Are there any alternatives to marine ply - Page 2
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Are there any alternatives to marine ply

Re: Are there any alternatives to marine ply

haha yeh i know what you mean. i dont see what other kids see in em. Oh ok so your a fair way away. i was going to say if you could make a trip to stafford bunnings i could get you a discount.

thanks for the offer but it is probably to far haha,
    i just finished reading your thread your boat is so awesome now i have a goal to acheive lol

no worries. the offer is there if you ever need a discount. thanks, im happy with how it turned out. time to start saving for a bigger boat! lol
    blake

Your so lucky lol, Your like a charity bin with all these things people are donating to you, can i just say i wish i was you lol

Another thing i need is a new sounder or connections. i did have a garmin fishfinder 120 but i left my boat outside after a trip and my dog chewed the sensor and the wiring. so i am in need of a new sounder lol

I have just been through a similar exercise in replacing part of my carpeted plywood floor in my boat and I used structural ply based on advice from the internet.

There are a couple of sites that explain that marine ply is not needed for other than surfaces that are hitting the water and suffering the stresses of thumping water pressure and potential water penetration. That means that those surfaces need to have perfect integrity in the veneers - ie no cracks, surface imperfections etc. All other uses on a boat are perfectly well met by the use of structural ply. Have a look at these websites ...

http://www.misterplywood.com.au/flash/home.asp
    Go to their products page and click on their item "The Myth about Marine Ply"

Also, this article offers a little info ...
    http://www.marinewatch.info/library/plywood.html

Marine ply is necessary on the outside of a boat where it meets the water because the surface veneer on the ply is as close to flawless as they can get it and therefore should not peel off under constant stressing by external water. The glues are all the same.

The difference in price is enormous. A sheet of structural plywood that would be suitable for boat flooring = $62.20
    A sheet of the same size in Marine ply = $132

Also, don't forget that if you want to buy a sheet of ply from Bunnings and you don't have a trailer, they will lend you one for up to two hours to take the stuff home. That is what I did a couple of weeks ago. No hassles at all.

The important thing with any ply used for a floor is to seal it properly on the edges in particular. If you search on past threads on this topic on Ausfish, you will find several which give heaps of advice on sealants but one that I took was to seal the ply with a few coats of diluted (1:3) Bondcrete on the edges and the topside. It is important to leave the underside unsealed so that the ply can dry out after being wet. The advice is also that fresh water is no good for ply but salt water is so it seems to be a bad thing to hose out your boat with fresh water after each trip as I did for years.

This was my little effort a couple of weeks ago ...

Last edited by charleville; 03-02-2008 at 07:44 PM.

hi i am 14 and looking to set my boat up for more of a bream fishing layout but because i went halves with my dad he has a decision to and he wants to leave it maybe this time he is away i should pick up a few things by the way i would go fishing anyday then play an xbox.

regards,
    keechie

Quote Originally Posted by Keechie View Post
    hi i am 14 and looking to set my boat up for more of a bream fishing layout but because i went halves with my dad he has a decision to and he wants to leave it maybe this time he is away i should pick up a few things by the way i would go fishing anyday then play an xbox.

regards,
    keechie
    thats good to see,
    what sort of boat did you buy and what sort of layout are you thinking off

hahhahah wouldnt know about a charity bin. lol. just fortunate. lol. i have a garmin 120 and it works a treat. ahha luckily my dogs gone through the chewing stage. and ofcourse the boats in the shed protected from any unwanted canines. lol. hahah it looks like we've attracted some more young people to this thread. good to see you hate games aswell Keechie. one thing you have to do when fitting out keechie is be innovative and think smart. try and find little knooks and crannies for things as they are only small boats and you need all the room possible. try and find places for as many things as possible (ie: clipping oars to the rear of the seat, clipping yabby pump and net to side of boat and having allocated spots for eskies, tackle boxes ect so no space becomes cluttered.)

Crazy

i finally begged mum to letting me put it in the garage but unfortunantly it is after. those fishfinders are great if you ever want to get rid of urs ill buy the cords lol

Hey fellas go to any big construction site in Brisbane and ask for the head formworker. Then ask him for a donation of any offcuts of marine ply. Its worth a try

Quote Originally Posted by Breambuster33 View Post
    thats good to see,
    what sort of boat did you buy and what sort of layout are you thinking off
    i have got a 3.9m stacer with a 30hp on the back i know i can't drive it yet but when i get a licence i am gone every weekend. the boat is a front console but i am planning on pulling that out and building a casting deck there and making into a side console and plumbing a livewell and adding a sounder and creating places for storage, its still on my drawing boards but will have it figured out soon.

regards,
    keechie

Quote Originally Posted by Keechie View Post
    i have got a 3.9m stacer with a 30hp on the back i know i can't drive it yet but when i get a licence i am gone every weekend. the boat is a front console but i am planning on pulling that out and building a casting deck there and making into a side console and plumbing a livewell and adding a sounder and creating places for storage, its still on my drawing boards but will have it figured out soon.

regards,
    keechie
    good to see you have some good plans there.
    you might aswell get a tiller steer and get rid of a console lol sounds good if it ever happens id love to here the progress

Ausfish Platinum Member mowerman's Avatar

Hi Breambuster.

When I bought the Haines the bloke thru in a flush tank made out of 19mm ply inside coated with glass.

Too heavy to move so I pulled it apart and used 1 piece to make an underseat box.

Ive got 2 pieces left you can have if you want them.
    Each 1 about 900mm by 600mm. Will need a bit of cleaning up but if you can use them give me a ring toomorrow.

I get down to Vicki point once a week to mow lawns(when it stops bloody raining) so I can drop them off if you want them.

Trade you for a couple of bream spots down that way.

Rod.
    0427 481321
    My dictionary defines green as ‘unripe, immature, undeveloped'. Perfect description.

Most political parties are seen as interested in what the voters think, the Greens are seen as thinking the community should be interested in what they think.

2400 x 1200 12mm structual ply $42/sheet @bunnings, come on crazy u should have known that, it was in the last cattledog.
    It is important to leave the underside unsealed so that the ply can dry out after being wet.
    I dont entirly agree with this Charlieville If it is sealed properly it shouldn't be getting wet therefore no need to leave the underside unsealed