Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Is it safe to fish here at night?

Re: Is it safe to fish here at night?

This is a great topic mate! being an avid landbased fisho, it's always on my mind as well. a dog would be an option, but make sure you don't get it just for that. i guess maintaining vigilance is the key. always be aware of your surroundings, and when stragglers do aproach, really suss them out whilst nodding and smiling as they go on and on about somethng. never take your eyes off anyone in those situations, and don't allow thier friendliness to deceive you - sometimes the grog can make people change almost immediately, so never be lulled into a safe feeling. if the stink does go down, maintain an innocuous front until crunch time, then really go hard if there is no escape. pick the ring leader out and work hard on him (within reason), you may just dissuade the rest. you may bluff them if you yell and puff your chest, but if violence is imminent, best to lull them into a false sense of superiority - you will shock them so much more as they won't be ready for it. no shame in running if you can, it is always the best option as you can never win in those situations, even if you do win. having said all this, most are good people juiced up so it's usually a friendly affair anyway. i hope the only fight you ever have is a creature from the drink mate!

cuzza

yer mate if ur livin by ur self and have a dog and u spend time with him and treat him like ya mate hes gunna protect UR house ur car and you rottys arnet that viscious any more. still goota love the old loyal blue heeler.
    "True Blue"

Quote Originally Posted by cuzzamundi View Post
    This is a great topic mate! being an avid landbased fisho, it's always on my mind as well. a dog would be an option, but make sure you don't get it just for that. i guess maintaining vigilance is the key. always be aware of your surroundings, and when stragglers do aproach, really suss them out whilst nodding and smiling as they go on and on about somethng. never take your eyes off anyone in those situations, and don't allow thier friendliness to deceive you - sometimes the grog can make people change almost immediately, so never be lulled into a safe feeling. if the stink does go down, maintain an innocuous front until crunch time, then really go hard if there is no escape. pick the ring leader out and work hard on him (within reason), you may just dissuade the rest. you may bluff them if you yell and puff your chest, but if violence is imminent, best to lull them into a false sense of superiority - you will shock them so much more as they won't be ready for it. no shame in running if you can, it is always the best option as you can never win in those situations, even if you do win. having said all this, most are good people juiced up so it's usually a friendly affair anyway. i hope the only fight you ever have is a creature from the drink mate!

cuzza
    Yeah, my main concern is that I want to be able to take my kids fishing of an evening as well, nothing better for them than heading out for a night's fishing with Dad. That makes it even more important to be in areas where it is generally regarded as 'safe'. If i was by myself, i would certainly have less qualms about getting into a stink if it was unavoidable, but it makes things less certain with the billy lids there as well.

It might be worthwhile someone contacting the police to ask where THEY suggest the safest spots would be. I notice them patrolling Deep Water Bend during the day at times and surely they would have some data on incidents in common fishing areas.

If there are incidents that they are not managing it says a lot about their resourcing. Issue should be made of this because we have a right to be able to fish safely of an evening... Christ, this is a BASIC right of safety!

Quote Originally Posted by loophole View Post
    yer mate if ur livin by ur self and have a dog and u spend time with him and treat him like ya mate hes gunna protect UR house ur car and you rottys arnet that viscious any more. still goota love the old loyal blue heeler.

Thank you loophole, you beat me to it, I've had 3 blueys over the years I lived in the scrub,

If you want something protected, give it to a blue.

i know i would be more scared of a nice sized piggin knife then a dog. It looks dangerous and you dont have to walk and feed it.

I had my ute broken in to at deepwater bend last year early hours of the morning they only got some small change though at least the ute & trailer were still there.

Hi Alan,
    It's a sad fact that this is the world we live in.But don't let these punks stop you from enjoying your life.

Mate,I suggest ya take up the gaff idea.Your a pretty big bloke,And if i seen ya all angry and wavin a gaff around,I know I'd definantly take steps in the other direction.Not only will the ally pole split ya head open like a water melon ,A big nasty hook in the back of the neck would have ta hurt as ya drag em in for a solid head butt .

Cheers,Rick.
    The underlying spirit of angling,Is that the skill of the angler,Is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish,And that the latter is entitled to an even chance for his life. Regards, Hardb8.Kickin tails and razin scales since 1979.

Quote Originally Posted by Hardb8 View Post
    A big nasty hook in the back of the neck would have ta hurt as ya drag em in for a solid head butt .

Cheers,Rick.
    G'day Rick, yeah i can see it now. Come 'ere pretty boy. SMACK!!!

I've been thinking of going the 'gaff' route, there's no way i'm gonna let some little dropkick stop me heading out. And i've hit my old man up to make me a hardwood 'persuader' , he's pretty handy with timber. It'll come in handy if i got to slow down any big fish when they get uppity as well. I was thinking of giving my brother a ring, he always has a couple of spare pellet dispensers lying around for any emergencies.