Thread: Is anyone catching prawns Brisbane - Gold Coast areas

Is anyone catching prawns Brisbane - Gold Coast areas

G'day everyone.

Is anyone catching prawns in these areas, if so, where? or is it way too early?

I tried the pine river with baitwaster last week, no such luck, Dave Downie says yes they are being caught, maybe someone is pissing in the wind!!!

Re: Is anyone catching prawns Brisbane - Gold Coast areas

A mate of mine was saying they caught quite a few out at Kookaburra Park, Karana Downs by leaving a light on the water for 10 to 20 mins. They got enough bait in 1 cast of the net lol.

my deckie went yesterday (on an rdo) got a bucket full around karragarra island..
    going back with him tomorrow morn to get my bucket full!

My unkles mate got a few kg 2 1/2 weeks ago in the pine and hasnt got any since , there was another thread that said there was a few bananas in nundah creek so it might be worth having a look out the front of shorncliffe .

A guy in estuary reports says he caught some a few days back, enough to bait up with and a few left over for sambos, so must be a few around ?

I saw scattered ones in the pine a few weeks back when I went for a paddle in the canoe
    If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?

Quote Originally Posted by Sharkie View Post
    A mate of mine was saying they caught quite a few out at Kookaburra Park, Karana Downs by leaving a light on the water for 10 to 20 mins. They got enough bait in 1 cast of the net lol.

G'day Paul, thanks for the info, never heard of the place until now, I take it your mate was on a boat? Peter

Quote Originally Posted by whitingkiller View Post
    my deckie went yesterday (on an rdo) got a bucket full around karragarra island..
    going back with him tomorrow morn to get my bucket full!

Karragarra , there's a deep hole about 65ft, that was 7 years ago since I've been there along with a flotilla of yellow raincoats, looks like you might have to get my bucket too. How long did it take your mate to get a bucket, a few scratches or couple of casts? Peter

Quote Originally Posted by Nico.d.R View Post
    My unkles mate got a few kg 2 1/2 weeks ago in the pine and hasnt got any since , there was another thread that said there was a few bananas in nundah creek so it might be worth having a look out the front of shorncliffe .

Thanks Nico.d.R. sounds like they might be making an early appearance. Peter

Quote Originally Posted by Dirtysanchez View Post
    A guy in estuary reports says he caught some a few days back, enough to bait up with and a few left over for sambos, so must be a few around ?

I saw scattered ones in the pine a few weeks back when I went for a paddle in the canoe
    G'day Dirtysanchez,

Sounds like a hit and miss affair at this stage.

Mate

They are getting prawns in the Pine but you need a boat.

Ken

there running in noosa at the moment too

Quote Originally Posted by bondy99 View Post
    G'day Paul, thanks for the info, never heard of the place until now, I take it your mate was on a boat? Peter
    Nah he was land based. Theres a beach that's exposed at low to middle tide where all the ski boats park during the day.

From what he said they put a light on the water for a few minutes then threw the net in and did pretty well for themselves.

Quote Originally Posted by Rodman View Post
    Mate

They are getting prawns in the Pine but you need a boat.

Ken

G'day Ken,

I was out with baitwaster last week (at night) in the pine river and never caught anything except heaps of small clams or cockels.

Were abouts in the pine river, its a big place?