Thread: Monduran- surface bite?

Monduran- surface bite?

Does Monduran have a surface bite for barra?

Thanks Dee

Re: Monduran- surface bite?

On Monday night i lost count of the boofs i heard, one sounded like a shotgun blast, the thing is tempting them to bite!!!!!!

Thumbs up Re: Monduran- surface bite?

Gday Dee'

Yeah mate Monduran Barra sometimes go off big time on surface……. And it’s not always in low light conditions ether! I can’t say I’ve caught heaps on top but have got a few on Cone poppers, Stick & Prop Baits over the last few years. I used to think top water was only for low light and night …….. until a few years ago when my wife started casting a Super Spook around at Monduran in full sun during the middle of the day’ She was getting a bit bored and likes the visual side of watching and concentrating of walking the dog. To my surprise she got smashed in about 3 casts! Since then I’ve had a few good top bites @ Duran and know a few blokes that have done real well on top…… probably should try it more often though ‘especially when things are a bit quiet on sub-surface stuff!

Cheers Les
    Last edited by McCod; 31-01-2008 at 07:26 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by McCod View Post
    . I used to think top water was only for low light and night
    Cheers Les
    Exactly sometimes the best surface bites are in the middle of the day.
    Dont be shy to challenge what is considered the norm, in my experience this is where major discoveries are found.

I have not fished a subsurface presentation at Awoonga since November...................and I dont fish early or late its all been around midday.
    Its in most corners of the dam too.

Good luck
    Jas

Ben..Les..Jas
    Thanks for that info guys. will definitely be giving it a try... will post and let you's know how we went. heading up in a few more weeks.

Cheers Dee