Has anyone been out down the pine this week.
Just wondering what its like after all this rain.
Anyfish....
Has anyone been out down the pine this week.
Just wondering what its like after all this rain.
Anyfish....
not too good at the moment with all the fresh. alot of catties. try the mouth for some flatties near the bridge. prob your best bet.
I had another go on Wednesday Michael after getting the nice jack on Monday. Put the pots out and then got some live bait. Prawns were hard to find but I got plenty of poddy mullet and herring. Fished the bottom of the tide under the highway bridges and then the rise against the mangroves all with live baits. Only managed one legal bream and a couple of catfish. Plenty of mud crabs in the pots but all jennies, so all I got to bring home was 1 bream and a stack of bait after 7 hours of fishing. Still beats working!
Cheers Freeeedom
Gday, I havent been fishing for years but going with grown sons tomorrow. We havent been fishing together in years except for hiring a boat at Maroochy at Christmas (caught a couple of little throwbacks). I was going to go over Hornibrook/Pine way but because we will have 1yr old grandson with us, I am a bit shy to fish from the bridge. Can I fish from the rocks on the upriver side of the Sandgate end of the bridge where the parking area is? Is there a good place at Sandgate or elsewhere to get some handlines, etc and bait?
Would appreciate any help.
Whitek
The service station at Castledine (On the highway just after Beams road) normally has live worms and tackle, if you are coming through that way. Not sure about Sandgate but there are some fishing fishing jetties around deep water bend which I think you access from Wyampa Road.
the catfish were smashing they livies on wensday arvo, #### 'em!!!!!!!!
big anti climax when ya fishing under a snag a whole poddy gets hit, only to land a stinker!
If you mean the rock wall at Decker park, I used to fish there a bit and pick up bream, but I haven't done well since they put the groynes in. I usually fish off the last groyne casting under the bridge, but you don't want to be trying to watch a young tacker at the same time there. I would suggest maybe the old boat ramp on the other side of the bridge. If you are going north, as you come off the bridge, it is down the end of the first or second street on the left.Gday, I havent been fishing for years but going with grown sons tomorrow. We havent been fishing together in years except for hiring a boat at Maroochy at Christmas (caught a couple of little throwbacks). I was going to go over Hornibrook/Pine way but because we will have 1yr old grandson with us, I am a bit shy to fish from the bridge. Can I fish from the rocks on the upriver side of the Sandgate end of the bridge where the parking area is? Is there a good place at Sandgate or elsewhere to get some handlines, etc and bait?
Would appreciate any help.
Whitek
For tackle, I find tackleworld at Sandgate good. Have a good chat while you are there and you should get some good advice. cnr Rainbow and Hancock street I think. Shorncliffe area might be good if you are trying to watch a young fella and fish at the same time too.
But there is still a lot of fresh in the creeks, so I wouldn't take the big esky.
Whitek,
I'm very much a newbie so I'm cautious to give advice but we've been fishing that area recently so I'll just pass on what we've found.
The rocks you mention (upriver from the sandgate end of the hornybrook bridge) is pretty shallow so I'm not sure what sort of success you'll have close to the bridge...
We fished a little further upriver where there's a BBQ shelter (west of the carpark you mention) on a day when the wind was terrible... nothing on that day but there were a few other blokes there that said they were regulars there and they usually get a few flatties.
Another guy (who "looked the part") arrived and walked even further around but we couldn't see how much further around he went.
At the Redcliffe end of the bridge (under the newer bridge) I've seen some fishing from the rocks there... apparently there's lots of cat fish but I'm not sure what sort of productive action there is???
If you're looking for somewhere safe and comfortable for the family around that area you might want to consider Deepwater Bend. We've had "some" success there but I wouldn't consider it to be a "hot spot". (Actually the wife has caught a few nice bream there but I put that down to luck )
(We're new to fishing and we're still looking for landbased "hot spots" ourselves)... but DWB is safe, comfortable and you can get a few fish.
If you prefer fishing from the banks rather than the boardwalk you can just walk downstream - across the boat ramp and around the bend a little. It provides another option for fishing from the banks.
Take some aeroguard though!
good luck,
Dnepr
went down the pine on tuesday arvo after work one rod each was the rule fishing by five pm my mate droped one flattie and i caught one nice size flattie in by 7pm with dinner.it was hard work compared to how we go normally, all on plastics the water was like coffee
Thanks for your imput guys..
Sh-t house week at work so gunna give it a go anyway just to get out and enjoy!Even just make the most of the clear sky..
will try a few places and if lady lucks on my side you just never no whats going to swim past with a empty stomach.will let you all no if any action...
A jack would be nice
i might be there... if u see a guy in a blue jacket with waders then thats me...i met a guy last week sunday morning.. very nice bloke.. had a good chat.. sorry mate if you are reading this ..i didnt catch your name ..i know it starts with D..