

Russell

I'm not really feeling the love in here . I'd be more that happy if the wife wanted to go fishing but alas it isn't her thing. A days fishing (even an hour or 2) with the kids is still better than no fishing at all.

Thanks Russell for the suggestion with the pipe. This would certainly do the job but lugging it around plus tackle box for just for just the 1 fishing session is probably a bit over the top. I can also hear the wife now "why are you taking all that? you won't have time to be fishing all the time". I can't blame her really as on our last holiday to Lakes Entrance she hardly saw me for 5 days. My arguement was that at least I took my son with me one day.

I'm thinking the charter maybe the go and I'll just have to pray for nice weather.
    From looking at some websites they do charters for both out deep and for calmer waters so i should be able to at least wet a line.
    All I'm after is catching a fish species or 2 that we don't get down here (not that I'd ever know back a 35cm+ bream on my rod), taking a happy snap & then toss 'em back.

Mate if you want to go on a charter go with smithy have a look in saltwater reports offshore he is a sponsor here and also regularly reports i'm sure he has contacts on his avatar
    here is one of his reports nice fish thesehttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=124048
    Last edited by STUIE63; 07-02-2008 at 12:02 PM.
    IF IT CAN'T EAT A WHOLE PILLY I DON'T WANT IT

Quote Originally Posted by Dirtysanchez View Post

Russell
    G'day Russell!

Where is someone staying at Seaworld Resort going to buy blood worms?

The nearest I know is the bait and tackle shop in Grice Ave, Paradise Point which is a long drive for a tourist.

Ray de R

Ray, don't know mate, but it sounds like you have the area sussed.
    If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?

You will go past a bait & tackle shop on your LHS just before all the "pretty Stuff" like marina mirage, and the poshy versace place - its next to the co-op/fishermans wharf complex about 1km before seaworld. Has good gear cheap! And BOYS not all wifes are what you lot are making them out to be - SOME of us live to fish & even BUY our husbands big xmas pressys like a 6.5mtr centrecab - so don't be so quick in your bagging! (so there!) Sammy

Quote Originally Posted by samsnap View Post
    You will go past a bait & tackle shop on your LHS just before all the "pretty Stuff" like marina mirage, and the poshy versace place - its next to the co-op/fishermans wharf complex about 1km before seaworld. Has good gear cheap! And BOYS not all wifes are what you lot are making them out to be - SOME of us live to fish & even BUY our husbands big xmas pressys like a 6.5mtr centrecab - so don't be so quick in your bagging! (so there!) Sammy

Will you marry me?

OOOPs I am amrried

marry me instead, i,d like a new centre cab