Thread: brisbane info???

brisbane info???

hi guys,arrived new years eve from the uk and im looking for some advice on fishing around the brisbane area and any clubs that it might be worth joining?im into any type of fishing beach,boat,river.any help would be great

Re: brisbane info???

Mate, I'm an ex pom from Blackpool that has been here for 12 yrs. I'm on the north side, where are you?

OK!..................I remember now.................you're a Taffy ain't you? Well bugger that I ain't telling you nuffink

seriously, just pm me and we'll sort something out

Last edited by kingtin; 09-01-2008 at 05:57 PM.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

Another bleeding whinging pommy!
    Seriously, welcome to Australia and Ausfish. Who needs fishing clubs when we have such a close knit family of fishermen and women right here who are more than happy to help one another??? Get to know a few people on here and you will be getting to know how to fish around Brissy pretty quickly I think. Kingtin is a great start. All the best,

Last edited by Poodroo; 09-01-2008 at 07:58 PM.

thanks guys,kingtin you cheeky it!ha ha ha.im on the west side of brissie,pullenvale.the container gets here the end of feb with all my gear and furniture!but having withdrawel symptoms as my fishing gear has been in storage since the end of november!when it gets here i would be really gratfull if you could show me some marks mate!!!

If you do a search for "threadfin" on this site you should get some info on where to chase these speedy fish in the Brisbane River in the western suburbs. I assume you will be land-based? This species or a closely related one is called "king salmon" in central QLD - though it isn't related to the true salmons.

Best of luck,

Quote Originally Posted by salmonking View Post
    thanks guys,kingtin you cheeky it!ha ha ha.im on the west side of brissie,pullenvale.the container gets here the end of feb with all my gear and furniture!but having withdrawel symptoms as my fishing gear has been in storage since the end of november!when it gets here i would be really gratfull if you could show me some marks mate!!!
    No worries mate. PM me when you are ready.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

have a look at Brisbane Sportfishing Club www.brisbanesportfishingclub.com.au Download the latest newsletter for free. Few of us have been catching some threadies recently on light gear. Heaps of fun.

There is alot more available in fishing clubs than people will ever get on the internet. Just that most keyboard junkies never find out.

"The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
    (Quotation from the rules of the Tuna Club Avalon, Santa Catalina, U.S.A.)

Apathy is the enemy

Whats up your dinger lately JEREMY!
    Did someone put Deep Heat in your Rectinol?
    I'm sure Poodroo was just welcoming Salmonking to Ausfish, and explaining that this site is a wealth of knowledge from like minded people, given freely in a friendly and honest manner.His comment on fishing clubs should have been taken in the manner in which it was intended IN FUN!
    And to finish off we're not keyboard junkies were recreational fishos just like you.

Anyway WELCOME TO OZ SALMONKING glad to have you here, look up recent threads by Lizard Wizard. He seems to be doing ok down there at the moment.
    Last edited by rocksberg6; 11-01-2008 at 11:22 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by rocksberg6 View Post
    I'm sure Poodroo was just welcoming Salmonking to Ausfish, and explaining that this site is a wealth of knowledge from like minded people, given freely in a friendly and honest manner.His comment on fishing clubs should have been taken in the manner in which it was intended IN FUN!
    And to finish off we're not keyboard junkies were recreational fishos just like you.

Anyway WELCOME TO OZ SALMONKING glad to have you here, look up recent threads by Lizard Wizard. He seems to be doing ok down there at the moment.
    LOL! Thought that might happen. That comment was not intended to be derogatory in any way. I am a keyboard junkie too.

Rocksberg6, are you Poo's boyfriend or something? Maybe it is you who has had something up the bum recently eh!

BTW, apologies to Poodroo if 'keyobard junkie' caused any offfence. Also no offence mean to Poodroo by what is written above.
    Last edited by Jeremy; 13-01-2008 at 07:50 AM. Reason: Rocks in my head LOL
    "The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
    (Quotation from the rules of the Tuna Club Avalon, Santa Catalina, U.S.A.)

Apathy is the enemy

Quote Originally Posted by Jeremy View Post
    LOL! Thought that might happen. That comment was not intended to be derogatory in any way. I am a keyboard junkie too.

Rocksberg6, are you Poo's boyfriend or something? Maybe it is you who has had something up the bum recently eh!

BTW, apologies to Poodroo if 'keyobard junkie' caused any offfence. Also no offence mean to Poodroo by what is written above.
    First of all no offense taken. Secondly I am very much a happily MARRIED man and very straight so there are no boyfriends including Rocksberg although he seems like a nice bloke. Yes I am a keyboard junkie too however that is only during the times where family commitments and weather are keeping me from getting the boat out on the water. BTW Jeremy I wasn't bagging clubs in any way, but I was just giving a warm welcome and just big noting Ausfish because let's face it, there are some very very experienced fishermen and women who are part of this site like Webby, Foggy, Nugget, just to name a few.

LOL..classic.

nothing wrong with fishing clubs..started out in one in 1968..not my scene these days though but good luck to all the clubs..there are some very old ones around..Blue Fins..Mt Gravatt etc etc...they are good for those that want to compete in club competitions.

I nearly choked on my coffee & toast reading that.........too funny!

Salmonking mate no need to pine for your gear.......... get down the shops and grab yourself a big hand line & some big hooks & get ya self down the river and have a go for a shark or somethin'.

Krikey moggil is just down the road from you.

Cant have you whithering away from lack of fishing when there is action so close & handy.

Jeez Jeremy! You really have lost the chain off your menstaural cycle!!!

If you have to make this a personal attack... PM me!
    Sorry Salmonking did'nt mean to highjack ya thread!

I think everybody knows what i was on about and no i'm not gay (Not that theres anything wrong with that)

Have a couple of coldies and lighten up big fella.
    Last edited by rocksberg6; 13-01-2008 at 07:17 PM.

try jindalee pontoon, right next to the freeway, behind the skatepark, you are bound to get something to put up a good fight there