Agnes / 1770 M & G 2008. - Page 11
Page 11 of 52 FirstFirst ... 23456789101112131415161718192021 ... LastLast

Thread: Agnes / 1770 M & G 2008.

Ausfish Platinum Member thedeckie's Avatar

Re: Agnes / 1770 M & G 2008.

Blaze,
    You will remember the spot, we came out of the scrub and turned right where we came across those fellas that had just come back from Pancacke, then we went back to that creek where the bridge was then headed out to the Turkey Beach Rd, so it would only mean hitting the dirt just south of Turkey and heading down to that ramp the other side of that wooden bridge, although we could take the long way........must admit, it was an adventure

The way you describe it makes it sound as clear as "MUD"

This show just keeps getting better and better, fishing, drinking, 4wd adventuring, drinking, drinking, and all that other stuff.

Rob T

Ausfish Platinum Member Mr__Bean's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Noelm View Post
    hhmm this looks like something that one should attend!!

Noel (and others),

Whilst there is much banter here on the website and also on the traditional first night get together, there is also the serious fishing side to this Meet and Greet.

Some members have expressed concern previously that it is a long way to go for a piss up, well it isn't that far to go to get onto some magnificent fishing grounds I can tell you....

Sure there are the nights when we get around a table and have a few ales and tell a few tales etc, but not if the weather is good. If the weather is good then we are spread anywhere from deep inside some of the inlets to far offshore staying out overnight in the protection of the reef lagoons.

It offers a great variety of fishing options for all size boats, it also offers a great deal of knowledge that is passed between the members.

- Darren

Quote Originally Posted by Mr__Bean View Post
    Noel (and others),

Whilst there is much banter here on the website and also on the traditional first night get together, there is also the serious fishing side to this Meet and Greet.

Some members have expressed concern previously that it is a long way to go for a piss up, well it isn't that far to go to get onto some magnificent fishing grounds I can tell you....

Sure there are the nights when we get around a table and have a few ales and tell a few tales etc, but not if the weather is good. If the weather is good then we are spread anywhere from deep inside some of the inlets to far offshore staying out overnight in the protection of the reef lagoons.

It offers a great variety of fishing options for all size boats, it also offers a great deal of knowledge that is passed between the members.

- Darren
    well spoken Darren

maybe a couple of big reds with your and your sons name on them this year

Cheers Murf

Fishing is always 1st with Cheech and Chong Charters everything else is just for enhancement and quality chit chat if the weather does go bad.

Ok then to be on the serious side, last year went like this.

Murf and myself left Grafton at some God awefull hour and arrived in Agnes around Two or Three in the afternoon, a nice comfortable 9 &1/2 hour trip.

We met up with Roz , and not long after, (could have been the next morning) we had my boat in the water, setting Crab Pots and having Roz show us around the Estuary, while throwing in the odd Cast net Lesson.

Saturday and Murf and I shoot through for a look outside and a few hours fishing, the wind come up so back in we went. Check the pots, back to Roz's to find Phil and Paul, although Phil could have returned to Brissy by then.
    Saturday night everyone turns up at Roz's for the M&G and Cook off.

Sunday
    were up early and away, again the wind gets up so we're back by Lunch.
    Monday
    Murf and I are off again, same as Sunday
    Tuesday
    Murf ditches me for Mr Beans boat as it can go a lot further than mine, and they head out wide.
    I've got MT with me, the day is purfect except for MT's burly , but we stay out for most of the day.
    Wednesday I'm out on my own in near perfect conditions and I have a ball
    Thursday the winds up so Deiter, Chicksloveit and Myself go for a game of Golf ,(that won't happen again)
    Friday
    Were out but not for to long as the wind returns
    Saturday go fishing again
    Sunday go Home
    We did have the odd drink in between, but as you can see, for me I only had One Day I did not wet the boat. Roz even took me on a 4wd adventure down towards some beach and creek (can't tell you where as they are supposed to be secret spots )

I am hoping to do even better this time around.

So as the others are saying, don't let the crap (drinking etc) we're talking about put you off.

Turn up You will have a BALL

Hey Murf
    Are we going up a couple of days early again, I've only booked Sundance from Saturday.

Rob T

Quote Originally Posted by rob tranter View Post

Hey Murf
    Are we going up a couple of days early again, I've only booked Sundance from Saturday.

Rob T
    sounds good to me have swag will find somewhere to crash

cheers Murf

Ausfish Platinum Member thedeckie's Avatar

Ok then to be on the serious side, last year went like this.

Murf and myself left Grafton at some God awefull hour and arrived in Agnes around Two or Three in the afternoon, a nice comfortable 9 &1/2 hour trip.

We met up with Roz , and not long after, (could have been the next morning) we had my boat in the water, setting Crab Pots and having Roz show us around the Estuary, while throwing in the odd Cast net Lesson.

Saturday and Murf and I shoot through for a look outside and a few hours fishing, the wind come up so back in we went. Check the pots, back to Roz's to find Phil and Paul, although Phil could have returned to Brissy by then.
    Saturday night everyone turns up at Roz's for the M&G and Cook off.

