Thread: Yep Another Awoonga Fan

Yep Another Awoonga Fan

Managed to sneek away for a few days with Toddy back to awoonga ready to hit the weed dwellers before the wind and rain kicked in .
    It was a stinker on monday on arrival bout 34deg and the water temp a balmy 30-31 so we headed to a few of the spots that produced during the ABT for me , it was mid arvo before we found active fish and the first hookup resulted in a decent fish over a meter drilling itself into the weeds and dislodging the berkly mullet in the process (doh).
    with stuff all happening we headed up the southern arm and i opened the account with a 85cm speedster to which Toddy scored a fish around the same, a few more taps with no conversions and with the wind dropping on sunset we hit the central weed flats again with 110mm slick rigs . one more fish landed each and plenty of non converted hits and spits we hit the ramp satisfied with day ones efforts of 2 each best going 106cm.

day 2 saw us up before birds fart and on the water first light after the short drive from the awoonga gateway cabinsbloody comfy and cool) we couldn't entice one to the boat so we headed back for a feed and kip round 9.30am .
    back in the drink round 4pm for the evening sesh we were greeted by a stiff se breeze round 15kts so we had a few long drifts over the middle weeds for nothing . back up the southern arm it was blowing just as bad so for a first time i threw the anchor out of the fishin chippy and we planned to cast a section to death then move a hundred yds and repeat , well this proved to be a winner as events unfolded a little like this .
    # first cast thought i had a tap.
    # second cast hook and land 78cm
    # fourth cast hook and land 89cm
    #seventh cast hook and land 91cm
    # Toddy puts on same lure after seeing this and having no result
    # hook and land another 90cm after swapping ends of the boat
    # hook and land what turned out fish of the trip a 115cm(1cm short of pb).

wholly crap what a hot 60 mins of arm pumping adrenalin gushing action and as if a switch was hit ,that was it 5 fish to the boat and numerous hits and spits and then nothing for two hours so we called it.

next day we were ready to hit the same area with sharpened hooks new stingers attached to more lures and keen attitudes to boot........................ but the wind was more southerly and showers every 15mins saw the water down to 25.5 deg and we only managed 1 bust/cut off each and bugger all hits ohh and i got two catties .
    with the wind stronger and steady rain falling we hooked it back to brissy to dry out (in more ways than 1)

end report
    cheers swano
    Last edited by swano; 18-01-2008 at 08:44 AM.

Re: Yep Another Awoonga Fan

Jeez thats one whoppin' slick rig... 110cm!

Anyway great report mate and some nice barra!

Hoping to get up there soon..

Cheers barra

Great report, that's the type of session that we all dream about.

Regards Cameron.

Some nice fish Swanno, love the colour on that gold girl.
    brian

onya Swano...................cant keep you away eh?
    Jas

Quote Originally Posted by the_matrix View Post
    onya Swano...................cant keep you away eh?
    Jas
    pm ya number jas , tried to get ya number up there off the locals and the book to no avail but they recon you were workin when we were there anyhoo , woulda been good to have a frostychat .
    cheers swano

Swano,
    Nah have been off work but busy with the twins mate.
    Usually duck and weave the dam this time of year, bu a frosty is always good.
    I'll send ya a pm that way let me know when your up again.
    Looks like you blokes had fun, well done.
    Talk soon.
    Jas

What a hot session, Swano.

Good pics and a great report!

nice fish mate congrats there huge. cheers bdowdy..brett

great report swano,great fish shots too,what are your favourate colors for your slick rigs

Congrats on the great fish and top report!

How awesome is it to get onto a hot bite like that! Especially when most of the time its hard yakka.

You did well to pick a break in the weather atm, especially when you've got to travel from Brisbane.

Cheers and congrats,

Quote Originally Posted by warrior View Post
    great report swano,great fish shots too,what are your favourate colors for your slick rigs
    the best lure by far was the 5" berkly mullet in the gold flek it landed the five fish in an hour and was still in great nick .
    in the slik stakes the black red attracted plenty of attention as well as the pearl colour .

the mullets need the assist stinger retro fitted i was using a 6x #4 treble tied on with 45lb mono , the slik rigs would be better with a stinger but difficult it would be as for their smallish profile making it hard to maintain the action of the tail.
    cheers swano

ps matt will get you a pic of the stinger set up if ya send ya email on pm

Great post & pics of some nice barra there Swano.
    Cheers <:{{{{{>< Wayne

Fished Awoonga last weekend for 18 hours over 2 days. I didn't catch anything, and didn't even get a touch. Other guy I was with caught 2 fish in the 18 hours.

That place either fires or it is dead as.

After 18 hours without a touch I'm in no hurry to race back in the near future.

Cheers for the report and the tips there swanno. Bloody nice fish. Have never caught a barra but have 3 weeks off now and am thinking of heading up there to give them a crack. My parents used to fish below the wall at awoonga and catch great barra (lots of years ago) and diddnt know what they were. Ben