Thread: Jump in fuel prices

Jump in fuel prices

Just heard the price of fuel has/will jump to $1.50+ per liter very soon, some servo's already have.

What does this mean to you and your boat? I know it may be the end of me doing long 80L solo trips, something has to give, I am not an island, I have a family.

Wondering if it will make any difference to you.

Re: Jump in fuel prices

Won't make any difference to me, I hardly get out now so they can charge all they like. Still not too good though, wonder how long it will be till we're stareing down the barrel of $2 a litre?

none...just lucky I have sold the cruiser..that had 450 litre fuel tank for the 2 stern drives..now only have a 260 litre tank..but I am lucky..I can afford the fuel whereas I recognise that are lot may not be able to.

so greg, mate buddy pal, when are we going for a fish?just kidding, i filled my boat just before it rained about 10 days ago i believe and i really dont think that the price of feul will change the fact that we all love to fish, it might slow us down a bit, so then we share ,in the end we will still fish. cheers ian

I'd like to know why fuel is the same price in northern NSW (even cheaper at some places) then QLD when they're supposed to have more taxes etc built into the price of fuel in NSW??
    I'd also like to know why diesel is now a lot more expensive then unleaded where historically it's always been a lot cheaper.
    It would be also nice to know since when price cycling has been the norm.
    I'd like to know why the price of LPG is indexed to the world oil price when all the LPG used here comes from here...In Aussie!!
    Load of crap in my books. Someones making a mint . It ain't me .

In France the price of a few necessities like bread, milk and petrol are fixed by the government.
    If the company doesn't like it...tuff.

Why don't they do that here??
    Last edited by finga; 03-01-2008 at 05:48 PM.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Won't make much difference to me as on average I get 4 trips out of my 25 litre tank.

Fueling the ute is still cheap (25/30 bucks a forthnight) as I only fish locally (Pine Rivers / Redcliffe) and don't do a great deal of driving.

I reckon we'll see a revival of displacement and semi-displacement boats.

Have to agree about the pricing of LPG.

Last edited by Luc; 03-01-2008 at 06:36 PM.

Just heard that it was Texas crude oil that hit a new mark, we are already there as far as the price per barrel goes or something like that, the media here picked it up, made it ours and sensationalised it as always, AKA global warming etc. So not to worry (if you were) it shouldn't impact here... that is, if the story is now correct

Last edited by FNQCairns; 03-01-2008 at 07:53 PM.

With my little runabout being pushed by a 4 stroke 60HP, increased petrol prices won't impact on my usage. Generally my fishing trips consume about $15 worth of petrol so an extra few $ won't matter. My car runs on LPG and I hardly use it much anyway so that cost is not impacting on my quality of life either.

I agree with Finga and Luc about LPG pricing though. What the oil companies are doing with that is under the radar of the media and is scandalous.

What also gets me is the variability of pricing within the greater Brisbane area on LPG. You can see the price of fuel at any Shell servo in the country at
    http://www.shell.com/home/page/au-en...arch_0221.html

It puzzles me why there can be such a variation on LPG as shown below but not on petrol.

If you do the arithmetic, you will see that Shell charges about 30% more for LPG at Coorparoo (and pretty well all other Brisbane servos) than it does at Loganlea. This is not a new phenomenon.
    Last edited by charleville; 03-01-2008 at 08:05 PM.

They've got you by the balls ,
    you cant walk and swim everywhere .

How long is it until the extra tax er sorry excise get's lobbed onto LPG?Dan...

i will still go out, maybe not so often but i will still go out

you wanna try living in the uk. pertols x2 as much. 70% tax. one of the main reasons i moved. but its getting up there now here too. how long beofore its crazy prices here?

wont stop me going out but sure makes it a luxury

spot on gar, we've got it pretty good here really. we've got friends and rellies living abroad and they reckon it's way more expensive than here. interest rates will be still on the march too the way everyone went rank at the chrissy sales with their credit cards, financially we are our own worst enemies really.

I cant believe some of you guys.Everyone boasts about fitting this and buying that for their boat,well into the thousands of dollars.Then jumping up and down on an extra few bucks, if that per trip.
    George
    ps:Gar you see you cant run away from whingers
    Last edited by manchild; 04-01-2008 at 09:47 AM. Reason: spelling
    At Heaven's gate a soldier stood,
    his story ready to tell,
    St Peter said, 'no need my son all is understood,
    Go right in cos you've already served your time in Hell'

Same as you Fnq.
    I think I'll be looking for a deckie to share the costs as prices rise and interest rates continue to climb(ouch).