NQ 1kg Baitcaster

Thread: NQ 1kg Baitcaster

NQ 1kg Baitcaster

G'day.
    I'm after a 1 piece baitcasting rod to run 1kg pretest over for chasing Barra, Grunter, King and Blue Salmon for the ANSA NQ Championships held annually in Cardwell. I'll mainly use it to fish dead and live baits from a 3.9m tinnie. I'll also use it the rest of the year for whiting and flathead and luring Jungle perch and Sooty Grunter in the freshwater.
    It looks as though I won't get it off the shelf. As to blanks, can anyone make suggestions about length, taper, action, material, brand etc. etc.? I thought a 6'6", medium action composite.
    To avoid unwanted comments - yes I do have experince with 1kg baitcasting, the target species and fishing Hinchinbrook Island. If you think that I'm cruel for using 1kg line, think that I'm crazy for not using spin tackle (I have and hated it), have qualms with ANSA or any other criticism that isn't constructive, feel free to leave it unwritten.
    Thanks for any help, tips, recommendations, suggestions that you give.

Re: NQ 1kg Baitcaster

Check out the other thread.
    I reckon you would find what you are after on the Batons Rainshadow web site. The Aust distributor is NQ based and is holding many of them at the moment. They are setting up to be a major player in Australian rod building supplies. They seem to have a few that would suit fine

Dave,

if you think that those on the other thread were unhelpful and unwanted, than maybe you don't need any advice? You already have experience with 1kg baitcaster - well what was that rod? People ask questions and make comments to help refine their answer. If you don't like it, maybe this isn't the place for you?

Pac Comp Ultraspin 2000 - 6'6" 1-2kg, can cast to 1/32 and still has the butt strength to put hurt on decent fish. Slow taper so really nice for casting lighter weights. I use mine (I have a couple) to cast from resin head weighted plastics to 20g raiders. Have caught everything from bream to kingfish, trevally, tuna etc etc etc. Mine is built spinning but I can't see why they wouldn't work set up for a baitcaster. Really are a very underrated rod from an Australian company not enough people use them I feel!

Thanks Benatcoffs and Horse - will look for the dist. of Batons Rainshadow. I've got quite a few rods to choose from now - thank you. The old rod isn't made any more - L.B. Powerods were before my time, although Snyder Glas is a manufacturer I'm looking at.
    I'm no expert with rods and I am seeking some specific informtion and thought that this would be a good place to look for it. Bugger all people use such tackle up here so this chat board is helpful.
    Hey, the only reason that those questions were unwanted is because I've already been through it all. Whether I can actually catch those fish is irrelevant to the rod selection. I also want to keep this thread to the rod and away from the ANSA system or wrong-doings of its members.

Mate, I couldn't care less how you fish or what you do with em afterwards, so long as it's legal it's your call. If you are looking at Snyder, I believe they are made by Seeker in the US, you might want to look at some of their Super Seeker range of blanks.

You say you want to pitch livebaits at tropical species. This is a technique known as flylining in the US and for lighter work a series of blanks known as 'popping' blanks has been designed. They can cast small minnows and shrimp but still have plenty of balls. In your line class take a look at IP840 or P840 blanks, usually rated 2-3kg they are 7' long and designed to cast ultra light weights. Taper is usually moderate/fast so you would be able to cut 6" from the butt to slow it down a bit. If you are interested in the Batson blanks, then you can email the owner of the company and put forward your thoughts and they will give an answer. The species you chase have somewhat equivalent species in the US and specific techniques to suit.

ive done up quite a few of the Samurai S011's utilising the NGH detachable trigger handle for similar pursuits , ends up just under the 6' mark. medium fast taper and even though they are rated for 2-3 i have run and seen 1kg run on them without any issue's buy likeminded ANSA nuts.

alt. if you REALLY keen to play silly i prototyped a mini baitcaster 2 years ago...works a treat !!!

Should find something in the Hastings range, they've really expanded the range in oz thanks to the local distributor, there's plenty of blanks exclusive to our local market now including ultralight bream stuff