-
14-03-2008, 11:07 PM
Re: Townsville F,F'n'F
Nice to know Gilli.
Hey malcolm, If you after some cheap pads for you tie downs, try going to one of the carpet shops and get a strip of carpet about4 to 5 inches wide, just cut some eyelets in each end of them and twist them around so the carpet surface faces down on the boat. Have used this method for years and everytime they wear out, its a quick fix. If not PM me as I have heaps of spare carpet left over from a reno in the house a while ago and I can show you how its done.
Fillet and Release Squad
-
15-03-2008, 10:16 AM
Ausfish Addict
The mechanics have been good to us to. first service was due after 12months and cos we'd hardly used the boat, the motor only had about 5hrs up on it, the mechanics just checked it over, and signed the service record for $20, they said with so little use, there's a very minute possibility anything needed replacing, they just asked if we give the motor a bit of a run periodically to keep everything lubricated and since we did, it was a 1/2 hr check up and it was done.
-
15-03-2008, 03:22 PM
5 hours work, thats down right criminal Scott. Best you wet that boat and clock up some hours or we'll have to force you to go fishing (bet that will the most difficult thing I could possibly do!!!!!!)
Fillet and Release Squad
-
15-03-2008, 07:31 PM
Ausfish Addict
That was before i got my licence and only dad could drive, then got knocked down with ross river fever. Since I've got my licence i clocked about 15hrs on my own, now for a grand total of 36 hrs....pathetic huh?
-
15-03-2008, 07:54 PM
Fillet and Release Squad
-
16-03-2008, 10:32 AM
If this damn wind would stop, you could get the boat used more!
-
16-03-2008, 01:19 PM
Ausfish Addict
Bloody wind picked up when i finally finished the boat, the few weeks preceding would've been ideal.....maybe I should take the floor out and the wind would stop, at least then others would be able to get out...
-
16-03-2008, 01:51 PM
So what your saying is that because you've finished the work on the boat, the FFNF is going to be a really windy affair. Hope not or we'll be able to blame someone???? I'm hoping next weekend is okay (doubtful at this stage), I've got a date with a few Barramundi etc up at Hinchinbrook..
Fillet and Release Squad
-
16-03-2008, 02:19 PM
Ausfish Addict
well it seemed to start when i finished the job, and it hasn't let up since....maybe I should bite the bullet and show that it will take alot more than 25knts to keep me from getting the job done!
-
16-03-2008, 02:24 PM
Don't worry I think we are all doing stuff to the boats at the moment.
I'm trying to recharge a slowly dying Battery, dropped to just 6.5Volts on my last night trip, so chucked it on the charger this arvo and it's taking along time for incremental increases in Volts. Last thing I checked when I bought the boat off the previous owner about 4 years ago and it was only a 38amph battery, so Looks like its a trip to go and buy a new one. I think I might go for something around the 60 to 80 amph, at least then I will be able to do a bit more night work on the water.
Fillet and Release Squad
-
16-03-2008, 03:50 PM
Anyone go out fishn this weekend?
a mate and myself went up to insulator but was the worst weekend on record. Blew the tyre out on my trailer on the way up there, then bogged the ute to the axles, didnt catch one fish then just to top it all off, the gear change lever on my boat got snapped off somehow on the trip home.
All money and no fun lol
Gilli
Most sports require one ball..... Fishing requires two
GO326Q
4M tinnie with 25hp johnson
Call ova for a chat if you see me out on the water
-
16-03-2008, 04:00 PM
These things, remember how they happen in 3's - You've hopefully used up all your bad luck for 2008 in one go.
trailer ----- Car -------Boat
Just don't play with a black cat
Fillet and Release Squad
-
16-03-2008, 05:48 PM
Ausfish Gold Member
ive got a big lump of fibreglass in my shed can anyone tell me what's it used for.
-
16-03-2008, 05:49 PM
Ausfish Gold Member
-
16-03-2008, 07:30 PM
Just imagine what its like for us!!! Nice new boat and nothing but wind. Did put her in for a run yesterday afternoon. Interesting launching and retreving a new big glass boat while blowing 20knots. Especially with wife, a 3yr old and a 1yr old! Went well though. High stress getting on and off, but now we have done it its pretty easy. I'm too use to being able to pull the tinnie up on the ramp!. Took it out the front for a test run in washing machine. I was very impressed!