Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Monduran is FULL !!!!

Re: Monduran is FULL !!!!

Big Ren,

Aaah thats who the third guy was!! Foxie told me the other guys were Navi and Vinny.

Yeah, I was stuggling to get fish! You guys got a few there I believe, The WooHoos gave it away Its a pretty good spot that one, that whole bay right down the back is pretty good at times. I prefer it in a northerly for some reason. SE is good where you guys were. The other boats got a few too I beleive. Good too see. I am always happy to see other people catch fish.

Next time we will catch up. cheers steve

Steve,

Apologies too for not recognising you. That Foxy leaves all his manners back at the shop and turns into a lucifer when he's on the dam He could have at least done an introduction

Anyway mate, wanted to thank you for the PM you sent me a month ago. Took your advice and backed my drag off another half a turn to try and avoid straightening hooks, bust off etc. and although I still got done by some big fish and a horse in particular. The sub metre fish are getting a lot easier to deal with.

Will definitely try and catch up next time we there.

Talking about boat traffic - don't mind the numbers so much as Monduran is big enough to share but when blokes motor in the middle of where you casting or see you hook a fish and blow fly you for the rest of the session, that's when it we get a bit pissed off A few anglers saw us land a fish and did the right thing by giving us a wide berth but other motored literally over the top of our lines. I'd like to think that they just don't know any better but a bit of boating ettiquette needs to be adopted by some of these so called fishermen.

Black sheep,

cheers mate, glad I could help a bit. Yeah, Foxie could have done an intro! You cant take him anywhere

Met a few ausfishers on the weekend which was good.

I reckon thats one major positive about monduran, you can always find a peice of water to yourself somewhere that looks good no matter how many boats are on the water. There will always be the odd exception. You guys seemed to have a few 'friends' where you were!!

Next time your up, we will catch up for a beer. Foxies tells me your a bad influence...... I have my doubts.......I am begining to think its him!

cheers steve

howdy black sheep and steve b,
    we where up there on the weekend too, got blown away time and time again on sat not one landed, then sunday i boated 2 over the meter mark and 2 in the 900's in a hour (bloody arms where soare after theat), you are not worng about the boat traffic, some blokes dod get it , im first to help some one out but when they just lob up beside you when your casting(and tied to a tree) and thro on top of you it starts to get my goat up a bit. But hey when they shut morten bay down it will only get worse in the fresh water impoundments.

we will be up there at easter if you guys are around say giday.
    p.s did you see the jet boat getting around everything went quiet when he powered through.
    cheers shaneoo

Shane, Thats one good little session , couple of metereys and a few under!! well done.

Yeah, I saw the jet boat at the park!!! mate it looked like a missile!! Its been around for few years I believe.

cheers steve

Hey Steve
    Yeah it was Navi and Paul blow flying us. !!!!!!!!
    The actual winner was the guy who was fishing to the far end of me [i am in a 4.35 sea jay with the honda] . He arrived and tied up right in our casting distance and proceeded to tangle 3 out of 20 casts then piss off again. Big dam little brain!

Ben,

It s hard to get away from those types who do that. I felt bad enough crusing thru the area on the electric. It was the only way thru the entrance to the bay !! the whole entrance was blocked by blokes catching barra Erics tree! It rocks. I have left it alone lately, trying to find new grounds which have similar charicteristics. So far so good. cant wait to really give them a shake, with less crowds.

good to see you got onto the fish. Might try and catch up next time your here.

cheers steve

I was gob-smacked to see these specimens in action. We even put a few casts across their bow but alas to no avail When told we were casting through the area they were motoring (on petrol mind you), one brainiac simply replied: "Oh..we're not fishing here....we're just going through!" No sh@t Sherlock My tolerance threshhold is usually pretty high, but I could feel my face getting redder by the second (maybe it was my neck.

Common sense, courtesy, patience and a healthy dose of awareness of your surrounds and those fishing it goes a long way sometimes.....anyway that's my small rant FWIW.

Steve, as you say, that area is a plethora of good fish holding structure, peppered liberally with large concentrations of bait....the perfect ambush zone. There must be many more locations like that where all the stars align...just a matter of taking the time to sound (and look) around to find those honeypots.

Shaneoo, you did well mate. Sometimes nothing goes right and other times, you just can't miss a trick. Big Ren couldn't buy a barra for the 3 days and landed the only hook up he had. I was the opposite and had plenty of hook ups but just couldn't keep those owners in long enough. That's fishing! Good to hear that you landed those couple of metrey's, always tops off a good trip.

Steve, I will PM you when we next up there. Feel like I need to redeem myself.

I missed the missile - just glad he wasn't roaring around where we were fishing. Also, no need to feel bad about motoring past us on elec, no damage done there and after all, I feel like we are visitors to dam, not you guys.

Quote Originally Posted by shaneoo View Post
    howdy black sheep and steve b,
    we where up there on the weekend too, got blown away time and time again on sat not one landed, then sunday i boated 2 over the meter mark and 2 in the 900's in a hour (bloody arms where soare after theat), you are not worng about the boat traffic, some blokes dod get it , im first to help some one out but when they just lob up beside you when your casting(and tied to a tree) and thro on top of you it starts to get my goat up a bit. But hey when they shut morten bay down it will only get worse in the fresh water impoundments.

we will be up there at easter if you guys are around say giday.
    p.s did you see the jet boat getting around everything went quiet when he powered through.
    cheers shaneoo

yes shane it was a good weekend in the long run me and the pom landed 3 and hooked 4 2 where 99cm and 1 was 76 cm plenty of good laugh and ctfish to keep everyone amused oh execpt the 2 that where there with me they got defeated and headed to baffle creek instead all and all good weekend will definetly have to catch up with yas another time pm when ya thinking of going
    and i will hopefully get to meet a few more ausfisher they seem to be in hiding when i looked for them

Lack of courtesey on the water is only going to get worse as more and more try impoundment style fishing.
    The thing that really gets up my nose is the f*****kn idiots that think it is quite acceptable to throw out their rubbish ramp side onto the ground.
    We came in on Friday Morning and while my mate brought the car down I picked up two shopping bags of empty lure packets, stubbies, cans, ciggy packs and plastic bags. Its not that hard to take your rubbish off the water with you, there are bins near the toilets at the top of the hill, what is it with these grubs??
    OK, rant is over, I can move on now

Well put brian, as the great lawsie once said they are a bunch of grubs.

My missus picked up a heap last trip whist we were give the kids a run around in the boat, but we also picked up some on the way back to the camp it amazing the blokes that don't seccure their crap in thier boat.

See ya up ther in feb mate

Nath

Good thread and a great heading - just at Borumba couple days ago and it wasn't full so thought a cyclone had hit up there. Surprised it is only 18% though - must be up a bit on that now. Any higher than 18 and we will have to review our maps etc. Let you know next time we are heading up that way ( don't tell crabman though).
    Sav

Sav,

yeah its still 18% we have had no rain, as has Awoonga from what I hear. Its still hanging around, but nothing decent.

cheers steve

We here at Toowoomba are in the same boat as it were. We watch on the news about flooding all around us but no water in the dams here. If we don't get some water in the dams soon we will run out. At least it is only an hours drive to Somerset for the fishing. I will just have to drink beer instead of water.