In every tackle shop till you find some lol
Kezza
hi guys im about to do a trip over to morten and fish the curtain etc ive heard of the nook chooks in plastics are good i wouldn mind getting some what do i look for
cheers shane
In every tackle shop till you find some lol
Kezza
Berkley Gulp 5" Jerk Shads Nuclear Chicken. Iwould be using 5" inside the bay. 5" are pretty easy to come by, 7" are the Tasmanian Tiger
ok thanks heaps guys .are the a worm looking plastic? i seen some the other day i think at ##### all sports morayfield also what size jig head would yous use out at curtain ive always fished bait at curtain but keen to drop a plastic
cheers shane
a Jerk Shad looks like a skinny bait fish, Green and Fluro Red.
Start at 1/8 th and go from there depending on current, depth etc
thanks again captain ill keep a eye out for them.
cheers shane
Over at Curtain I always end up using a 3/8 3/0 TT jig head for the 5" Jerk Shads. Not too big and even if you get a faster run a bit more line out usually gets you down to the bottom.
Cheers Chris
Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.
They have 20% off the gulps at BCF at the moment. You probably wont find the nuc. chooks there but there are other colours which are equally as good. Try the lime tiger and blue pepper neon 5' jerk shads. About $7.60 a packet with the 20% off.
I'd be getting some 1/4, 3/8 and 1/2oz. jig heads too. because the current can be a right b!tc# at curtain. At the end of the day its the same principal as bait fishing, adjust the weight to suit the current. Just dont rig it like you would bottom bashing You want the plastic to sink as slowly and naturally as possible while still getting to the bottom.
If you haven't used plastics in the deep before heres a quick heads up. When drifting cast ahead of the drift roughly the depth you are in (or a bit more as you will probably have to take in a bit of slack on the way down), give it a few little jigs on the way down and by the time the line is straight down (under the boat) it should be on or near the bottom. Give it a couple of jigs and reel in the slack, pause, jig, jig take up the slack, pause and then flick open the bail arm and let it drop down again. By now it will be starting to get out slightly behind the boat but still near the bottom. Close the bail arm and slowly work it off the bottom and back to the boat.
If anchored it is pretty much the same just cast up current instead of ahead of the drift. You can also just drop it off the side but i find by the time its near the bottom you have let out 2 times the depth of water you are in worth of line and will more than likely get bricked by anything decent.
Crap, just realised i turned this post into a plastics 101. Hope it helps anyway. Good luck if you get out.
Wow thats awesome plaz what would it take to get a quick post about fishing plastics for flatties if you do so that is? I keep hearing that flatties love plastics however I am yet to get one well I am yet to get one on bait for that matter. I would love to have a crack at getting a nice lizard on plastics tho.
I must be fishing a different Curtin reef? I've not been able to get a 1.5oz head down there, except at slack water
See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.
Outside I usually do best on the 5 inch Jerk Shad but it seems the deeper the water the bigger the plastic because of how dark it is down there. For example if you fish in the 60 metres plus then go the 7 inch. If you fish around 20 metres or less then the 5 inch is the way to go. In the 10 metres or less I generally use the 4 inch. To date my best snapper at 73cms was caught on a 4 inch jerk shad in around 8-9 metres of water.
Hope this helps,
I posted in the tackle section a week ago that Tackle World Compton Rd had a bin full of 5 and 7in chook jerk shads. Be gone now i reckon
hi guys all the info is very use full thanks heaps again hopefully ill be able to find what yous are talking about ive tryied power baits but only managed to get a small cod and a bucket load of yellow tail also should i be using a special rod or will any flippy rod do the trick i have a number of over head combos for bottom bashing etc guessing you would need a different outfit for the jigging etc.
cheers shane
While drifting i would use a 3/8 to a 1/2 and it will get you down to the bottom. But anchored you would have to make long casts ahead of the boat and hopefully it would be somewhere near the bottom once it reached you.
Also do not be afraid to use bigger plastics in the bay. Some of my best snaps from the bay have come from bigger jerk shads. I have also caught plenty of under size snaps on the 7 inch jerk shads, so it goes to show even the small fish in the bay will take a big bait. I guess it all depends on what the fish want, some days they will only look at the bigger baits and other days they only want smaller offering. Oh and as other have said, there are plenty of other colors that work better (yes i said it) then nuke chooks.
Cheers Chris
Hey Smiley, Flatties are a good species to target as a starting point for lure fishing because they love moving targets and are not picky eaters.
The main thing to remember is that they are ambush predators. This means they will hide themselves on the bottom, facing the current, waiting for fish or scraps to come past them. This is the main reason why the last stages of a falling tide are so productive for flatties because they are waiting for whatever is draining off the bank or out of the creek to come to them.
Keeping this in mind, position yourself accordingly to best place the plastic for the right angle of attack on the retrieve. ie. cast into the current, let it sink and work it through the spot (with the current) while keeping the plastic near the bottom. The areas i look for when chasing lizards are drop offs, eddies, mouths of small or large creeks and swirly water behind snags/structure. My ultimate flattie spot is a drop off where a shallow bank drains into a deep hole. i cast the plastic, into the current, over the hole onto the high side of the bank and work it into the hole (keeping it close to the bottom), the majority of hits are when it just rolls over the edge into the hole.
Mouths of small feeder creeks are also great areas as the flatties will sit waiting for scraps to drain into the larger creek and often small baitfish are attracted to these feeder creek mouths also.
Large unexposed sandbanks (say 1 -2 ft deep) can be a good area to work on a high tide also. If i find a good looking bank i will set up somewhere i can reach most of it and cover the whole area in a fan of casts, working from one side to the other. Generally if theres a flattie there you will see them come out of their lie and have a look if not take a snap.
Flatties are not scared to take on a big feed either so an average fish will often take a 6" plastic and i generally prefer to target lizards with big lures as it generally ups the quality of fish. But this is often at the expense of missed hook ups and spat hooks.
My Favourite sp's for flatties are; Squidgy fish in black gold and gary glitter usually 85mm to 125mm, squidgy flick baits in flash prawn and evil minnow and yes (bringing it back to the topic) nuc chook minnows or shads.
Jighead wise, use enough weight to keep the plastic bouncing off the bottom, they are attracted to things banging on the bottom and i have recently found that bigger hooks help with increased rates of hook up.
Hope that wasn't too much to digest.
Good luck