Thread: 1770

Question 1770

Hey guys i want to do a weeks fishing in april and im thinking of 1770. Does this area have estuary fishing as the wife is coming, ( doesnt like offshore too much unless it is smooth) and close offshore reef fishing.Is Bustard Bay quite smooth water? Any other suggestions of areas would be a great help. I have a 5M formosa with 75 Honda.
    This is my first post so i am a bit nervous

Any replies would be a great help as i haven"t been up around that area'

Cheers Tony (screaming)

Re: 1770

Tony, we were up their a few months ago and spent one day in the estuary and the rest at the close offshore reefs. The estuary is very shallow and we could hardly raise a scale. There probably are locations in that estuary that fish well, but would need a local to pass on the secrets. The close in reef spots are ok. But if you want good estuary fishing, it would not be my first choice.

By the way, this should have been put in either the going fishing section, or the salt water section. It is not a report.

Drop in and see old Agnes jack at the tackle shop.

Yeah what Mike said go and see Agnes jack there is some hot estuary fishing

I am not an Angler I am an Athlete of the sea.............<><

I was up there a few years ago mate i didnt have much luck in the estuary bet there is some good fishin to be had off the headland and rocks at times

Gday Tony,

There's alot of quality fish in the creeks up there. The Baffle fishes well as does Eurimblah and Middle creeks. Tony and Sandy (Agnes bait & tackle) could tell you what's biting in the areas, but if you ask for secret spots it might fall on deaf ears. The guys at Tackle world in Bundy could also give you a heads up of what you can expect in the esky.

The other option is research. Do a search for 1770 in the offshore reports, then pm the guys/gals, (for you roz), for a little local knowledge.

One more thing - don't be nervous! It's only black & white lettering.

We are heading up for the second last week in april for six days. A mate and his family camp up there for couple of weeks each year and from the photos i've seen the fishing offshore is obviously good. This will be our first time up there and we can't wait, weather permitting. We,ve got a Haines 470 breeze/70 yamy, might see you up there.

Cheers Wal

Thanks Wal hope to get up there also. Do you know if the estuary fishing is ok for a bigger tinnie.

Cheers tony

Heres a few pics that may help, the first is looking out from the camp grounds and the second is looking up the creek from the boat ramp ...foxy