Thread: Some-TINGS are better than No-TINGS...

Some-TINGS are better than No-TINGS...

Hi All

What a glorious day the weather turned on today but for the best part of the morning, it was too still and an absolute stinker! Nonetheless, good mate Sal and myself decided to take advantage of his last week off work and give the Ting population a scare at the Pin. Poor old Sal, being self employed means churning out pool tables 6 days a week and then home to 4 young-uns on the other, doesn't get to wet his tinny very often! So when the opportunity arose to head out for a sesh, he jumped at it quicker than a baby at candy!

Hit the Pin bar just before sunrise in the hope of a Tailor or 3 - but only managed 2 in quick succession and not much else. Decided at 7ish to start hunting the Tings so we headed to a spot that allegedly was holding some fish! Things were pretty slow and over the next 4 hours, we tried a multitude of banks and grounds for the solitary whiting - which really must have committed suicide. So, with our tails between our legs and only 3 fish in the esky for the effort, we made the call to head back to the scene of the suicide to see if we could turn our fortunes around. We spent the next half hour or so sussing out the surroundings and doing a series or reconnaissance drifts before finally hitting the jackpot, not just with the Tings but with a nice mild breeze to cool us down!

Over the next couple of hours, we managed a good feed of 17 Tings (25cm-35cm) and lost some horses along the way. There are some really good Tings around if you can find them that's for sure - and i must say after nearly 7 hours of persevering, it was great to be rewarded! The funny part was that this spot was within touching distance of where we started our quest for Tings earlier in the day - if only we'd persevered there and explored a bit more before flying the coop! Ahh well, it's what makes us stronger as fisho's i guess. Still, plenty of sun, gorgeous conditions, good company and a tasty feed to boot!!

Take Care T

PS: If anyone wants a good deal on a pool/billiard table, pm me...
    Last edited by T1; 21-01-2008 at 08:48 PM.
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

Re: Some-TINGS are better than No-TINGS...

SomeTING is very familiar about this thread T. Lol Have you given up the pinky chase for the Tings? Well you seem to have mastered the art of catching them that's for sure. Glad you are still on the boards doing your thing.

T1

Great catch, and no better feed IMHO.

Do you mind sharing the type of water you found them in (not interested in location) just tide direction and whether it was in the centre of a bank or on a drop-off or on a weed bed etc.

Thanks,

Nice feed there T

What bait were you using?

What the TING... Oh i get it now WHI TING....
    Well done on haul!

Thanks guys!

POO: Personally, whiting is my preferred fillet for eating. Though part of the plan is to stock up on heads/frames for the winter for pinkies...

LAPRAS: Dave, sandy bottom on pretty flat ground. We tried specific banks, drop offs etc to no avail although there was a point where we hit dirty water and the ground dropped off significantly, and this is where we were getting smacked by bigger specimens but it was a case of if you missed the smack, reset the drift and start again. It was a case of trying something different because the 'usual types of grounds' weren't producing... We got them on the last half of the run out but that's not to say they weren't always there - it just took us that long to try the area.

HORSE: Neil, blood worms as i didn't get a chance to get some Yabbies on Sun arvo...

Take Care T

Nice catch of sweet eating Whiting T1.
    Good to see someone is catching a few because its very quiet in the bay.
    Maybe its true what they say "DROUGHT ON THE LAND DOUGHT IN THE SEA"
    Looks like that could change very soon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Cheers Brent

Hi T!! At 1st I thought i can't add any TING to say where others have congratulated you. Then I compared my last attempt at fishing green in sloppy seas to what you did here, enjoying yourself in calm conditions cathing a nice feed. What else can I say? Well done! I think I should follow suit

Last edited by Scalem; 22-01-2008 at 09:49 PM.

Looks like you put a nice feed together..... in the end. Judging by the last couple of reports one would think your giving up on the placcies, and now your also stashing whiting frames, whats going on?.

Cheers Chris

Top tings T.
    Totally terrific to table ten tings (+7 others

Top tings T.
    Totally terrific to table ten tings (+7 others

Some T1 reports are better than no T1 reports. Good info as always. Well done!!

Nice feed T1
    Can't beat some fresh whiting fillets.
    Next time i head out and the Macs don't want to play i may have to head down to the sandhills and see if the tings want to play.

Cheers Dazza

Thanks guys!

Yes, i think this time of the year is better spent in the estuaries as they seem to be more conducive in providing calmer conditions and a good feed! It's also nice to do something different and broaden your horizons! And i do love a feed of the little tings! I must say though that getting used to the whole aspect of catching whiting again as opposed to fishing for pinkies has taken a little adjustment and hence why i missed some of the horses that inhabit the area - but i'm wiser for the experience and practice and hopefully next trip i'll have some bigger ones to display... hopefully....

B/F: Chris, not given up at all - just some nights are great to just to sit there and send out some stinky stuff while puffing on a few bungers, skulling hot coffee and munching on twisties, while humming a few tunes... How's that 'time-off' going?

Take Care T
    Last edited by T1; 23-01-2008 at 08:30 AM.