Thread: mud crabs

mud crabs

Tried for a few muddies last week in a local creek off the river. Got sick of sitting at home waiting for the weather to improve. Got to say that the numbers of crabs caught over three nights was staggering. Ended up with 87 mud crabs. It was just a shame there were only 9 legal males amongst them. Of the crabs caught, there were only 23 bucks. Some of the females were the largest I have seen for many a year.
    Interestingly enough we used a variety of baits over the three nights.......assorted fish frames and pillies, whole mullet and some fresh chicken frames.
    The fish and mullet accounted for 80 of the crabs and the chicken performed very poorly. I had heard that the professionals use chicken and do well. Is using chicken a falacy or was I just unlucky????
    Also the moon phase didn't seem to worry the crabs either......????
    Oh and the fishing was lousy but not unsurprising......tiddler bream and a heap of catties.

Shane

Re: mud crabs

Good to hear you still got a few legals for the pot mate. I'm in Victoria Point and was thinking of doing the same thing after the rain, but was worried about crab pot theft at this time of year at night.

I too, have best results when using mullet, but have used chicken before for not quite as good results.

I've used chicken wings - caught both sandies and muddies on them. I would probably favour fish frames or heads though, if I have them.

i did always use chicken frames but the this season and last they just dont seem to tbe as efficient as the good old fish frames....
    Good to seem em in good numbers once again .

Hey guys
    Yeah I found the same thing about the chicken last year. With all the jennies gettingt around it surely suggests that the non keeping of Jennies is working.....The question I raise though that if there is really an abundance of Jennies maybe the powers that be could relax the laws a bit and maybe allow each person 1 Jenny as a keeper but raise the size limit to say 160mm or 170mm???? Makes you think doesn't it????

I agree watta. The big jennies apparently don't breed and kill smaller bucks and jennies.

On chook, I use it exclusively. Caught 6 bucks on it last week in one session. Got pulled up by fisheries and the fella was saying a combination of chook and fish is the best as they put out two different scents. He said the reason the pros use chook is because they get spiked all the time with fish frames and chook is easier to use on mass. His words, not mine.

Hmmm sandbankmagnet that sounds interesting enough....mixing the chicken and fish that is....
    Up until last week I would have totally agreed with you about the larger jennies not breeding. One of the Jennies we got last week measured 21cm point to point and was totally full of eggs. She was HUGE.
    Another point that i thought was interesting is that in the 3 nights crabbing we did all crabs were caught within an area about 3/4 km. Outside this didn't raise 1 crab.

Shane, keep with the chicken frames, $2 a kilo @ woolies

Also throw in a frame or so of mullet to add the aroma, tuna or mackeral would be better still

Had my best crabbing session ever on wahoo head

Hey Dave,
    I have used chicken frames for years but the last couple of years have been leen.

Shane
    ps Will I be seeing you over the weekend??? If not after talking to Pete, I might catch up with you next week.

Quote Originally Posted by Blackened View Post

Shane, keep with the chicken frames, $2 a kilo @ woolies

Also throw in a frame or so of mullet to add the aroma, tuna or mackeral would be better still

Had my best crabbing session ever on wahoo head

well a mate of mine used a nice big dolphin fish head but i guess i just gotta spend more time catchin a damn dolphinfish or wahoo then going crabbing lol
    "True Blue"

Quote Originally Posted by watta View Post
    Hey Dave,
    I have used chicken frames for years but the last couple of years have been leen.

Shane
    ps Will I be seeing you over the weekend??? If not after talking to Pete, I might catch up with you next week.

Bloody oath you will, see you in a few hours

nothing wrong with chicken frames,,,,, and to add a bit of excitement throw in a cup of tuna oil (pure),,,,,

i'm lucky enough to have an exclusive freezer (thanks santa) for the fish bait/berley/frames etc etc,,,, i use a standard plastic bucket with a lid,,, chook frames in 1,,,, fish frames the other,,,, both get a liberal splash of tuna oil,,, and if anything is left over after a trip,,, straight to the freezer to await the next one,,,

can't really say 100% on which i've had more success on,,,, but the chook definately work,,,,,

can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE

30 YEARS AGO IT WASN'T THAT HARD TO GET A FEED OF MUDDIES. SINCE THEN THE POPULATION HAS TRIPLED OR BETTER, TO BUY ONE U PAY $35 - $45, and TOO MANY MUGS STARTED TAKING LARGE FEMALES OR ANYTHING THAT THEY PULLED UP OR PULLING THE CLAWS OFF SO THEY COULDN'T FEED. I WOULD PERSONALLY ENDORSE PUBLIC CASTRATION FOR ANY ONE TAKING A FEMALE. IF 50% OF CRABS MATURED (ITS PROBABLY LESS)AND 50% WERE MALES, HOW MANY BREEDERS DO U NEED TO KEEP PACE WITH AN EVER INCREASING POPULATION ? - ANSWER - PROBABLY MORE THAN WE'VE GOT. THE TAKING OF WIDE TAIL BUCKS AND GENDER DISFUNCTIONAL MALES WILL ONLY BRING CLOSER THE DAY WHEN ALL CRABS R IMPORTED, A BAG LIMIT OF 1, CLOSED SEASONS AND 80% OF THE BAY IS A NO GO ZONE ARE THE NORM. THEN YOU'LL BE TELLING PEOPLE ABOUT THE GOOD OLE DAY'S WHEN U COULD CRAB ANYWHERE ANYTIME.

I dont really think the crabs mind what they eat at all its more the fact of how much they can smell it and from how far away. I was speaking to a pro a few years ago and he said he only uses oily fish such as mullet and tuna because the way the oil disspersed in the water and held its smell alot longer. personaly i have had alot of success with this theory although most of the time i just use whats in the freezer