Outfished by 8 year old!

Thread: Outfished by 8 year old!

Outfished by 8 year old!

With the predited change in winds forecast, Will and I decided to head out to Murphys and have a troll. Left the M'ba rock wall at about 6.00 and had a not too bumpy ride out. Picked up the first one at about 8.00 and am still bewildered as to what type of fish it is. Any ideas? Looks like it will take some chewing and I'm still trying to work out how I'm going to fillet it. See first pic.

About an hour later we were met with that oh so familiar sound zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz. I yelled to Wil, who was sleeping at the time, WE'RE ON! With that we jumped up and headed for the back of the boat ready to bring it in. I bought the other lines in and the fight was on. He pumped and wound like a true proand after 10 minutes and many runs he bought in the first yellowfin tuna for the season.

After trolling for a bit longer we decided to troll our way over to Old Woman Island to chase some mack tuna for bait. We got about 1k from the island and spotted a huge flock of birds working a school. We bought the lures in and chased them. After about the 3rd cast we had one in the boat. Chased them for a bit longer but they decided they didn't want us around anymore.

We headed back towards the rock wall but there were no more schools around so we called it a day at around 12.00. Was a great day to be out there and even better to see the young bloke get his first speedster!

Kezza

[ATTACH]sum[/ATTACH]

Attachment 20469

Attachment 20470

Attachment 20471

Re: Outfished by 8 year old!

Ha Ha dunno wtf the first one is mate but well done on the yellas!!!!!

Good report,congrats, and well done!!!

That sure is a nice length of rope you have there too

Nice work will its always good when you outfish the old fellas . The first one hes a ripper, thats one species im yet to catch .

cheers tassie JR
    Last edited by Tassie JR; 29-01-2008 at 06:35 PM.

I would suggest chopping it up fine, boiling it and adding some of mum's special sauce. If your full after that can I have the tuna???????????????

Surely the biggins have to show up soon, love to see his face after getting his first WahOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

good on ya kezza taking the young fella out its great to see the excitement on there faces isnt it. my young bloke loves it to . welldone on a top father and son trip something to treasure cheers Adzs

Ausfish Gold Member

Geeze Im glad to see Im not the only one to get out fished by the young uns (my grandson)
    cheers Terry

Its funny, here he was complaining before we went out that he couldn't go out wide and catch some parrot (apparantly he learnt at school that the parrot wrecks the reef by eating so now he loves it when I bring them home). Since the tuna there has been no mention of catching parrot. Yeah TC hes always talking about catching the hoo, just loves the name of it.

Kezza