Thread: ECIFFR ... Bream ... 23cm?

Re: ECIFFR ... Bream ... 23cm?

For lots of people, particulraly young anglers a small bream is all they hope for, and in a lot of places that is all they will get..... same with whiting.

I think keeping the size the same is reasonable.

I recon introducing a bag limit will do lots more for bream numbers and quality.

put a stop to the 100 plus club.

Yes I beleave that keeping the 23cm rule for bream is to keep the pro's happy, their are 2 fish shops near me that sell whole bream, guess what size nearly all these bream are, thats right 23 to 25 cm.

Keep the minimum at 23 and make a max of around 35 same as they have done for flathead.............

hi all,

i was once told a legal bream at 23cm is approx 10-15 years old, very slow growers. does any one know what age they start to breed?

Its not worth the trouble to clean a fish for 2 fish fingers.
    greg
    IS THAT A ROD IN MY POCKET OR AM I JUST HAPPY TO BE FISHING

I'm guessing its a long long time since many of you suggesting an increase fished landbased for bream. I agree there is not much of a fillet on a 23cm fish but for a lot of landbased guys they struggle to even get that most times.

From what I have read they mature at 20 -21cm and get to breed once or twice by legal size so they are getting a fair go.

I have my own limits for a lot of fish and for bream its' 26cm fat or 30 skinny and release anything over 40cm because of the high probability of heavy chem residues because of age.

Tailor are way more under pressure and they are kicking them to 35 and no limit change except for Fraser. Really can't see much benifit for the species there. Just a bag limit reduction would have been far more benificial.

[quote=straddie;741308]I'm guessing its a long long time since many of you suggesting an increase fished landbased for bream. I agree there is not much of a fillet on a 23cm fish but for a lot of landbased guys they struggle to even get that most times.quote]

indeed they do, except it's only somtimes when the littlys are around

cam
    Australian Native Fish Vids
    Specialize in Terapontida's, Perches, Cods, Gobies & Gudgeons

The fish monger i frequent (for bait purposes mainly) always has a tub full of undersize bream for sale. I posed the owner the question about how they get away with selling these undersized bream (and oversize flatties sometimes) and he said that it was bycatch. Is this true? If so, i see no benefit in upping the size limit on them if the pros are going to keep the little stuff anyway. Ben

Quote Originally Posted by BLOOEY View Post
    The fish monger i frequent (for bait purposes mainly) always has a tub full of undersize bream for sale. I posed the owner the question about how they get away with selling these undersized bream (and oversize flatties sometimes) and he said that it was bycatch. Is this true? If so, i see no benefit in upping the size limit on them if the pros are going to keep the little stuff anyway. Ben
    I think DPI-Fisheries would be very interested in who he was .

I think we should rely less on size limits and concentrate on bag limits...A large mature bream is estimated to be 20 to 30 years old..Keep enough for a fresh feed and release the rest i reckon....

Quote Originally Posted by BLOOEY View Post
    27cm for whiting in nsw. Youcan a least get a fillet off them then. Ben
    G'day Ben!

You are obviously not a winter whiting fisherman.

RayDeR

Ive imposed a 26cm minimum for bream in my boat so you can get a few for a feed instead of 10 or 12 23cm ones with minimum meat.

Quote Originally Posted by RayDeR View Post
    G'day Ben!

You are obviously not a winter whiting fisherman.

RayDeR
    No mate couldn't be bothered filleting that many little fish. They are very tasty little morsels though and a top bait live or dead. Ben

Quote Originally Posted by Lucky_Phill View Post
    The 23cm size limit on Bream will remain to appease the commercial operators.

Much to my disgust...............

I have heard that the cost for the central QLD pros to change net size would be too high.
    Why not phase it in over several years to give them time to upgrade mesh size when the nets wear out? A 23cm Bream is a pretty poor feed