Thread: Four Days at Monduran

Four Days at Monduran

After much anticipation and many kind words from other Ausfishers KH15 (my son Kyle) and I headed to Monduran last Thursday morning. It was an uneventful trip until the boys in blue greeted us in Childers for a short stop and a $100 donation for a slight speed transgression.

We were met at Monduran by the dreaded SE winds and drizzly conditions. There were only 7 trailers at the ramp. We hit the water at around 9.00am, shot up the system and began by casting at likely spots in area B. Water temps were 27 degrees at best. Three hours later and not a single hit we decided to try the old 'shallow water troll' that was so successful for us in October. Suddenly KH15 is on and a short time later and in comes our first barra at 85cm! One more hit for KH15 and a couple of Monduran trout (catfish) and that was it for our first session.

That afternoon we tried casting and trolling a few different spots in area B but only managed one catfish. There was very little action and no-one we spoke to had caught any barra.

Conditions on Friday morning were much the same if not a bit worse. We tried casting the southern part of Bird Bay and though the fish were there they did not want to play. Up to area B again were the water was 1.5 degrees warmer at 26.5. Another shallow troll and KH15 lands a very feisty 95cm model. A short time later I manage a 93cm model. Things were looking a bit better!

After lunch we decided to to work over the same area again. We cast our arms off all afternoon and finished with a troll. I managed two good hits but no hook-ups. KH15 hooked-up to a good fish late in the day but after a big aerial display it threw the lure.

And that was it!! Not another hint of barra. All day Saturday and all Sunday morning saw us casting, trolling and travelling all over Monduran trying to find fish. We tried Barra Classics, F18s, Xraps, Vipers, Sandvipers, Tango Dancers, Torpedos, Scuds, Stiffys, Magnums & many others in all colours!!

Water temps were still around 26.5 and the fish were there but we couldn't tempt them out of their lairs. We managed a few more catfish and the irony was that the weather improved every day. By Sunday it was quite warm and sunny but the water temps had not climbed up yet. I'm guessing that this weekend should produce the goods for anyone heading up there for the Australia Day long weekend.

The only other point to mention is that we hit an underwater branch at speed in Bass Straight in open water on the way home. Luckily no damage but it scared the sh*t out of us! Please go easy in this section!

Anyway three barra are better than none!! All the barra and all but one hit came from Rapala Xraps with the new colours working well (a sort of olive one with dots and a yellow/orange combo).

We will be back in March to try again.

Pete & Kyle
    Last edited by Peter4; 22-01-2008 at 07:44 AM.

Re: Four Days at Monduran

Hey Pete and Kyle,

Been a long time Ausfish reader but first time contributor ( just to see how it goes).

Sounds like you had a good weekend even if the last few days were tough.

Talking with a reliable source today told me last night fired for short periods - here's hoping it continues.

Going there this weekend and hope to break the 4 trip drought!! I don't remember killing that black cat!!!

(As you can tell by the time of the report my mind is not quite at work at the moment)

Big Al

nice going pete
    i don't feel so bad now that we couldn't even rise a hit saturday and sunday morining

Gday Pete, some nice fish from tuff conditions, well done.
    No pics of lures hanging out of fingers this time I see.
    Those 90+ fish can be absolute scorchers thru the water for sure.
    What was water colour like with the rain, had it made much of a difference other than temps??
    I reckon a week or two of stable hot weather and that place is going to go off, hopefully next week when Im up there.
    Good report
    brian

Quote Originally Posted by BR65 View Post
    Gday Pete, some nice fish from tuff conditions, well done.
    No pics of lures hanging out of fingers this time I see.
    Those 90+ fish can be absolute scorchers thru the water for sure.
    What was water colour like with the rain, had it made much of a difference other than temps??
    I reckon a week or two of stable hot weather and that place is going to go off, hopefully next week when Im up there.
    Good report
    brian
    G'day Brian

We found all three fish very active in the boat when usually they are quite passive. Maybe because of cooler water - more energy? Due to my 'digit incident' in October I was extremely cautious when handling them! None of them needed to be revived - into the water and away they went!

Water was very clear in the southern arm of B but discoloured in the northern arm. Anywhere below White Rock the water quality wasn't affected. Temps ranged from 24 degrees at the dam wall to 27.5 in south arm of B. Other fishos told us of the odd 29 degree bay in J but still no fish! We couldn't find anything over 27.5

I reckon this weeked they will go off like a cracker! (You lucky b*stard!)

Regs

Last edited by Peter4; 21-01-2008 at 03:15 PM.

Good report Pete ...... when you manage fish in tough conditions , you really cant complain ( I guess).... Well done
    Beats sitting in an office
    Nagg

Nice work Pete. As they say a fish is a fish better than getting none at all !!!!
    Did you try after dark? I know its bloody hard after a hard days slog. Where was that prop dinger more specifically!!! I am up there Friday arvo until Tuesday arvo so i will give your thoery about this weekend a go with a report next week
    Well done again

Quote Originally Posted by eotbmg View Post
    Nice work Pete. As they say a fish is a fish better than getting none at all !!!!
    Did you try after dark? I know its bloody hard after a hard days slog. Where was that prop dinger more specifically!!! I am up there Friday arvo until Tuesday arvo so i will give your thoery about this weekend a go with a report next week
    Well done again
    Looks like I will miss you this trip Ben, we dont hit Dodge City till Wed, have to ping ya surface spots some other time mate - bugger.
    Thanks for the tip Pete, warm water up the back, my favourite, fishin spot that is of course
    brian

top stuff pete good report,getting fish when its a bit hard sometimes feels more rewarding to me.

Quote Originally Posted by Peter4 View Post

The only other point to mention is that we hit an underwater branch at speed in Bass Straight in open water on the way home. Luckily no damage but it scared the sh*t out of us! Please go easy in this section!
    Hey Peter, great report and pics.

They're great healthy fish and a just reward in the tough conditions.

I also hit an underwater branch at speed in an apparent open area, scared the sh*t out of me and my mate and unfortunately put an inch crack in the tinnie. We spent the next two days fishing the tournament cycling the bilge pump every hour!!!

Well done again,
    Matt C
    Last edited by Mak579; 21-01-2008 at 08:26 PM.

Well done again

illl be there friday as well till monday afternoon so watch out for a maroon 4 runner with a quintrex explorer and 25hp tohatsu

Well done again
    G'day Ben,

Nah - we were too buggered for night fishing and the SE winds (and associated showers) seemed to pick up in the evenings on Thursday and Friday night making conditions on the water even more unpleasant.

The 'prop dinger' is in the shallower area on the right hand side of Bass Straight just past where the odd tree sticks its head up heading back to the boat ramp. I suggest you swing left of all of the trees and stick to the deeper water close to the shoreline. No problems there!

Look forward to your report. Good luck.

Top report Pete, nice piccies too.
    When the barra go off the bite, do you target another species or has the barra bug bitten you too hard ???

well done pete, even old favourites can deliver when the chips are down. how do you go trolling the shallows with the Xraps? id thought they would dive too deep! or are you using something else in the skinny water?
    Cheers Roo.

Good report mate, those 90cm fish look feisty and healthy...

Thanks for sharing!

cheers barra