Thread: Any macks in the bay in the last week??

Any macks in the bay in the last week??

G'day everyone,

My old man has asked me to take him out mackeral fishing this weekend. Has anyone come accross any in the last 7 days in Moreton Bay?

My old man is pretty frail these days so a trip out to hutchies is out of the question.

Re: Any macks in the bay in the last week??

fished the northern end last sunday, not one to be seen.

Was out on Monday with great conditions - nothing. There were a couple of times we saw birds getting into some bait but no surface action at all.

Did a trip Monday arvo during the run in tide from manly to peel to goat, up the rainbow, looked around the bar, back through the rous, down to harries then across to green. Definitely no macks around, the most action i saw was two birds diving some bait half way up the rainbow but there definitely wasn't any macks or tuna around them. Might be worth waiting a little longer.

Cheers Chris

Thanks Fellas,

Might sneak out and run along a dirty water line and head for the reefs in the Pearl for hopefully a few squire then. Try dragging a few spoons all the way and see what happens.

gl mate, let us know how ya go.

On Sunday I did Manly/Sanhills/4 beacons/Cowan for nothing. No surface activity and we worked the beacons pretty hard. At least two other Ausfishers were also chasing Macs with no luck .

If you read todays Courier Mail then Jason Comino is telling us that the Schoolies are thick around the beacons along with Cobes and LT. They must have snuck into the Bay after Sunday

Thanks Lippa,
    Heading out there after work tomorrow and possibly either sunday or monday as well. Will let you know what the outcome is.

Went out in the bay after lunch today and persevered with the bloody lousy conditons and covered the western half of the bay from the pearl to Redcliffe several times over. The bay is full of sargassum weed with some lumps nearing a metre diameter and all the water i saw was heavily discoloured. If there is any cleanish water in the bay it would be against moreton island i guess.

Total result was three severe tangleups of trolling gear, 2 episodes of nearly losing yesterdays lunch and about 200 wet slaps in the face with water. Still good to be on the water tho..........(questioning my own sanity now?)

If there are any mackeral out in the bay I think they will be riding low in the water column as the weed is almost the worst i have ever seen it.