Lumpy Bay Yeilds little-But still a feed!

Thread: Lumpy Bay Yeilds little-But still a feed!

Lumpy Bay Yeilds little-But still a feed!

Hello everyone,
    With a close eye on the weather and Seabreeze predictions it was decided that today would be the day that I took the new boat for a spin (Still hadn't had a decent run since taking delivery the Friday before Christmas).
    One of my kids (daughter) wanted to go for a run in the new boat so it was up nice and early to be on the water at Manly by 5:30am. Hardly a cloud in the sky anywhere and it looked to be the perfect day all things considering. Scalem agreed to meet up with us at the ramp to go in tandem and everything was going like clockwork however once outside of the leads we saw whitecaps and things started getting bumpy. It was quite rough but manageable but after several drifts around Mud Island my young deckie took on that noticeable and familiar shade of pale groaning those words every skipper dreads...."Dad, I don't feel so good!" After using the bucket she looked at me and insisted that we keep on fishing because she didn't want to spoil the fun. What a trooper she is at age 9. We did a couple of more drifts which yielded a 36cm squire and a couple of smaller models all released but Scalem had better success in his boat bringing on board a 55cm Cod. It was decided to leave Mud to try find where the fish were hiding and preferably get out of the swell that was making my daughter sick.
    Off we went trailing behind Scalem in his boat to St.Helena and things initially looked pretty grim until Scalem stumbled onto a patch of fish mostly undersized but fun none the less. After calling me over to where he was I cast in a 4 inch Nuclear Chicken Gulp and it was smashed hard. By the way it fought I called it to be a bigger fish than it was however once in the boat it was still a good table fish at 44cms. Both Scalem and I managed a bit of a feed which I guess is better than nothing.
    Out there I spotted fellow Ausfishers Blue Fin59 and Horse who followed us back home. Good to see you out there guys. Anyway, that's pretty much it for the day. We called it quits when we saw the storm forming up and it was a very quick trip back to the ramp. No sooner had we left and down she came. Nothing better than natures own freshwater bath for the boat and trailer I reckon.
    I know you all have seen a 44cm squire before but here is a photo anyway which my daughter was well enough to take.

Last edited by Poodroo; 06-01-2008 at 09:02 PM.

Re: Lumpy Bay Yeilds little-But still a feed!

Great report mate. What a trooper for a 9yo, thumbs up from me

Good to hear that some got out and well done to your daughter for being so brave and selfless !
    Cheers TT

Top job Drew

not a PD but thye tast great anyway!! Give the young Decky the thumbs up for me as well...nothing worse than sea sickness...she sounds like a trooper.

Good to see you are getting out wider and wider....how about a trip into the paddock to chase some of those speed machines.

BilgeBoy

Quote Originally Posted by beefaman View Post
    Great report mate. What a trooper for a 9yo, thumbs up from me
    Thanks beefa. I have to say I was amazed that she stuck it through for the whole day regardless. Once we moved to St.Helena she started to come good. Not once did I hear a "I wanna go home daddy!" I know I would have wanted to get off the water if it made me sick.
    Quote Originally Posted by Tailortaker View Post
    Good to hear that some got out and well done to your daughter for being so brave and selfless !
    Cheers TT
    Well what more can I say? She has had some great parenting. Lol Seriously she is a trooper. Thanks TT.
    Quote Originally Posted by BilgeBoy View Post
    Top job Drew

not a PD but thye tast great anyway!! Give the young Decky the thumbs up for me as well...nothing worse than sea sickness...she sounds like a trooper.

Good to see you are getting out wider and wider....how about a trip into the paddock to chase some of those speed machines.

BilgeBoy
    Mate as soon as she wakes up (She must have been buggered as this is the biggest sleep she has had in a while) I will give her the thumbs up for you. Yes I will be on the hunt for some speedsters too. You've been a little quiet on here of late BilgeBoy. What are you up to? Less work and more fishing I reckon.

Last edited by Poodroo; 07-01-2008 at 05:59 AM.

Good day out on the bay huh? Glad we headed to the Pin as it was pretty glassy early on but the breeze got up a bit earlier that i expected.

What a top lass! I bet there'll be a few young AF'ers lining up for her hand in marriage once she's old enough... Can she fillet and skin fish too? LOL!!!

Take Care T
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

Ausfish Platinum Member Leighton's Avatar

Nice report mate, my fiance gets sea sick too. Pretty ordinary feeling she tells me, she takes dried fruit and nuts out. Chews on them constantly and that seems to help with sea sickness. Herd that you shoud just keep your stomach working

I'm pretty sure I saw you west side of mud at about 6ish following an orange runabout. Good to see you caught something by all reports it was a pretty slow day out there.

Cheers Chris

hi all,

i was there as well. anchored up in the 4.8 c/c fisher in middle of everyone else on east side. pretty lumpy but still managed a feed of legal sweeties and a nice taylor. lost a couple of bigger ones that took us strait to bottom and bust offs. kept on draging the anchor though wich did not help. went for look for mackies on way back to manly but no signes yet. they are real late this year. cant wait as freezer is empty.

SNAFU.

