Thread: 23lb or 10.46kg whats sounds better??

Thumbs up 23lb or 10.46kg whats sounds better??

took the first window of opportunity off the beach after all the crap weather on the mid north coast lately,& with the new moon happening i was quietly confident of getting a feed.the young fella sam wasnt all that keen would have rathered got towed about on the ski tube in the river as 14yr old do i suppose.got through a nasty few waves getting off the beach and then out to the lucky spot which we call chook after the success with the chickens,conditions wernt exactlly pleasent getting there but luckily its only 3-4ks off the beach;drift wasnt too bad with e/se breeze about 10knots,got a few solid fish around 4 kgs on the first couple of drifts and a trag and little samson fish all on a blue neon peppers in the seven ",the young fella was on his first trip on the plastics and he'd got one around 3kgs which had the drag singing a little tune which brought a smile to his face,after loosing his plastic to last fish he wanted a nuc chook on so over it goes on a 1/2 oz jig head, not a few minutes later the snapper stix is arked up big time,after 5 min ,arms were hurtin etc etc wasnt getting much line back but wasnt loosing that much either,with butt of the rod under his arm & rod turned sideways fish was slowly heading in right direction,another 5 minutes and the first shine down deep and then couple more into the net,cracker of a fish and first time out fishing with plastics!!!!!we ended up with some solid fish but the young fella,s made the rest look like poddy mullet! he might want to go fishing a bit more now sorry for the long winded report, will get foggy to post pics soon cheers gillogs sam wasnt sure sounded better 23lb or 10.46 kgs? either would have done me!!!

Re: 23lb or 10.46kg whats sounds better??

I take it that is a snapper? Top effort and the young fella will havve something to brag about for a long time

"The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
    (Quotation from the rules of the Tuna Club Avalon, Santa Catalina, U.S.A.)

Apathy is the enemy

Nice one Andy. Will have to get down there soon for a fish. The weather up here has been attrocious. Heres the pics

Foggy

Nice fish well done you'll never hear the end of that story!!

I guess what sounds better will depend on your age, to a young gun, pounds mean jack!! and to an old salt, Kilos will need to be converted to get the size, so I guess unless you are somewhere in between and can acept both measurements, you will need to have both weights to tell different age groups!

lb's or kg's, either way that is a bloody good fish.

Very solid snap for the little fella. Nice work.

Go Kg's, his school mates will know what he's bragging about.
    Great fish for a young pup

Who cares???
    Just show the photo mate. Excellent catch, well done!

That second photo is a ripper, look how thick it is through the guts!!!

Cheers Jeff.
    Last edited by ffejsmada; 08-01-2008 at 05:52 PM.

Nice fat fish those been eating in fine pastures

Great fish Sam. Some people spend years trying to catch them that size. Excellent first effort on plastics.

Cheers Scott.

Call it anything you like its a great fish.
    greg
    IS THAT A ROD IN MY POCKET OR AM I JUST HAPPY TO BE FISHING

Great fish sam, its always us young ones that show the old fellas up , and tell your mates pounds it sound bigger .

cheers tassie JR
    Last edited by Tassie JR; 08-01-2008 at 08:47 PM.

Sam thats one solid snap mate congrats

go with lbs most people have a good mental picture of a 20 pounder

what jig head was used i saw 1/2oz what hook size? brand?

Cheers Shin

Top effort there fella show the old blokes how to do it! Chooks have been lethal up here on the Sunny coast too! Cheers Shawn

Great fishing Sam its a shame Phil had to many lines in the water to concentrate on just one hey!!!!