Thread: Its ON again!

Smile Its ON again!

After 5 and a half weeks of crappy weather, we finally managed to wet a line again. The colossal swells that battered the sunny coast over Christmas was more than enough to keep our feet firmly planted on dry ground, and today's forecast of 2m and 5-10knt was seemingly insignificant in comparison to what we have been getting of late - good enough for me to pull the trigger anyhow ...

The swell is continuing to cause some turbulence, which made fishing somewhat uncomfortable today. However we made our own luck by finding the fish instead of waiting passively for them to turn up. THe first spot we tried (normally a productive area in close) was a fish NO -GO zone probably due to the runnoff which turned the water a murky olive colour! Apart from 1 psycho Mack Tuna on steroids that lept 6 feet out of the water upon hookup before tearing the line to earn its freedom, there was less action than a Hillary Duff flick...

So we decided to try a spot I found out wider last month...a decision which proved rewarding, not to mention alot of fun. The result was around 20 fish, a handful of good sized snapper and sweeties along with one massive sweetlip that took 5 spool-smokin' runs before twisting and spitting the hook at the boat - smart buggers those bigguns!

quite happy with the end result, and would be keen enough to wet a line again if the weather continues to improve. it was good to just get a bend in the rod again - it's certainly a different ball game when fishing in 20m it can be quite hard to feel the bites and with SPs you have to know when to strike or the fish will spit the bait... perhaps using braid would pay dividends in these conditions? any thoughts on this...I am also starting to think bait may be THE lethal weapon in deep water, possessing the edge over SPs for the same reason mentioned above.

One thing is for sure, when it comes to fishing the shallow water, you can't beat the plastics for unbelievable action!!

Happy new year,
    CHeers,
    SS
    Last edited by Snodger Sniper; 20-01-2008 at 05:54 PM.

Re: Its ON again@!

Braid ang Graphite rods, you can feel everything. Feel when the fish picks up the plastic. Often the fish drop the plastic, open the bail arm drop it to the bottom againand usually they or another fish in the school hit it again.
    Nice catch

hi ss
    where did u leave from
    nice little feed

pete

Hey mate, nice fish there. We just got back from wide caloundra, we wasnt quite as lucky as you tho with no fish as the current was running 100 miles an hour but the weather wasnt to bad sitting on 45 km/h the whole way, we decided on having a troll for a bit had to good hits but thats it, so we decided on calling it quits. and raced back in, all in all we had a fun day on the water. We didnt really care if we caught anything or not we just wanted to give the boat a run as she hasnt been used for 2 months due to bad weather.

cheers tassie JR

hi mate nice couple of fish there what bait plastics did the damage where did you fish mate ?
    cheers shane

Anyone out there managed to get hold of that new batch of Nuke chooks that BCF got in over the weekend? That's what did the damage - 4- 5inch on 1/2 ounce jigheads - they went ballistic over them! Guess we will have to wait another six Months for the next batch aswe used up most of them. Great morning 'Sniper' - shame about the HOG that dropped the hook right at the boat. look forward to the next encounter.

Quote Originally Posted by Sea-Captain View Post
    Anyone out there managed to get hold of that new batch of Nuke chooks that BCF got in over the weekend? That's what did the damage - 4- 5inch on 1/2 ounce jigheads - they went ballistic over them! Guess we will have to wait another six Months for the next batch aswe used up most of them. Great morning 'Sniper' - shame about the HOG that dropped the hook right at the boat. look forward to the next encounter.
    Ha Ha...it would be easier to find Osama Bin-ladin

Re: Its ON again!

Great report and some good fish there ss
    greg
    IS THAT A ROD IN MY POCKET OR AM I JUST HAPPY TO BE FISHING

I would have loved to have done what you did SS

I had brejen and my son david helping me all weekend making a frome over my truck to put a car on. Nice blokes hey.

Next weekend we will be out there somewhere.

Nice catch.

Graeme

Good work sniper and a great report! Hopefully the weather will continue to improve over weeks to come! cheers daz.
    FISH-FREAK

hey there ss
    glad you got out

looks like we have the same model boat 5.5 rambler cruisecraft

jusat brought mine late nov 07

got to wet lines twice in the first week then the onslaught of bad weather, now finally looks like clearing and wham!!, broken arm six weeks in plaster last friday....now i am working to put a few stainless steel rod holders with locking pins in.. hoping this will hold the rod in place whilst i crank the handle( where there is a will there is a way)

anyway

how have you found the performance/stability of your boat???

mine has a johno 200 ... seems to ride and handle very well.(actually i am impressed to say the least)

had 16ft monarch before this.one..
    Last edited by Montague; 21-01-2008 at 08:46 PM.

Wow 200! thats a big motor - for our 5.5m we only have a 70hp yammy which goes really well gets up on the plane in a few seconds and cuts the corners really sharp at speed.

wouldn't like to be in a race with you tho!

SS

hey ss
    finally worked out how to resize pics

guess i should of read help section last night

trying to sorce original cc stickers as she goes in to get new gel coat soon

just put new screens and cabin glass in..(does not show in these pics) trying to source rubber seals was a nightmare but finally found profile ,new bimini and clears in two weeks,just repainted inside and carpeted

almost happy with it now
    it was fairly run down when i got it
    Last edited by Montague; 22-01-2008 at 09:36 PM.

Hi Montague,

I have a CC Rambler and got some new Rambler and CruiseCraft decols/stickers direct from CruiseCraft, phone 3390 4877. They cost about $60.

Real nice boat you have there.

Post Re: Its ON again!

Quote Originally Posted by Ketchitdave View Post
    Hi Montague,

I have a CC Rambler and got some new Rambler and CruiseCraft decols/stickers direct from CruiseCraft, phone 3390 4877. They cost about $60.

Real nice boat you have there.

thanks for the lead.
    tried cc a few weeks ago and was told buckly chance of finding original decals/stickers..will give them another go..perhaps they have similar design

i wonder how many ramblers were made and how many still around goldy,bris/sunny area.

be good to get a few together for a fishing outing