Agnes / 1770 M & G 2008. - Page 32
Page 32 of 52 FirstFirst ... 222324252627282930313233343536373839404142 ... LastLast

Thread: Agnes / 1770 M & G 2008.

Re: Agnes / 1770 M & G 2008.

Murf,

if you get a TLD 25 just get a handle upgrade straight up of the bat, its about 30 bucks of the Shimano website and I reckon its the go.. last year Chong put me onto it, the standard handle just gave me the sh!ts, new handle=happier Aigutso

mike
    Tangles KFC

HTML Code:
    so would the 20 be better than the 15
    Mate go the Alvey Snapper reel

Quote Originally Posted by murf View Post
    help

I am in an indecision mode on what new reel to get, sold me hilux so I can skim a little of the side and get a new reel (don't tell the missus but )

I have a 300m spool of 50lb braid I want to put back on but rather than putting it on the TLD 15 again I was thinking of buying a TLD 20 or TLD 25 or do I just get another TLD 15

I have never outclassed the TLD15 yet (bring on 1770) I am not strong enough and neither is my line, so would the 20 be better than the 15 for deeper fishing 100m plus?

life has hard decisions haha

I like how simple and long lasting the TLDs are, IMO they are a top value for money reel
    Mate, spend half the dough and get an AKUMA. I have had one for years in the gold series and it is an absolute rippa. Lifetime warranty and all.
    I CAME INTO THIS WORLD KICKING, SCREAMING AND COVERED IN SOMEONE ELSES BLOOD. I HAVE NO PROBLEM GOING OUT THE SAME WAY.
    NEWBY T.G.

Quote Originally Posted by NEWBY View Post
    Mate, spend half the dough and get an AKUMA. I have had one for years in the gold series and it is an absolute rippa. Lifetime warranty and all.
    would that be like the Okuma Titus T30 for $195? you are refering too, I like the 4.2-1 ratio

Yeah Mike I have read about the handle upgrade and the drag upgrade too I will have to look into the handle straight up

Rob only softies use Alveys especially the ones who have them mounted on the side of thier boats must be a qld thing?

Damo the Shimano Tyrnos (5.1-1 ratio) scares me as I don't look after my reels as good as I should and corosion could be a problem? correct me if I am wrong

thanks for the help in finding a reel to kick the PBA boys buts on those big reds

cheers Murf

Ausfish Platinum Member thedeckie's Avatar

Murf,

Just get a TLD 25 or 30, I don't really look after my gear as well as I should either but have found my TLD 15,20 and 25 to be very robust.

I personally wouldn't touch an Okuma.

PS: Get a good table at the Tavern Friday arvo(10th), be there around 3pm.

Ausfish Platinum Member thedeckie's Avatar

Last edited by Lucky_Phill; 09-09-2008 at 06:02 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by thedeckie View Post
    Murf,

Just get a TLD 25 or 30, I don't really look after my gear as well as I should either but have found my TLD 15,20 and 25 to be very robust.

I personally wouldn't touch an Okuma.

PS: Get a good table at the Tavern Friday arvo(10th), be there around 3pm.
    haha done and done

murf,

I would go the Tyrnos, but, as you eluded to things are not that simple, therefore go the TLD, why ? weight.

Check out that tackle shop just down the road from you for specs.....

phill.

[HTML][Rob only softies use Alveys especially the ones who have them mounted on the side of thier boats must be a qld thing?
    /HTML]

Mate it takes heart to crank an Alvey, as One turn of the handle is what you get, not ratio's .

In saying this i only have an Alvey on my beach rod , on the boat rod's I have a TLD20, brand new(it was on special with a new Shimmano rod for $400, as Phill said, at that lot down the road), a Penn310, an Okuma ez90 egg beater, and an old Diawa egg beater, so get anything you want and what ever meets the budget. Whats with the handle extention, can't you girls HANDLE THE STANDARD HANDLE?

But I do Like the simplicity of the Alveys, and whats this "Must be a Queensland thing" I am insulted if you're calling me a cain toad

Mate only 29 more sleeps by my calculations, beat that Newb's

Rob T

Quote Originally Posted by murf View Post
    would that be like the Okuma Titus T30 for $195? you are refering too, I like the 4.2-1 ratio

Yeah Mike I have read about the handle upgrade and the drag upgrade too I will have to look into the handle straight up

Rob only softies use Alveys especially the ones who have them mounted on the side of thier boats must be a qld thing?