Sunday
    were up early and away, again the wind gets up so we're back by Lunch.
    Monday
    Murf and I are off again, same as Sunday
    Tuesday
    Murf ditches me for Mr Beans boat as it can go a lot further than mine, and they head out wide.
    I've got MT with me, the day is purfect except for MT's burly , but we stay out for most of the day.
    Wednesday I'm out on my own in near perfect conditions and I have a ball
    Thursday the winds up so Deiter, Chicksloveit and Myself go for a game of Golf ,(that won't happen again)
    Friday
    Were out but not for to long as the wind returns
    Saturday go fishing again
    Sunday go Home
    We did have the odd drink in between, but as you can see, for me I only had One Day I did not wet the boat. Roz even took me on a 4wd adventure down towards some beach and creek (can't tell you where as they are supposed to be secret spots )

I am hoping to do even better this time around.

So as the others are saying, don't let the crap (drinking etc) we're talking about put you off.

Turn up You will have a BALL

Hey Murf

Rob T
    Yes Rob, myself and a couple of other Sunlover boarders also know of Roz's secret fishing spots, although between 6 of us all armed with instructions, we still couldn't find those secret spots ......Sorry Roz!!!!!!

I will also be taking a different approach this year, if the weather is good and Im not off shore, I will definately be trolling the headland for Spanish at some stage, had a ball there last year with Blaze and his 9kg specimen, bugger all distsnce to travel and hardly use any fuel at all, and for those thinking of going up but dont have big boats these spanish can be caught from a tinnie or the rocks for that metter.

Thanks the lord this thread has gone back to fishing and the concentration on my genitalia has subsided.
    Deckie, buzz me ya new phone number. I need someone to torment when I am floating around the Whitsundays. Roz and Phil are not enough.
    I CAME INTO THIS WORLD KICKING, SCREAMING AND COVERED IN SOMEONE ELSES BLOOD. I HAVE NO PROBLEM GOING OUT THE SAME WAY.
    NEWBY T.G.

HTML Code:
    Yes Rob, myself and a couple of other Sunlover boarders also know of Roz's secret fishing spots, although between 6 of us all armed with instructions, we still couldn't find those secret spots:-X ......Sorry Roz!!!!!!;D ;D 

I will also be taking a different approach this year, if the weather is good and Im not off shore, I will definately be trolling the headland for Spanish at some stage, had a ball there last year with Blaze and his 9kg specimen, bugger all distsnce to travel and hardly use any fuel at all, and for those thinking of going up but dont have big boats these spanish can be caught from a tinnie or the rocks for that metter. 
    Hi Paul

Mate you have to love those secret spot's

I forgot to mention that in between all of this fishing caper, we were invited to Roz's to clean up the scraps (left Overs that would be a main at anyone elses) and to Owen and Sandies for a four corser , and we also attended a 21st at the Agnes Water Tavern (we'll leave that one alone) . Yes we consumed a few Stubbies on the Deck at Lazy J's.

Fair dinkum it all happens at Agnes, Murf the "COUGAR" had to talk a bloke out of committing hari kari , Deiter Danced up a Storm, Paul the Deckie showed us why he hates Golf as he played a Night Game , and Lucky-Phil, showed off his Bushman Skills and went for a walk Cross Country .

Any one that does not turn up for this because of talk of a drink or two needs to have their head read.

Owen pulled in two great 20 odd kg Cobes from just inside the Headland.
    And Blaze landed, as Paul has said, a nice Spanish in the same area, these were caught from boats that were around the 4 to 4.3 metre mark.

Agnes is the greatest spot. As I said before Ignore the Hype and book yourself in, you will not regret it.

Oh Yeh
    What Happens on Tour Stay's on Tour, unless I'm There

Rob T

Hey Phil, or is it Organising Committee?

If we're going to have Shirts again, can we have a different colour to Black, while they look great, they just attract the heat a little.

Now if it was up to me, I'd have SKY BLUE (GO THE BLUE"S)

But I would be prepared to wear (Waite for it)

RED or is it Maroon?

Anyway, just a thought

I'll have an XL to cover my huge Upper Torso

Rob T

Hey Phil, or is it Organising Committee?

If we're going to have Shirts again, can we have a different colour to Black, while they look great, they just attract the heat a little.

Now if it was up to me, I'd have SKY BLUE (GO THE BLUE"S)

But I would be prepared to wear (Waite for it)

RED or is it Maroon?

Anyway, just a thought

I'll have an XL to cover my huge Upper Torso

Rob T
    Na- they gotta be black Rob other wise my set wont match
    ps
    need all the heat I can get when I get there to help me thaw out from the tassie winter

News update.

It appears that the bridge over Worthington Creek has been ' taken out ' by the recent heavy rains. Worse still, the locals say the bridge will NOT be replaced.

This is only a concern for the tinnie brigade that want to do the Middle to Pancake voyage.

Worthington is apparently tidal and at times is impassable due to the high water. Which is a bummer as we need a high tide to launch the tinnies at the ' crossing ".

There is an option of launching at Middle Creek camp ground and doing a long run OR we can trek up the NP road and still get to the crossing. This inland route is a 4 x 4 road only, sorry, but I believe that all that have a tinnie for the trip also use a 4By as a tow vehicle.

Anyway, just thought I would enlighten you all.

cheers Phill

has anyone got any maps of the routes they could post?

mike
    Tangles KFC

routes to where ?