Thread: fun on 2kg string

fun on 2kg string

great to finally have a break in the weather, was starting to go crazy. Mate (Outcast) caught and released 3 threadies on Friday night and I met him down there early Sat morning to target one on lures and then we were planing to head out into the bay to chase some mackerel.

Bit harder than usual to get the livies (backup plan) but I got a dozen good size herring and some nice gar which I kept for mackerel baits. Anchored up in the usual spot and threw lures for the next two hours or so. Few boats came and went and another mate (Lundy) of mine found it a little crowded so found himself an alternate spot. He reported 2 caught by others on lures and one by his deckie by about 8 am. None of the boats including me had caught any where I was, so I decided I would go and take his spot as he was ready to head out into the bay.

Dropped the anchor again (no 'leccy) and began casting lures again. I was using the regular jackals, a 5" shad, some other bibless lures (lipless crankbaits) mainly. I decided maybe I would put a bait out while I kept casting lures. I wanted to keep my 3 kg spin and 6 kg baitcast outfits for lures, and the only other gear I had was 1 kg ad 2 kg spin, so I rigged up the 2 kg spin with a herring.

About half an hour later it goes off with a good run. Pretty sure it was a threadie, but there are alot of similarities with the way a 'good' stringray fights in shallow water, so I was not certain and had to wait and see.

I dumped the anchor overboard straight after the first run so I could follow it and to avoid problems with the anchor rope later. It is on a buoy for pickup later. Pretty clean area where I was fishing but there was a shipping marker about 300m away so I tried to lead it/follow it out into the middle of the river where it was cleaner. It was staying deep and occasionally putting on bursts of speed and power. We were gradually heading downstream with the tide and went within 30 m or so of the channel marker. It was hard slog on the 2 kg line (pretest mono). I decided to lead it towards a sandbank to help raise it out of the depths which did gradually work. Went from around 16 m to 3-4 m deep and I finally saw colour after 45 minutes and put lingering doubts about a stingray to rest. They look amazing with their size and golden colour.

I kept this fish to get accurate weight and size measurements for a record claim. 10.00 kg 1173 mm. 950 ANSA points!!

Photo tomorrow.

Good to meet a few other ausfishers and others out on the water. Congrats on ur first threadie Marty and top work on the lure!

"The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
    (Quotation from the rules of the Tuna Club Avalon, Santa Catalina, U.S.A.)

Apathy is the enemy

Re: fun on 2kg string

Great stuff Jeremy. Which approximate patch of river were you fishing?

well done mate sounds like an epic battle
    good luck on the record
    what do you think your chances are?

Cheers Shane

Thanks Jeremy, and congrats to you to mate, 10kg fish on 2kg string is a good effort.
    Mine only went 6.3kg and my snapp went 6.75kg . I will put a post up later with some pics.
    Marty.

Excellent work. Takes a lot of skill to land a fish that size on light string, especially solo in a boat. Full credit to you mate.
    Joel
    Fishing for the thrill, not for the kill

Just reread your post and noted it was caught on mono and not braid, what a great feat, well done, and what reel did the deed for you?.

Nice work mate, not sure I would have the patience to battle for that long

Great fish jeremy, top effort. What size leader were you using????

The Bris river must be chock full of threadies. Wonder why considering they're not in Noosa anymore ?????

Cheers Jeff.

interesting you comments about the threadies in Noosa Jeff. I have heard about them being in the Noosa and passage for years and read the yarn by Ern Grannt about them at Noosa. There must be heaps in the Brisbane river at present. I saw or heard of about 10 or so caught from Friday arvo through Sat arvo.

Was taken on 40lb mono leader. Really only scuffed and abraded. Reel was a stradic 2500 - I have just reworked the drag with graphite powder - and a new Reddington rod (first fish on that rod).

Here is the photo

"The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."

Apathy is the enemy

Quote Originally Posted by Greggo1 View Post
    Great stuff Jeremy. Which approximate patch of river were you fishing?
    lower reaches

Apathy is the enemy

Top effort 10kg on 2kg line you're too good!!!
    Sounds like heaps of threadie there at the moment I should get out to target them soon

Another good threadie JEREMY! Nice to meet you a few weeks back too!

How do you like your new Reddington? I've got 2 of them and couldn't be happier!

Take Care T
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

Nice fish Jeremy, makes up for Steve getting one longer than yours the night before. Good to see Darryl putting his skipper duties ahead of catching threadies. Keep perservering, you'll get one lurecasting.

Jeff.
    Quality is still delivering long after you have forgotten the price.

In the last few years there does seem to be an abundance of threadies in the river. Or are angler just more switched on to them and targeting them? A couple of weeks ago i was cast netting the mouth of boggy for some live bait and caught a 2" model. Looked just like the big ones but in miniature, so they are more then likely breeding and doing well in the Brisbane river.

Cheers Chris

Quote Originally Posted by bundylundy View Post
    makes up for Steve getting one longer than yours the night before
    not really. I thought that fish would take more beating than that. Steve is trying to get the biggest in nearly every category and might well end up doing so. All good fun tho.

Darryl has been doing a bit of putting his skippering duties ahead of fishing recently LOL, but he has had his share of good fish also. I am sure he will get one soon if he perseveres.

I was a bit amazed that this fish wasn't an Australian record in sportfishing, but I'll take gamefishing anyway.

Apathy is the enemy