Damo the Shimano Tyrnos (5.1-1 ratio) scares me as I don't look after my reels as good as I should and corosion could be a problem? correct me if I am wrong

thanks for the help in finding a reel to kick the PBA boys buts on those big reds

cheers Murf
    Cant remember if its the 30 or the 50 mate.
    Big bugger. I run 1000 mtrs of 50kg braid on it. 2 speed reel and the best drag system I have ever used. Lifetime warranty.
    I CAME INTO THIS WORLD KICKING, SCREAMING AND COVERED IN SOMEONE ELSES BLOOD. I HAVE NO PROBLEM GOING OUT THE SAME WAY.
    NEWBY T.G.

Quote Originally Posted by rob tranter View Post
    [html][Rob only softies use Alveys especially the ones who have them mounted on the side of thier boats must be a qld thing?
    /HTML]

Mate it takes heart to crank an Alvey, as One turn of the handle is what you get, not ratio's .

In saying this i only have an Alvey on my beach rod , on the boat rod's I have a TLD20, brand new(it was on special with a new Shimmano rod for $400, as Phill said, at that lot down the road), a Penn310, an Okuma ez90 egg beater, and an old Diawa egg beater, so get anything you want and what ever meets the budget. Whats with the handle extention, can't you girls HANDLE THE STANDARD HANDLE?

But I do Like the simplicity of the Alveys, and whats this "Must be a Queensland thing" I am insulted if you're calling me a cain toad

Mate only 29 more sleeps by my calculations, beat that Newb's

Rob T
    Mate mate mate mate mate. 29 was yesterdays news.
    28 today.
    Consider yourself Arsewhipped Rob.
    NEWBY T.G.

Quote Originally Posted by NEWBY View Post
    Cant remember if its the 30 or the 50 mate.
    Big bugger. I run 1000 mtrs of 50kg braid on it. 2 speed reel and the best drag system I have ever used. Lifetime warranty.

haha big toys for big boys

Murf

murf.... here is the way I see it. Just confirming my above comments about reels in question

TLD 20

The TLDs are tough. They feature one-piece graphite/titanium bodies, 4 stainless steel ball bearings, stainless steel gears and main shaft, stainless steel reel foot, ball bearing titanium lever drags and power handles with torpedo knobs. Quality sports fishing reels.
    Line capacity: 600m of 10kg
    Gear ratio: 3.6 to 1
    Weight: 735grams

$199.00

TYRNOS 20

A-RB (Anti-Rust Bearings) these specially treated stainless steel ball bearings are at least 10 times more corrosion resistant than standard stainless steel ball bearings.
    • Reduced Profile Top Crossbar provides excellent line control when dropping back baits or lures when trolling.
    • Oversized gears for increased power
    • Diecast Aluminum frame for strength and durability.
    • Oversized handle shank for increased torque
    • Alternating twin pawl anti-reverse design for reliability and hooksetting power.
    • Graphite sideplates with aluminum braces reduce weight while maintaining strength.
    • Ergonomic Rubber Power Grip.
    • Loud clicker has enough tension to hold large baits.
    • Ratcheting drag lever eliminates lever movement due to boat vibration
    • Metal Series metal frames keep moving parts in precise alignment for increased efficiency and durability
    Line Capacity: 600m 10kg
    Gear Ratio: 5 to 1.
    Weight: 1055grams

$299.00

Big differences are

Retrieval ratio TLD 3.6 to 1
    ………………Tyrnos 5 to 1

Weight…….. 300gms heavier for the Tyrnos.

hanging onto extra 300gms all day can be...... tiresome. Bloody nice reel though. I just bought one and married it to a 15-24kg fast taper GUSA 6'6" custom made rod. Running 80lb McCoy braid with 80lb Jinkai leader.

I would go with the extension handle, should you go with the TLD.

Cheers phill
    Last edited by Lucky_Phill; 10-09-2008 at 07:48 PM.

Just checked prices....

Tyrnos 239 from down the road and 169 for the TLD

let's not forget these reels are NOT level wind.... non-level wind are my preference anyway.

Phil,
    Im sold and i dont even want one
    Tangles KFC