Thread: (help) bull sharks

Re: (help) bull sharks

I would get a bully bite me off only once in every 10 trips on the Coomera at night, so that gives you an idea how often you might need to try.

I have heard of others getting hit more regularly on live mullet, but I dont know which section. Ive seen em down near Sanc Cove, but I dont target em. I reckon it must be shark biting clean thru 40lb trace.

Can you eat these bull sharks ?? I come from South Aust and we would catch the odd small bronze whaler from time to time and they were great tucker.

Apparently you can eat them and at around the 1 - 2.5 foot mark they are ment to taste good. thats just what i have been told and herd from others.

bron

Where abouts are you based generally because i know a spot or two that never let me down before but i fish right up the logan near where it turns to fresh water.

Smile Re: (help) bull sharks

the logan river is quite good bullies around 3ft +
    fresh mullet/herring are best suited bait
    i fish there quite alot and most of the time go home with 1 or 2
    but if you want any further info just email me

hey guys, just gonna keep this topic alive as like Bron, ive been trying for so long to catch a bull shark. Ive been trying around the Sovereign Islands area ( GC). any thoughts on this area ?

Brandon

brand, if your in the canals i used to live up at mooloolaba and found getting way into the canals systems as far in as u can and try to follow a main chaannel into a dead end. i found the decent mullet were usually around in cul-de-sac canals. i could've cast net the little bullies on the surface about 30-40cm. good way to destroy a net.
    bron, on the northside im going out for a spin this arvo, you should get em day or night. just about any s.e.q. waterway. and all the advice people have been posting is good. i don't soak bait just throw live mullet on a big wire trace like real big trace. its awkward if your land based to get your bait where you want it. umm i like to find a nice land spot in my tinnie, pull up and set up a comfy chair table and frypan. and esky. of course. then i'll set two rods out in different directions put em in holders and leave the drag off and ratchet on. you'll be lighting a smoke when they hit. one thing everyone might have a laugh about, im dead serious try and fish where the wretched waterskiers \ wakeboarders play. I use sinkking braid or keep baits in close so the boats dont pick up your line. but dead set i've had no bights for hours then a ski boat 'll go past and two seconds later zip,zip,ziiiiinnnnnnggggggggg. ratchet goes off ya just grab it hit full drag and rip that hook into their skin.
    enyone online now wanna brave the rain and go get an arvo fish in?

I get them quite easy in the Maroochy river, casting large half or whole mullet (unweigted!!!) against the tide 1.5 hours either side of the turn of tide in dark hours.
    Allow to drift free, and retrieve when bait has floated too close to the bank.
    Bullys around 30-60kg are plentiful around here. Big fun!

If you like to chase shark, (any shark)when your targeting anythin but and you catch a ray. take the flaps offf the ray and return the rest. Put the "fillets" in the esky with your catch. At the end of your trip freeze the fillets and use min 4/0 hook gangs and a wire trace. Sharks love ray!

Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

The brisbane river is full of bull sharks
    Futher up the river like colleges crossing and Kookaburra park and those areas.
    The logan river has em.
    I do not target them but have caught them on live prawns and herring or mullets.
    But I beleive the prefered baits are stingray,pike eel,catfish with the spikes nipped off or eel, but I think a 15-20cm mullet might be ok with 2 hooks in it or
    a silver biddy.

I would just go the live mullet and you might get a bycatch of a jew (lucky but possible).

also they come on the bite more in Summer so give it time.

you will need a good leader and if you use a wire trace leader then plastic coated .

edit: yes they are meant to be good eating, apparently bleed and de-fin immefiately on catch then throw on ice, don't ask me why I have never done it but it has somthing to do with amonium taste in the flesh.

The bullys tend to jump alot. one reason they go into the brackish water is to kill parasites. then they launch out of the water to dislodge them on landing,

Ice,

would it be worth trying again this time of year even when the wether is still cold or should i wait a bit longer till it gets hotter.

bron

timmy,
    what about fishing for bullys on the brickwall that goes around to the cornal east of the hwy bridge

Get an eel out of one of the lakes and cut it in half... two hook rig.. these things are irresistible to em mate.. Pretty much the only thing that will eat one will be a bully.
    dont knock on deaths door... ring the doorbell and run... death hates that!!