Thread: Light mould on Grips

Light mould on Grips

On cleaning my shed on the weekend i found some light mould on a couple of my rod grips ,
    Now i always clean them thoroughly to save cockroaches chewing left over bait or soakage from ya hands on to the grips.
    now i know the grips are well entruly dry and have not been near water but must be the moisture in the air how is the best way i can combat this because i definitely don't want any rottage going on
    ?
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

Re: Light mould on Grips

Are these cork grips or hyperlon. Either way a bit of metho will bring them back most of the time. Cork grips i give a light sand with a fine grit paper before cleaning with metho.

Yeah mate i have no corks
    Will that stop the mould or bring them back?
    Am wondering wether a bit of exit mould maybe??????????
    Jt
    VHF CHANNEL 21

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I'm not sure about the exit mould, yeh sure it will kill the mould but i couldn't guess how it would react with the foam.

Yeah I don't know about the exitmold stuff.
    Convince the bubble and strife that's a good reason why the fishing gear should live in the house.
    If you don't move it all into the house it's all going to go moldy and you'll just have to buy more.

Failing that how about some Lanox or something very similar sprayed on??
    The sheeps fat in it should put a protective barrier on the grips that can be washed off before use if you like.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

when restoring old EVA / hpalon / duralon grips i give them a sand with some 80 grit wet and dry on a block, then give them a good scrub with a TURPS filled rag, this allows you to take of the top layer of crust, grime, fish scales or in this case hoplfully Mold an dthe turps temporarily softens the grips alowing all the rubbish to be scrubbed uot..should bring them back to new... id be hesitant in using something like Lanox on the grips..although it WILL protect them it will also be almost impossible to remove it proir to fishing and it would make the grips very slippery...
    hope this helps
    Cheers HR

Thanks mate
    Another bright idea proven to be crappy
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Quote Originally Posted by finga View Post
    Thanks mate
    Another bright idea proven to be crappy
    Mate always good to get some advice from you
    Thanks guys
    Jt
    I've just never seen it before now just thinking from all the rain of late and shed is closed up but no moisture cept from my freezers one with ice the other bait i noticed water forming on top of them during the rain all week
    VHF CHANNEL 21

Gday JT,

You just need to tell the bloke upstairs to remember to turn the tap off PLEASE!!

Kezza

I think he let the bath tub overflow Kezza by the reports of the water coming down the fitsroy at moment.
    Must admit was a bonus having the sun out all day today
    Wouldn't be so bad the rain but as the wind with it ,i couldn't even put the boat in , i have no worries standing in the pouring rain as long as i can get out for a fish
    VHF CHANNEL 21

I'd be taking a conservative approach

First I'd be giving them a good scrub with water and detergent, followed by a damn good rinse & squeeze
    ...hopefully that will get rid of what ever the mould is feeding off.

Bleach has always been popular for getting rid of mould, but the smart money these days is on either or both vinegar & bicarb.

The mould hates the shift in PH aparantly.

now this is speculation on this particular problem but.

I'd try giveing the grips a good rub with some thin bicarb paste & leave it a while.
    wipe most off then have at it with the vinegar.......hopefully it will all fizz and carry on, hopefully lifting some stuff out of the pores......leave the vinegar on for a while & rinse off.

I have a couple with the same problem I should try it my self.

metho mught be a bit vigorus on some of the plastics.