Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Thread: Where would you retire?

Re: Where would you retire?

Hi All

This is great. I am taking everything on board.

Thank you.

Nat.

Im going to River Heads too.

Second choice would be Yamba.

Actually, I really want to buy the house on the river that backs onto my favorite jack spot (Gold Coast), but the wife wants to be near the family, so Hervey Bay it is. Im sure I'll survive.

Good day,
    19 years from now (come on 60 ) i think i will retire to my boat.I may have to go home to sleep sometimes though but only when its raining.
    Cheers Reidy

Why not move to Buderim?
    All the other old fogies from all over seem to congregate here!!!!
    I would move to Exmouth over WA. The fishing is as close to untouched as you would find anywhere, and heaps of work opportunities.
    East coast i would move to Yeppoon. Great spot.

get out of your backyard and try the north Island of NZ , the fishing shats all over what we have here and as well some of the best trout fishing in the world and it's all on one Island.
    been there twice and won't be the last.
    pickers

Quote Originally Posted by Poodroo View Post
    For me I would definitely retire on Bribie Island. To me it is perfect because you have every type of fishing imaginable. You can head offshore and get stuck into Marlin, Dolphin Fish, Amberjack, Snapper, Pearl Pearch, and every reefie known to man. If it is too rough out there then you can simply stay in the bay and still catch speedsters like Mackeral, Tuna, Cobia or even still get stuck into the Snapper. Even if the bay is too rough there are nice squire, bream, flathead etc in the Passage. And then if the passage is even too rough if the weather turns cyclonic you can duck into nearby creeks like Bulimbah Creek where you can still chase flathead, Bream, and Mangrove Jack. I have an uncle who has been living there for some time now and there are a few people on here who know him and he has caught all of the above fish and more.

ya know here is a response that is worth looking into,,,,

i've been here for over 20 years,,,, and seen a hell of a lot of changes,,,, and the great part about it that andrew didn't cover is that its just far enough away from brissie,,,, but its still close

an hour in any direction puts you in s/shine coast/gold coast (nearly),, glasshouse etc etc

but the best part is,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, you can't be buried on bribie,,,,

thats right,,,, no cemetaries,,,,

now if this doesn't give you a greater chance of outliving everyone,,, what does???????????

i hear a rumour that TOL may be moving here,,,,,, him and a truckload of pegboard or something,,,,,,,,,,,,,

can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE

Ideally Fiji But Yamba As A Second Option

We're actually toying with the House Sitting Service. We can stay here in Brizzy, for the kids and part-time working, but when the feeling takes us, go and house sit for someone somewhere else in OZ. It's a growing service and the opportunities to see the world, let alone Oz, seem abundant.............we house sit for someone and someone else can house sit for us. Just google house sitting to see how popular it is becoming.........at least it gets the grey nomads out of their mobile homes
    A couple here swear by it Kev. They used to sit around and do bugger all, now your lucky to find them home.
    It has put a real spring in their step and they look so much healthier as well.

I have a mate who has retired to river heads, he got in when you could get land on the water for 60 grand

Anyway, if anyone wants some let me know, he is now the estate agent up that way..

Charlie was right, my parents retired to Port Macquarie.. seemed OK at the time, then dad was diagnosed with cancer. Hospitals in the area are apparently below average. I live in Brisbane & my brother is in Sydney, so it is bloomin difficult for either of us to get down there to see them..
    If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?

The best place by far is Yeppoon in Central Qld. We have everything here that you could ever want. The climate is wonderful, the city of Rockhampton is only 25 minutes away and its a beautiful drive in to shop there. Yeppoon is nice and quiet and is a very friendly place. There are marlin out past the islands, charter boats if needed, river fishing for barra and heaps more. In Qld. there are no more death duties on your estate, makes a big difference.
    In R'ton you have theatures, shoping centers, easy to get to hospitals and supurb botanical gardens. There is never a traffic jam in R'ton or Yeppoon and we have a super set of boat ramps at Roslyn Bay. The price of land is rising but there are still many good places to buy. The beaches are safe for kids, there are beautiful beaches along the coast to Emu Park and you are also very close to Awonga Dam with giant size Barra. If you like golf there are some great golf links and at Yeppoon, you also have the tame roos to help you with your game. It's the best place in Qld. by far.
    Eagle

dingo beach

great little spot. great people, great pub and the best fishing not far out..

shane

It is amazing how many people think the best place in the world is the place they're in right now.

I wonder if we all had the chance to travel more would we think the same thing.

Hopefully (fingers crossed) retirement for me will be not working 9 to 5 for someone else but managing my own interests in my own time. I've got 6 years left in my 10 year plan.

For what it's worth, I love Tassie for all it has to offer in terms of natural beauty and resources but also because I have connections here with family and access to places many others wouldn't. I'll always have a connection here which will mean splitting time here (summer) with a place on the mainland.

At the moment we're looking towards Mooloolabah because of its deep water access to the sea and its proximity to great fishing grounds of all sorts. I'll need waterfront access of course for my big boat

Spending time with family and friends wherever the hell it may be is surely what you want to do when you've got time on your hands.

Where'sabouts in Tassie are ya mate??..

Well if you think you wont need to see doctors or dentists too often and dont need the big smoke 1770 is heaven.
    greg
    IS THAT A ROD IN MY POCKET OR AM I JUST HAPPY TO BE FISHING

Not so much for the fishing but I would retire down on the Tasman Penisular around Nubeena. Love the country down in Tas and how quite it is on the penisular.
    Sounds like a plan Brett, summer at Nubeena and winter in Nth QLD