Thread: placing a Epirb

Re: placing a Epirb

Quote Originally Posted by rubba View Post
    i have a grab bag and everthing is in it .that way i have everthing all together if i have to bail
    gday rubba
    as in everything, i take it as all your safty gear? thats an idea, do PPL tell there crew where everything is ( safty gear) just last trip a mate from WA came out with us and asked where all the gear was.........i just looked at him.... not thinking how easy it is to forget to let newbies know where it all is

Quote Originally Posted by disorderly View Post
    rubba.I believe you have a bit of experience in this department.
    Where was the epirb in your last boat and were you able to activate it?

and by "everything" in the grabbag .What else do you have at the ready?.

in my last boat the epirb was right in front of my passenger the thing was you dont have time to think nor to unclip it we didnt activate it .now i have flares vsheet epirb and first aid kit in bag and have it next to me so i can grab and bail if any thing ever happens again and believe me the un expected can no matter how carefull you are.

Quote Originally Posted by rubba View Post
    in my last boat the epirb was right in front of my passenger the thing was you dont have time to think nor to unclip it we didnt activate it .now i have flares vsheet epirb and first aid kit in bag and have it next to me so i can grab and bail if any thing ever happens again and believe me the un expected can no matter how carefull you are.
    Your right dale
    I reckon the grab bag should be put on the floor next to you I have everything in the bag including one important Item a self inflating PFD this means the bag will float and you can use it if you dont have a pfd on. as for the epirb it on the side of the boat towards the cuddy and you can get to it once you are in the water. but if your in the swell area I have a personal one attached to the life jacket I reckon in big swell you dont want to be near the boat as it can become a missle.

Of course the life jacket is on going through the bar at "all times" dosent matter how flat it is. same goes for all passengers.
    "light gear big fish big fun"

Quote Originally Posted by Wahoo View Post
    gday rubba
    as in everything, i take it as all your safty gear? thats an idea, do PPL tell there crew where everything is ( safty gear) just last trip a mate from WA came out with us and asked where all the gear was.........i just looked at him.... not thinking how easy it is to forget to let newbies know where it all is

Good point Daz!

The skipper is responsible for all passengers, having a safety induction for newbies falls under your Safety Obligation (Duty of Care).
    Familiarizing crew, especially newbies, with the location and operation of safety gear makes good sense. There might be scenario where the skipper is incapacitated and crew will need to take over.
    Describe how an EPIRB works and when to let one off, igniting a distress flare and which one to use (day/night), using a V sheet, fuel shut-off valve, extinguisher, etc.
    Even get them to try a lifejacket on as the straps may be tricky, particularly on the block foam type.