Thread: Tweed Offshore 20 Jan

Tweed Offshore 20 Jan

With the weather on the improve and a decent shake in my hands due to lack of time on the water a mate and I decided to head to 9 mile for a quick arvo session to tow some plastics around this productive chunk of rock. The bar was a little lumpy as the tide was still on the way out but we crossed ok and dropped the lures out just coming up to fidos. The water was a bit dirty with the odd patch of cleaner stuff but it was quite warm so I thought we were in with a shot. It didn't take long to get a touch but this didn't hook up so we headed to the reef proper. We were joined by a couple of other boats who obviously had the same idea as us and both of these hooked up onto small yellowfin, yummy! Before we had gone much further one of our drags starts howling and before long we had our own nice little yellowfin around 4 kg. We kept trolling and managed 2 more, with not much time between strikes, and were just thinking of calling it a day when 3 of the 4 rods buckle simultaneously and absolutely spew line off them. I grabbed 1 and my mate another, my fish gets off so I grabbed the other rod, it's off after about a minute but my mates is still on and still screaming line out. These weren't small fin! I wound my lines in and got proof they weren't yellowfin - bitten off! We started chasing Tony's fish as it had taken around 200m of line, and after 10 mins we were starting to get pretty close and .........nothing - line pressure is gone and anothe bite off. The way it fought I'm sure it was an XOS wahoo and Tony was spewing, never having caught one, but you get that down here. Anyway, we headed home after this and had tasty sushimied yellowfin for tea. Hopefully we can stay connected to the big buggers next time! Cheers

Re: Tweed Offshore 20 Jan

Top stuff there mate, pitty though about the bite offs just keeps you comming back for more.
    I can not remember the last time I went outside for a fish

thats action. There is heaps of yellow fin every where out there.
    we caught a 12.2 kg wahoo on friday out there. we opened its stomach up to see that it was responsible for biting off the other two lines with a whole swim mullet and skip gar with rigs inside it. one hungry fish!

Still nice to come home with a fish like that mate.

Like aussie fool said, the one that got away is why we keep going back out. Only makes you keener, i bet it wont be as long before your next trip.

The sharks are bad there at the moment averaging 7 to 10 foot and knocking the fish off in short time i wouldn't be too worried about them their a waste of time but become expensive on lures.