Thread: Four Days at Monduran

Re: Four Days at Monduran

Quote Originally Posted by BR65 View Post
    Gday Pete, some nice fish from tuff conditions, well done.
    No pics of lures hanging out of fingers this time I see.
    Those 90+ fish can be absolute scorchers thru the water for sure.
    What was water colour like with the rain, had it made much of a difference other than temps??
    I reckon a week or two of stable hot weather and that place is going to go off, hopefully next week when Im up there.
    Good report
    brian
    Hi BRIAN Thanks for the info..fished monday glassy condions early ..3 hits 3 landed..biggest 94 cm all done the aerial dance..all caught on chartreause X RAPS shallow divers ..even the 20 catfish caught wouldnt take any other colour..???
    wife outfished me 2 to 1 ..not taking her again..both boat ramps chocker block for full moon week..long weekend will be packed out.. now the weather is on the mend..we hope..spoke to foxie on the phone[thanks mate] lake has only risen by about 1 percent ..lot of fish caught at 'h'...good huntin..DECKA

Quote Originally Posted by Little grey men View Post
    Top report Pete, nice piccies too.
    When the barra go off the bite, do you target another species or has the barra bug bitten you too hard ???
    Yes LGM I have the fever bad. When the barra aren't on I will consider anything!

I do have a cod and yella excursion to Glenlyon planned for Feb but that will just use up a bit of time before I target the barra at Monduran again in March.

Hopefully they will be 'on' then.

Regs

Last edited by Peter4; 22-01-2008 at 04:24 PM.

Good going there peter. It was always going to be tough to better your trip in October. At least you got a few. That will keep you coming back.

I reckon I might head up tommorow for a quick arvo session, wash the salt from woodgate/ burrum river off the boat!

Good pics too.

cheers steve

Quote Originally Posted by Steve B View Post
    Good going there peter. It was always going to be tough to better your trip in October. At least you got a few. That will keep you coming back.

I reckon I might head up tommorow for a quick arvo session, wash the salt from woodgate/ burrum river off the boat!

Good pics too.

cheers steve
    Thanks Steve,

I hear they're going off now - two days after I got home!

Get amongst them!

Regs

Nice effort Pete.

Its always good to hear all sides of the story, the good the bad and the ugly!!! Always remember that many are envious of even catching one barra, so I would feel justifiably proud with three

Quote Originally Posted by orbyroo View Post
    well done pete, even old favourites can deliver when the chips are down. how do you go trolling the shallows with the Xraps? id thought they would dive too deep! or are you using something else in the skinny water?
    Cheers Roo.
    Rod - the Xraps we use are the SXR12s which are the saltwater suspending version 12cm long. The are great for casting around the timber as you can keep them in the strike zone for ages with just little twitches - the catfish loved them! They come in 6 or 7 different colours.

When trolled these lures only run at about 1.4m deep and are therefore good in the shallower areas. Bad news is they cost over $20 each and need ring and treble upgrades! The three barra we caught were all on these Xraps trolled in the shallows. The best result about trolling shallow lures is that you nearly always recover them from snags. We use the Strikeback lure retriever and have not lost a shallow runner yet!

Regs

Last edited by Peter4; 23-01-2008 at 09:41 AM.

Gday pete I went up to see you but you must have been on the water. Good to see you got a fish or three. AT the moment trolling seems the only way to get one. I did see you on the water going back to the ramp at A section but you were going to fast for me. We got 11 barra in the boat and dropped 4. Got 2 over a meter. Fished sat arvo to tues arvo.Morningand arvos only. Trolled 4mter lures dragging them through 3-4 meters of water and the into drop offs thatswhere they would hit the lure. Mate you have some great photos there well done. Shane(lifestyle) PS You dont have to catch a heep of fish to have a good time up there do you.It is a beautifull spot.