Thread: big catfish at the hornibrook

big catfish at the hornibrook

Had a bit of fun down the old bridge (well under the road bridge any way) a couple big cat fish . WoW what a fight on light gear...

Re: big catfish at the hornibrook

lol. Catfish they are everywhere around Scarbie reef and Redcliffe as well.

Bloody things.

Went out on the brissi a few weeks back for a day and caught about 5 of the slimey bastards. You can tell when they been near your line cause they leave their slime behind
    Perception Swing Flatty and bream angler
    Landbased Too.
    Subaru Lover

lol
    Not good .Last one i got my mate scooped it up in the net before i could say other wise .And what a mess white slime allover and sh-t is so hard to clean of .DAM

I think that the old catties are everywhere at the moment they have taken over the noosa river as well it must be the fresh that flushed em down the river, I wish that other fish would breed as much as them we would all have a good days fishin then

Great Crab Pot Bait

I know a bloke who fishes in Baffle Creek for Jacks & he says the best bait for Jacks is a big chunk of fresh catfish with a 5/0 hook in it.
    "We gave Howard the Arse now we have to fix Rudd"
    "Now we have to sort Gillard" F@?k me RUDD again
    Abbott and Newman what a great next few years "NOT"

we regularly go there and get heaps of those guys... went on monday night and landed 15 around 60-70cm... theyr great fun!

Bloody vermin, but rue, a very good fight on light gear.

The old man's decided to bite the bullet and see what they go like on the tooth, so the next one I get is going in a SEPARATE esky to the other GOOD fish, crazy old bastard if you ask me. They are only good for 2 things, one being the fight, the second, as said before, crab bait.

You'd think they would taste better than the fresh water models.
    But then again...............

I actually dont really enjoy their fight. They are like dragging a small log up from the sea floor. Tend to make 1 small run at the bottom, and then another run at the top when they see the boat. But i hauled in atleast a 70cm model on 6pound trace without even a thought of it breaking me off
    Perception Swing Flatty and bream angler
    Landbased Too.
    Subaru Lover

Wow I fought a couple in the southern bay the other day and put up a fantastic fight. Just didn't give up. I thought it was a good one till the fight characteristics began to show what it was. But then I I am only using whiting rods for the squire. .

grr grr grr grr grr

cattie's are awesome bream bait!! tough flesh soo it stays on the hook better

also very good from what ive heard anyway shark bait...also do ya find the big catties dont really make any sound when ya pull them up?