Thread: Jakes first Bass

Jakes first Bass

My Hoodoo with Spinnerbaits continues with the score card getting blown well out by a red hot David and a newcomer to bass fishing Jake.

I stoped counting after two, but it went something like this.

David 15 mostly on Spinnerbaits.

Jake 6 1 on a fizzer, 3 on spinnerbaits, 2 on a jointed Rapala deep diver which I recommended he use.

Mitch 2 on trolled Spinnerbaits.

I really don’t mind it when I get out fished, after all it happens all the time. What gets me is when its so lop sided.

On a more important note, this was Jakes first trip Bass fishing and he wasn’t disappointed. His first ever Bass came after persisting with a fizzer, and what a ripper of a strike right next to the boat. His next fish came many casts later but before I had got one, this fish ate a Spinnerbait in a pos I had been hammering for a few minutes. I tried to convince him he was stuck in the grass, it soon became apparent the grass was swimming around the boat with a lot of head shaking. I looked over the side to see a rather large Bass come to the boat. 47cm. He managed to rub that in for the rest of the day. I pointed out to him how far it was to swim back to the ramp.
    The fish were there in big numbers on the main points, they showed up on the sounder in tight schools or not at all. I have never seen them like this, so tight a school and not biting. David had a point when he said the grass that is now 37 feet under water is beginning to decay and stinks to high heaven. It may become toxic to them before long, keeping them in the deeper water until the dam sorts itself out. We will see what happens over the next 12 months I guess.
    Fishing Hinze has changed totally as I knew it for many years to come, I now have to suss it out all over again. Come on Autumn.
    And thanks to you Jake, all that taunting has made me keener to work it out.

Mitch
    [ATTACH]sum[/ATTACH]

Attachment 20272

Attachment 20273

Re: Jakes first Bass

Hi Mitch,

Good to see you and the crew got amongst a few bass. I started to worry when I hadnt seen a thread.
    You jagged a few on spinnerbaits,as well. Good for you.
    Nice sharp photos. Who took them - Dave?
    Being a week day was the carpark ok ?

Cheers Steve99

I went to western arm yesterday am couldnt raise one on a spinner had a total of 3 hits and no hook ups ended up with 2 on hard bodies in front of ramp. Parking was good only around 5 boats and no one parked in turning area. SES were on water picking up all the plastic and similar debris. Good to see someone caring for the dam.
    Ray

Hi Steve, my average has been a consistant 2 for a while now and i took the pics with my new Fuji cam. Takes good pics but goes through the batteries.
    Mitch

Good to hear your report Mitch and good to see the young fellows get into some. I never made it to the dam this week but my regular crew went out on tuesday arvo for only a few fish even though the barometer was higher than it had been for a few weeks.
    Interesting point David made on the grass decaying. It that consistant with any other places he has noticed the same thing happen? Can it really become toxic to the fish once it starts to decay?

Quote Originally Posted by rc@hinze View Post
    Good to hear your report Mitch and good to see the young fellows get into some. I never made it to the dam this week but my regular crew went out on tuesday arvo for only a few fish even though the barometer was higher than it had been for a few weeks.
    Interesting point David made on the grass decaying. It that consistant with any other places he has noticed the same thing happen? Can it really become toxic to the fish once it starts to decay?
    I guess living in decaying grass for a Bass would be the equilivant to us living on a pile of road kill. Even though the decaying vegitation is to a degree natural, it usualy is washed into the water where it breaks down above the water. this is below the water and all the gasses that come off the decaying matter travels through 37 feet of water that wasn't there two weeks ago. I don't realy know the efect it has on them, we will see.
    Mitch

hi mate some nice fish,congrats to jake, and see mate you can catch fish on spinnerbaits...lol...lol. cheers bdowdy..brett

GO JAKE !!! Nice one mate,
    Hey Mitch I reckon the decaying grass turns the bass away big time, The last two times I fished North Pine, I didn't get one touch as it's only bank fishing there...Might have to take a surf rod next time to try to reach the middle of the dam

Quote Originally Posted by Little grey men View Post
    GO JAKE !!! Nice one mate,
    Hey Mitch I reckon the decaying grass turns the bass away big time, The last two times I fished North Pine, I didn't get one touch as it's only bank fishing there...Might have to take a surf rod next time to try to reach the middle of the dam
    Yeh the stink along with Spinnerbaits and me not getting along make a day Bass fishing hard work.
    Mitch