Next Boat Rally - 10th Feb
Page 1 of 9 123456789 LastLast

Thread: Next Boat Rally - 10th Feb

Exclamation Next Boat Rally - 10th Feb

Right-o.

So far we have 10th Feb 2008 on the river. High tide is around 11-30am so if we are moored/anchored up for the run in we get the til the top of the tide for a while then calm running waters.

Looking to have the boats on water and the speakers on land at Newstead house which is the corner Breakfast creek and the River. Boat ramps at Comslie, Pinkenba, Breakfast Creek, Whyte Island etc can be used to disperse the load on the ramps.

Thinking of having a rubbish/urban run-off drive so the idea is to collect crap outta the river and the Bay before the event and bring it with you to dump off at the speakers point. If you think this is a good idea let us know - but we thought if we can show how much crap the EPA is missing it will help show the public what is the real issue is. Yes/No ??

After the speeches we head up to Southbank, do 5kts up and up to the William Jolly Bridge turnaround and head back - thinking in formation of 5 boats across times how ever many boats we have.

Poster design and flyers design to come. If you have ideas, shoot em in now.

Last edited by Chris Ryan; 10-01-2008 at 03:36 PM. Reason: change in date

Re: Next Boat Rally - 9th Feb

Hi Chris,

overall sounds great. Just a couple of points. Firstly, we cannot dump rubbish that we collect on the land, unless we put it in bins. Otherwise we would be done for littering.

Might be better to be anchored up at that location when the tide is running to keep everyone pointed the same way and avoid boats hitting each other (there will be ALOT of boats). The river is only around 10m deep off Newstead House so there shouldn't be any dramas holding bottom in the run.

I reckon we all anchor up across river and make all the city cats and other boats slow down to 6 knots to pass us. I am not aware of any restrictions to anchoring anywhere in the river (except self preservation).

A convoy up to Southbank is a great idea.

"The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
    (Quotation from the rules of the Tuna Club Avalon, Santa Catalina, U.S.A.)

Apathy is the enemy

Exclamation Re: Next Boat Rally - 9th Feb

I think that we also being a "protest " group on the day that we probably can expect a little intervention from the authorities so probably a good idea that we insure that:

Boat registration and licenses are intact.
    Safety gear requirements are met.
    Flares are current and in date
    Lifejackets are of the correct type
    Alcohol consumption to be limited so that we are under .05

It would be a shame to have so much organisation go into this event then for us to be portrayed by the media as a drunken lawless mob of fisherman.
    We have to be as professional as we can to have the most desirable impact.
    Last edited by BrewGuru; 10-01-2008 at 08:57 AM.
    Barker Transport Logistic Services
    Transport Solutions for Every Job

For a fantastic adventure: www.mvwaiben.com

http://s269.photobucket.com/albums/jj63/Waiben/

Hi Jeremy,

I was looking to get a Council garbo truck at the Park for us to use to dump the rubbish, or get a 3m skip bin there. I have a picture in my head with a headline saying something like "Green Zones don't stop pollution" and a picture of a sh!tload of rubbish being collected by fisho's. Its a strong image.

I like the idea of anchor in the run so maybe we make it a little earlier.

Brewguru has also hit the nail on the head - MUST have all of his points valid and up to date. I would advise NO alcohol drinking before or during the rally.

I can help with a six metre skip, delivery,removal and disposal, If thats what we want to do. Free of Charge I have the bins and a crane truck, we would have to check access to the site.

Re: Next Boat Rally - 10th Feb

TO MAKE IT EASIER AFTER SOME DISCUSSIONS WE WILL DO THE SUNDAY 10TH FEB so ignore the below.

Quick Question - the 9th is the Saturday, would we be better for the Sunday? I have had a few comments saying it would be better and I am happy to make it the Sunday if it is more suitable for more people.

Last edited by Chris Ryan; 10-01-2008 at 03:38 PM. Reason: made it the 10th

Hey Brewguru - that will be great if you can. I am doing a reccy on the site next week and will let you know the suitability for this. I also will need to get some feedback from the group on if they think this is a good idea before I commit you to anything.

No problems Saturday or Sunday with me.
    Supplying the bin, transport and disposal I can do no problem.

The only real issue I see, is the media and mr joe public, are they gunna get the connection of collecting rubbish and the proposed green zone of the "Moreton Bay"?

If you want a hand with looking at access I am availble just pm me and I'll give you my mobile

Ed

I think colmslie is a good spot to start from.

The ' officials ' will be contacted to make sure the event runs smooth.

Boat launching can be from Colmslie, Pinkenba, Whyte Island, Breakfast Creek, end of Aquarium Drive or Nudgee, or really anywhere , but make sure you arrive at the " muster " area on time.

An information pack ( downloadable leaflet ) will be made available soon.

It will contain all relevant info in relation to :-

muster area,
    times
    speakers
    banners and posters
    Rubbish collection criteria
    tide times
    VHF channel
    After rally events ( if one is to be made )
    Do's and Don'ts

stay tuned.

Either day is fine by me but I have a preference to Saturday. Will keep an eye out for more details so I can do my bit for the cause.

I don't think there is access to get a skip onto the Point at Newstead House, but across the other side of Brekky Ck (opposite the BP servo) you might get access, but then that spot is difficult for boats to get at from the water. I agree that Colmslie would be alot easier for the rubbish collection part - maybe do this on the way back to the ramp after the tour up river?

I agree, it will make a good message re fishing vs pollution

One thing that amazes me as to why it isn't taken into the equation of sustainability in the Bay is the weather itself. The Bay is not fishable 24/7 365 days a year. Mother Nature has her own way of keeping fishing levels down to help replenish fish stocks. It's called WIND and to a lesser degree rain. Some of the really keen anglers like myself will get wet to catch a feed but I am sure we're a minority group however that 25-35 knot wind will keep most of us away and it seems that those conditions frequent the weekends which rules me out to have a fish in the Bay a lot of the times. I might get out there 4-5 times in the year if I am lucky. Just another point to bring across. Sorry if I am rambling on.

its a good point roo, keith hall made mention of it last time, and has a list of statistics to back it up.
    at the rally at clontarf last year, we had mr hall as speaker, and the lady from morgans? or the seafood assosiations support. are they still backing us?

Was sitting here thinking once again as one does when the wind is too strong to hit the bay and I had an idea. How would it be if we could come up with some sort of sponsorship for the next rally and then to stick it fair up the greenies we donate all proceeds back to environmental research for the bay or better still give it to the greens? What sort of publicity would the "fishos" get out of that?