Thread: First weaving attempt

First weaving attempt

On some of the rod building sites I have seen some awesome thread work on some of their rods.... So with a bit of a quiet weekend planning I thought I would try a basic weave on one of my bream sticks....

My boat is called Purple Ohm so I though I would try an Ohm symbol....
    I whipped up a simple weaving loom for the grand total of $4 and set to work

The picture in the corner is the symbol I was trying to copy..

The weave came out a bit longer than I expected and there are a couple of small faults.... but over all Im pretty happy with it

Re: First weaving attempt

No turning back now Jethro
    If you have a look at my site there's a few tutorials that might help get you going.
    You'll find it easier to get straight threads if you can get your jig narrower.
    There's plans for a home made unit there as well.
    Owen

The whole world's mad save thee & me (but I'm not too sure about thee)

G'day Owen

I've had a bit of a look at your software and it looks great...... Its definately on my "to get" list in the not to distant future.

Have you got any tips for laying out the threads when Im starting off?? I had a devils own time trying to get all of the threads straight and close enough together....

Jethro,
    You need to change you loom so it gets the threads closer to the centreline of the blank.
    The one I made used combs place in a V configuration.
    Crude, but effective.
    These days I use a wonder weaver (cheaper two wheel unit), but they are still very expensive. The beauty of them is that the thread is always held parallel to the blank, so it tends to stay straight. With yours you are putting tension in an outward direction all the time.
    Ross (Rodworks) sells Doc Ski's looms which are reasonably priced.

I don't lay the threads on tape at the butt end at first.
    I run them straight from one loom to the other.
    When I have them all laid out, I encircle the whole lot with a zip tie and carefully squeeze it down on the blank using a rocking motion while tightening the zip tie.
    If you're careful they'll all position themselves well. Just make sure you get them centered properly.

Remember the center of the weave may not be exactly half the threads.
    If you have a very large dorsal fin or something you might put the center of the weave in the middle of the body instead.
    I print the pattern and lay it on the blank then see where I need to be to make it look right.
    Hope this helps.
    Owen

The whole world's mad save thee & me (but I'm not too sure about thee)

well done Jethro!! I think you've done well.

I am dangerously close to doing my first weave....well thinking seriously.

that would be a perfect first attempt IMO.

r.
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

mate ,thats a great first weave, you have done well. me i cut mine off about 6 times before i was happy only to stuff up the epoxy work. thread art its a very very bad thing. once you start you just can,t stop. keep it up you do good work cheers ian

roz, do a weave mate you need a change. lay out a pic of your boat you on the back with vermin on the end of the line. thats a nice start to your weave collection xx ian

Jethro you have done a great job for a first timer not many people can do that well first time.
    The next will be easier and the next will be even easier and before you know it you will be looking for rods to weave on, any rod will do.......
    Also the comb thing we made it does work and makes things a lot easier and brings your threads together nicely.

Ian have you done any more recently and it can't be all still going to s#@t surely if so you are welcome to come up for a week end of weaving any time my sewing art room has now been transformed into a rod building room.

Roz I won't say a word cause I have said a number of times I would do a wrap and guess what.
    sandyd

Quote Originally Posted by roz View Post
    well done Jethro!! I think you've done well.

I am dangerously close to doing my first weave....well thinking seriously.

that would be a perfect first attempt IMO.

r.
    Big ditto from this big black duck
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Thanks all..... just need to start my next one now....

Owen - Thanks for the suggestion.... Sounds like I might have to redesign the loom..... The zip tie is a great idea..... I knew teher must be an easier way