Agnes / 1770 M & G 2008. - Page 46
Page 46 of 52 FirstFirst ... 3637383940414243444546474849505152 LastLast

Thread: Agnes / 1770 M & G 2008.

Re: Agnes / 1770 M & G 2008.

more picies

a few more pics

and the last of the publishable ones

Got back today around 1610 today. Good to put some names to faces on the water & at presentation night on Thursday – although some of the guys may not remember too much of the night, especially as the weather was not fit for boating on Friday .

What a memorable trip! Didn’t do that much serious fishing, but had a terrific day at Musgrave on Wednesday with a few nice Red Throat & a Cod on the way home.

Here are some pics of other types of ‘wildlife’ this week (these on the way to/in the Musgrave lagoon, as opposed to those back on land at Agnes shown in previous posts ), including the best Trout for the week.

Brendon

PS. Thanks Phil for spotting my winch handle too mate, I owe you a coldie!

I will post pics that are self explanatory and write some kind words later today. I am still a little fuzzy !!!!!!

Righto

Got home last night around 6.00, Murf shot through shortly after, so time to sit back, relax and have another beer, with the hugs and kisses this time instead of you ugly boofheads, Roz excluded.

Had a great week, not as good as last year, but you get that.

We did wet a line, as well as our tonsils.

No Pic's as I can't be bothered resising them to fit, it's to difficult

Rob T

P.S.
    Timmy, can't remember who I was glaring at, and I'm not covered in bruises so all is good, and I only had a small sip of that fluid Chong calls Rum

To all who attended.

Check to see if you have your 2008 commentorative shirts. I have in my possession, a set. If you are missing yours , let me know and I will get them to you.

There are also some ' leftovers ' at Roz's place. If you are missing clothing etc, give her a call on 0421 086124 and they'll bring them back later next month.

I worked it out

Pic 1.
    Pretending to own a big boat (ReBait)
    Roz with cat Ears, or was it a Possum?
    The Bottlo
    4&5
    Trecking off for some Crabs
    6&7&8
    Same as above
    Chong and Auguitso, notice Chong with his Medicine cup, he just can't leave it alone
    Phill wondering what they're up to behind his truck
    Chong develops a strange itch
    Deckie inspecting a leak

And more photo's

1. Phill Bush Bashing
    2.Intrepid Crabbers
    3.Roz Flicking Lures around
    4&5 Waggs having a flick
    6. The crabbers
    7. Up River (ask Phill which River)
    8. More Crabbers
    9&10. S.O.O., Notice the teeny little QLD Flag in the garden
    11&12. Pancake Creek a beautifull location

Pic 1. Damo (Deiter) in deep conversation with MT

2. The Guy's really missed you MT

3. No Damo's not asleep, he's on the Mobile yet again

A round-up from Fuzy headed Phill.

I will firstly apologize for missing anybody out, but there were about 30 of us there.

TEAM WAVE =.. cheech ( craig ), chong ( matt ), Aigutso ( mike ) and Black_Rat ( Damo ), Timiboy ( Tim ).

TEAM SUNLOVER = .. roz ( Roz ) , thedeckie ( paul ), Wags on the Water ( mike ), peterbo3 ( Peter ), Lucky_Phill ( phill ), Adrian… happy, blaze ( Robbie ), Mark..Mark, Tony (Mr Roz ) and Grub.

TEAM SURE THING =.. Deiter ( Damo ), chicksloveit ( Stuie ), Rob-Tranter ( Rob ), murf ( paul ), Andy….andy.

TEAM BAD EYE =.. Mr Bean ( Darren ), Alan ( son of Mr Bean ), Dave and ?

TEAM RUMBA =.. DALEPRICE ( dale ), Searaider 11 ( Peter ), Terry…Terry, Grant..Grant.

TEAM CARNELPYA =.. NEWBY ( david ), and family.. Josh, Justin and Olivia with Mrs Newby..Melissa.

Other Ausfish members about were, snappa, ( Peter ), Kitty-Cat ( Wayne ), gofishin ( Brendon ). And saw Mowie there as well.

We had 15 members turn up early and all ended up at the tavern for dinner on Friday night. The official start day, Saturday saw the Cook-Off in full swing with just about everyone on the deck at Hotel Sunlover ( or “ The Orphanage” as Roz calls it ) waiting with anticipation of the upcoming delights. The Cook-Off chefs this year were NEWBY ( ribs ), Aigutso ( Chicken Wings ), chong ( Prawns ) and a late entry thedeckie ( meatballs and dim sims ). The voting completed and decision made, close call but Aigutso won the night and duely received his Trophy. There was the now well established “ controversy “ with accusations of bias and soliciting being bandied around by members. Well, I suppose that placing road signs for many kilometers leading into Agnes saying “ Vote 1 for Chong “… and “ Team Wave Rules “… etc may have swayed some voters , but not enough to put chong over the line in the now “ legendary “ Cook_Off. I will say that personally I thought NEWBY’s ribs were great, despite me not getting taste…. L.