Quote Originally Posted by T1 View Post
    Good day out on the bay huh? Glad we headed to the Pin as it was pretty glassy early on but the breeze got up a bit earlier that i expected.

What a top lass! I bet there'll be a few young AF'ers lining up for her hand in marriage once she's old enough... Can she fillet and skin fish too? LOL!!!

Take Care T
    Yeah it was a tad bumpy. My daughter really did have a bad day out but she still managed a smile and said she had fun. Forgot to mention that she topped her day off nicely by jumping out of the boat back at the ramp only to find some oysters with her bare feet. You guessed it, it is now infected. She can't fillet fish but working on it. Not sure if any Ausfishers will be interested in her as she grows up though, she is blonde, long legs, blue eyes, good looking so really she has nothing going for her. Lol
    Quote Originally Posted by Captain Stabin View Post
    Nice report mate, my fiance gets sea sick too. Pretty ordinary feeling she tells me, she takes dried fruit and nuts out. Chews on them constantly and that seems to help with sea sickness. Herd that you shoud just keep your stomach working
    Thanks for the tip C S. Might get her to try that next time if it is rough out there.
    Quote Originally Posted by bayfisher View Post
    I'm pretty sure I saw you west side of mud at about 6ish following an orange runabout. Good to see you caught something by all reports it was a pretty slow day out there.

Cheers Chris
    Yeah that would have been us Chris. We would have been heading to St.Helena.
    Quote Originally Posted by SNAFU View Post
    hi all,

i was there as well. anchored up in the 4.8 c/c fisher in middle of everyone else on east side. pretty lumpy but still managed a feed of legal sweeties and a nice taylor. lost a couple of bigger ones that took us strait to bottom and bust offs. kept on draging the anchor though wich did not help. went for look for mackies on way back to manly but no signes yet. they are real late this year. cant wait as freezer is empty.

SNAFU.
    The speedsters are there now I have heard. Glad you caught a bit of a feed too.

Last edited by Poodroo; 07-01-2008 at 06:21 PM.

Ausfish Platinum Member Obi _ Wan's Avatar

G'Day Poodroo,
    Good to see you got out, my son and i ventured out on the same morning, all was fine until we cleared Woody Point and then she got a bit lumpy. There were a lot of boats out of Pelican Park but not many out the front, i think most had gone up the Pine.
    Anyway i said to my son that the present conditions would not need much more ill wind to become dangerous but as we are here we will have a fish. A mate rang and asked,"Where are you", i told him and when he turned up he said we were a bit adventurous, but as the morning wore on the conditions improved until the NE got up and there were white caps all over.
    Wasn't a great trip for results, about a dozen small snaps, only two keepers a 45cm and a 50cm, my son got smashed up twice by good fish.
    Anyway it was good to get out after a spell of bloody shocking weather.
    By the way Andrew a Happy New Year To You.

Obi_Wan
    Last edited by Obi _ Wan; 07-01-2008 at 08:17 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Obi _ Wan View Post
    G'Day Poodroo,
    Good to see you got out, my son and i ventured out on the same morning, all was fine until we cleared Woody Point and then she got a bit lumpy. There were a lot of boats out of Pelican Park but not many out the front, i think most had gone up the Pine.
    Anyway i said to my son that the present conditions would not need much more ill wind to become dangerous but as we are here we will have a fish. A mate rang and asked,"Where are you", i told him and when he turned up he said we were a bit adventurous, but as the morning wore on the conditions improved until the NE got up and there were white caps all over.
    Wasn't a great trip for results, about a dozen small snaps, only two keepers a 45cm and a 50cm, my son got smashed up twice by good fish.
    Anyway it was good to get out after a spell of bloody shocking weather.
    By the way Andrew a Happy New Year To You.

Obi_Wan
    Long time no chat Obi_Wan. Good to see you are still around. I guess the bottom line about going out on a crapola sort of day is that rather than complain about it being lumpy we can still be thankful that we are in good health and able to get out and enjoy our Bay regardless. The feed is always a bonus when it happens and I for one consider myself lucky to have been able to get out on the water and share the day with my lovely daughter. Thanks for the wishes. Happy New Year to you and your family also.

Good trip by the sounds of it Andrew, out with your daughter, a couple of fish and home dry

Well done to you Brian for the 55 cm one where's the photo of Andrews boat in action on the water.

Peter.
    Peter :cool:

Quote Originally Posted by Great White View Post
    Good trip by the sounds of it Andrew, out with your daughter, a couple of fish and home dry

Well done to you Brian for the 55 cm one where's the photo of Andrews boat in action on the water.

Peter.
    I thoroughly enjoyed having my daughter out there(trying hard to forget about the tinned spaghetti incident in the new boat) and despite her feeling sick she soldiered on and says she still had fun. As for Scalem taking photos if I know him he didn't even remember to take his camera.
    An action shot would have been good. It would have been hard to keep a camera still enough to take a clear shot anyway because of the conditions.

Hi Poodroo!!,

You will have to bring Sherray out next time if she is interested. It will be nice to have someone along who doesn't winge about being seasick.

Frank OO