What A Diifference The Rain Makes

Thread: What A Diifference The Rain Makes

What A Diifference The Rain Makes

Taken in the Tweed valley last week. Last time I visited everywhere was brown.

I put the tinny in on the first day and hit a log. No damage but decided not to bother for the rest of the week, what with the wind and the debris..........whole trees still floating around there.

Had plenty of bream from the bank along with shovellies and stingies. Kincobe got a nice lizard going 60 but the deckie ate it before I managed a pic. Best bait for the better quality bream was mullet fillet with pickers making short thrift of pillies and prawn. Had to downsize to hook size to 2's though as they were very finicky.

No fishy pics as you've all seen bream :-)

The House On The Hill ..........what a garden!

Clarrie Dam full

Green Fields!

Last edited by kingtin; 27-01-2008 at 04:20 PM.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

Re: What A Diifference The Rain Makes

Unreal Kev. Your photos are just brilliant. I would love to know the art of photography like you do.

Quote Originally Posted by Poodroo View Post
    Unreal Kev. Your photos are just brilliant. I would love to know the art of photography like you do.

Thanks mate. It's a bit hazy due to spray, but here's another:

Near Black Rock Northern NSW

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

great pics mate, tell are those straight out of the camera or do you adjust them digitally as well?

Black Rock, now thats spectatcular

mike
    Tangles KFC

that house on the hill was up for sale recently. Just guessing but I don't think I could afford it.

Quote Originally Posted by Aigutso View Post
    great pics mate, tell are those straight out of the camera or do you adjust them digitally as well?

Black Rock, now thats spectatcular

mike
    Hi Mike. I try my best to capture a scene and display it exactly as the camera captured it as in here:

http://www.redbubble.com/people/bidk...ags/blueseries

There are limitations though to what both film and digital can capture, highlights can "burn out" and shadows can be too dark, both having no detail in them, especially in harsh light such as is here in OZ. I therefore have lately been trying High Dynamic Range photography. Basically, this is a process whereby you take 3 shots, one at normal exposure, one overexposed and one underexposed. These are then combined via software to bring out the best in both the highlights and the shadows. The results give a somewhat "painterly feel" and the Tweed shots are my first attempts at using this process.

Last edited by kingtin; 27-01-2008 at 07:26 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by sandbankmagnet View Post
    that house on the hill was up for sale recently. Just guessing but I don't think I could afford it.
    I don't think I could afford the gardening costs, let alone the house

Mate, you blow me away with the clarity of these pics, hmm, perhaps it is the wine I am guzzling, but I am still in awe of your prowess with the lens (weré not worthy, weré not worthy)
    Anyway, thanks for sharing, hope you are enjoying.
    BTW, tell the deckie to share, fresh fish is good for the heart
    Russ
    If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?

They are sensational pictures Kingtin.
    Awesome colours.

Quote Originally Posted by Dirtysanchez View Post
    BTW, tell the deckie to share, fresh fish is good for the heart
    Russ
    Cheers Russ, but the only thing she'll share is the catties. Josh, (Kingcobe) got a 60cm lizard, and not only did she cook it before we got the pic, she ate the bloody lot. To give you an idea of how feral she is...................we asked for the pic at 7am when it was caught at 6am!............some brekky!

Kingtin,

I like the painterly look myself, great photos, only thing and please dont take this as a negative is I feel the shadows get a bit muddy, im into this sort of stuff so hope i dont come across as picky... i definately like what your process is doing to midranges and highlights

mike
    Tangles KFC

yeh mate ..they are some brilliant shots right there

Quote Originally Posted by Aigutso View Post
    Kingtin,

I like the painterly look myself, great photos, only thing and please dont take this as a negative is I feel the shadows get a bit muddy, im into this sort of stuff so hope i dont come across as picky... i definately like what your process is doing to midranges and highlights

mike
    No worries Mike. I actually agree with you.

The correct way to do the process is to bracket in the camera, but those pics were from one RAW shot which I then underexposed by 2 stops and overexposed by two stops, on the computer. I combined the original and these two. Whe done correctly (bracketed in camera) the results are better (other peoples) but I haven't got round to bracketing when actually taking the shot yet. I just wondered if that could be dispensed with and done via underexposing/overexposing in computer.