And whats all this weather map reading stuff? can you lot honestly read and understand that sh!t.
Newb's & Chong the crab was honestly the best tucker on the night so stop living in the past and come up with something new and better .
Murf can you organise a tow out to the reef and back so I can take my little boat, I'll supply my own eggs and bacon
Deiter are you and Stu bringing the Golf Clubs
Rob T
G'day all,
Given that we have 9 boats that may end upvernighting with us out at Musgrave I thought I would put down a couple of items that I have picked up over the last 2 attendances.
When heading out through the entrance make sure you plot some concise waypoints or store a route on your GPS, despite best planning no-one can fully rule out having to come back in through the entrance in the dark.
Plan ahead for your anticipated fuel burn, last thing you want to do is get out there on good fish but have to cut it short due to low fuel. With responsible behaviours additional fuel can be safely carried on board in plastic jerry cans and safely syphoned into main tanks in calm waters offered in and around the island.
No matter how good you think your tummy is, keep in mind that without a moon it gets absolutely pitch black out there of a night. Nothing to give your eyes a reference for the horizon means those with srong stomachs also start to feel crook. Don't be put off by this, just recognise it and plan for it. Beautiful calm water awaits you in the lagoon if you are looking to anchor up for the night. Those staying out should carry good stock of seasick tablets and get them into your system early before nightfall if in any doubt.
Entry to the lagoon can be tricky at night, if contemplating coming into the lagoon during the night then I would recommend doing a run in daylight and plotting the way in, make sure you have a good strong torch or spotlight available to light up the marker bouys.
Be aware of the changing conditions around the offshore side of the island during tide changes, not a comfy feeling when we came around there last year in pitch black conditions and felt ourselves surfing down some reasonable size waves we couldn't see.
Know your radio protocols and which channels to use, you are a long way out and it can get lonely without good radio contact with those around the area.
Keep the food simple, last year we cooked up a bit of a feast but the guys that ate the cold cans of ravioli straight out of the can, no spoon (spilling half of it down their shirt) caught the best fish.
8. Above all, enjoy. Sure it is a bit of a trip to get out to Musgrave but it is nothing to fear. We travel as a group and meet up in the lagoon of a night. Next morning we sympathize with those that don't look too good.
- Darren
Hi Darren
A very usefull post, thank's
Question:
Why can't those with weak stomache's, (and I would be one) camp on the Island? is there a problem with that?
So Damo and Stue can't use a spoon? I heard that they were quite adept at spooning
19 nights until we're on our way, isn't that write Murf
Rob T
I CAME INTO THIS WORLD KICKING, SCREAMING AND COVERED IN SOMEONE ELSES BLOOD. I HAVE NO PROBLEM GOING OUT THE SAME WAY.
NEWBY T.G.
Rob,
No problem with anchoring in the calm water in the lagoon, it is like a pond.
We had 3 out of 4 feeling off colour last year (Yeah I know Roz you were fine), all slept well in the lagoon.
- Darren
haha Darren you are right with the queezy sneaking up on you in the dark, as soon as it was dark and the boat deck light was turned on I lost it no I didn't chuck but was very pleased when Darren made the call to go into the lagoon
mate it was a top adventure and I can't wait to be out there again
cheers Murf
Well mate, its like this.
The info cost you avote but I cant tell ya what I am cooking until the seafood store let me know if they are available.
Now the trip to Musgrave in tow behind "Carnelpya" may cost ya a bottle of single barrel. (only $90 mate) but weather dependant and you would need tow insurance etc.
I CAME INTO THIS WORLD KICKING, SCREAMING AND COVERED IN SOMEONE ELSES BLOOD. I HAVE NO PROBLEM GOING OUT THE SAME WAY.
NEWBY T.G.
I think the cook off this year is a no brainer
blaze is (hopefully), if all goes to plan, going to bring up some tassie redbacks
So how many are in the cook-off this year !
Roz's kitchen is going to get a work out
Last edited by Black_Rat; 19-09-2008 at 06:43 PM. Reason: Not enough smilies