The weather this year wasn’t the best but did include a great day Wednesday which saw just about everyone offshore. 6 Boats made it to Lady Musgrave Island for an overnighter with a highlight being the LOUD music coming from CARNELPYA accompanied by the Spoon Playing Chongster… I have the video Matt .. J

Lady Musgrave Island is about 52k’s from 1770 with other islands around the area. The lagoon is well sheltered and access is good. First up in the morning saw ReBait, Drumbeat and C & C Charters heading east looking for those elusive Reds. ReBait ended up in 90 -100 mtrs and finding shows but pickings slim. Rosey Job, Pearlies, Parrot and Moari Cod made up most of the catch with the obligatory Hussar thrown in. The day was a cracker, but having the full moon that night made the current run hard and fish shy. Radio contact was maintained throughout the day with esky fish coming over the side in small numbers.

The flocks of Black Noddies kept us busy with schools of Mac Tuna and Bonita feeding beneath them.

For the first time in my experience, the bar at 1770 was looking like a real bar, with good size sets and breaking water at most times. This was due to a build up of sand out from the 2 leading edges of rock on the southside. The run in tide proved to be a non-issue with the waves causing no issues.

Team ….Crabbers turned out to do a run up to Worthington Creek in search for a muddie or two. The trip was made all the much shorter by the continuing “ are we there yet “ coming over the UHF from murf !!!! The creek showed promise but with a half tide made it difficult to go downstream to ‘ virgin ‘ country to place the pots. The following day our return trip produced 3 undersized muddies and various fish species that were all returned to their homes to grow up. Still worth the trip and put some 4 x 4’s through their paces…. !

From my time at Team Sunlover I found it amazing that many people from so many different backgrounds can come together for week and click. Most likely the common thread of fishing helped us understand each others likes and dislikes. Although at times there were 8 people calling Sunlover their home, there was no kaos or confusion. All pitched in and helped to make the stay very comfortable and friendly. At this point my hat goes off to our wonderful host, Roz, for her endless and huge efforts in providing a very clean and homely environment for us “ Orphans “. The food was absolutely outstanding with most comments going down the restaurant quality track. With 5 star food, 5 star accommodation and 5 star company, who could ask for more ? Just on the food here, every morning thedeckie cooked up a storm with ash eggs, ash bacon, ash snags, ash tomatoes etc….but the evening meals were always going to be iconic with Roz cooking dishes like Roast Lamb, Osso Bucco and deserts like Sticky Toffee Pudding and Trifle. Some nights providing a meal for up to 14 people took some effort, but everyone had their fill and were well satisfied.

The Ausfish Vs PBA Fish-Off presentation night was held on the Thursday night as it appeared the rest of the week was blown out. The PBA guys collected the Perpetual Trophy this year with a well deserved win and great efforts in producing good Reds and other species. Best Red went 12.9kg from Dave Brooks ( PBA ) with snappa ( Peter ) bagging on Reds. His best went 10.6kg. Ausfishers to receive recognition were Alan ( Mr Bean Jnr ) with a 5.44kg Coral Trout, Chongs 4.2kg Parrot, blaze with a brilliant score and belated win the Iodine Section, Deiters.. Moari Cod and Robs, Cobia with murf…. donging a great Nilfish… Terry and Dale troubled the scorer with Red Emporer, Searaider 11 ( Peter ) is the Shark King and Dale has found Mowong Heaven !!!! thedeckie nailed several “ munson punson ****’d if I know what they are fish “. J

With all of the above in mind, 1 week is no where near long enough to appreciate this place and do all there is to do, fishing wise.

To round out with a few stats for those that are interested. The overnight trip out to Lady Musgrave Island saw ReBait ( 6.2 platey / 130 Honda ) cover 216k’s for 155ltrs of fuel averaging 4400rpm. ON a trip I did one up, my usage was 1.41kilometers per litre.

Agnes Water / 1770 is about 500k’s from Brisbane and I go via Bundaberg. Houses are there to rent for holiday makers and fishos, but school holiday seasons apply. A camping ground is at 1770 on the beach but is heavily booked.

Thanks again to Roz for her efforts and sharing her house with us. Thanks to all the fellow Team Sunlover crew for your company. A big thanks to murf for organizing the Commemorative Shirts, job well done. I have already started making plans for next year….

Cheers Phill ( still a little fuzzy , but doing OK )

yep yep

thanks to all involved

thanks to Lucky_Phill I am still a little dopey so I will get back with more tomorrow

cheers Murf (Nilfish)

Ausfish Platinum Member peterbo3's Avatar

Phill has said it all. Great trip. But Chong has talent. He can drink HUGE amounts of Bundy homebrew & still play the spoons. Here he is on Newbys Bertram Battlewagon in Lady Musgrave lagoon. But ya really needed to be there.

Here he goes. Starting to warm up.

Getting into the swing of things. Don't ya love the handles on the legs of the shorts.

At full stretch - bopping along to the "Deliverance" theme coming out of the huge speakers that Newby installed. You can hear those pigs squealing from ten miles away.
    ROLL TIDE, ROLL.................

who cut off cheech's legs ??????

Thanks to Roz for puting up with us. I'm not usually unsocialable, but having migraine headaches it's not the place if you need peace and quiet. Although it is always better than Blackwater.

It was a pleasure meeting new faces and that trip to check the pots will be done again......what a laugh.....an adventure. Hopefully next time I'll be in better spirits.

Looking forward to next year. To any persons wanting to stay at Team Sunlover, make sure Phil doesn't poke you in the eye for snoring.....

Thanks for the good times.