P.B Barra @ Tinaroo

Thread: P.B Barra @ Tinaroo

P.B Barra @ Tinaroo

On Saturday, my wife was away so I thought I would take the chance to go fishing again at (you guessed it) Tinaroo.
    The day was a bit of a gloomy one, and as my head was throbbing from self infliction from the previous night, I didn't head up till after lunch.
    Arriving at the Tinaburra ramp I was greeted by upteen million waterskiers, so knew I had to go up the back creeks away from the noise and chop, and find some peaceful relaxing water.

I had fished a few areas around sticks and along lillypad fringed banks, before heading into an area where I had sucess on trips months earlier with small barra. It must was about(as I check the time on the camera) 4.30pm when I headed tight in against a shallow bank.

I saw the tail fins waving sub-surface of what looked to be a rather decent fish. First cast at it came up short, so in went another which was right on the mark. From touch down the fins looked like they stopped, and then all hell broke loose as the fish smashed the Gold B-52 as it twitched past her nose. I had hooked on, but was dissapointed with the fight, and I have had much better from much smaller barra. After a few minutes she spat the hook, however the Owner hooks grabbed her in the last section of her meaty tail. I thought to myself, coming in backwards was just as good, although don't stand much of a chance, and almost like clockwork the fish gave up and went onto its side. With a sigh of relief, I netted the barra, but got a big shock when I needed to put the rod down to lift it into the boat with two hands. Thats when it hit me that this fish had finally got me into the 120's and beat my previous best of 119.

The size and colour of this fish was amazing, so after a quick photo on my tripod that I already set up to go (just in case as I was by myself) I tried to release this awesome fish. As with the fight this fish was sluggish to release, and this worried me, as it took a long time for the fish to swim of.

My question is, what happens if a BIG barra does not release well, due to lengthy fight or just out of pure exhaustion. A friend mentioned that sometimes they get roe infections (I know they don't breed in fresh ). What should you do, as we all know they are rather ordinary to eat, and I personally would rather them swim of for someone else to catch, but I also hate seeing dead fish lining the banks....
    But anyways I have (hopefully) attached some pictures. May she swim to fight another day!!!!
    Cheers Matt

Re: P.B Barra @ Tinaroo

Quote Originally Posted by Barraboss View Post
    On Saturday, my wife was away so I thought I would take the chance to go fishing again at (you guessed it) Tinaroo.
    The day was a bit of a gloomy one, and as my head was throbbing from self infliction from the previous night, I didn't head up till after lunch.
    Arriving at the Tinaburra ramp I was greeted by upteen million waterskiers, so knew I had to go up the back creeks away from the noise and chop, and find some peaceful relaxing water.

I had fished a few areas around sticks and along lillypad fringed banks, before heading into an area where I had sucess on trips months earlier with small barra. It must was about(as I check the time on the camera) 4.30pm when I headed tight in against a shallow bank.

I saw the tail fins waving sub-surface of what looked to be a rather decent fish. First cast at it came up short, so in went another which was right on the mark. From touch down the fins looked like they stopped, and then all hell broke loose as the fish smashed the Gold B-52 as it twitched past her nose. I had hooked on, but was dissapointed with the fight, and I have had much better from much smaller barra. After a few minutes she spat the hook, however the Owner hooks grabbed her in the last section of her meaty tail. I thought to myself, coming in backwards was just as good, although don't stand much of a chance, and almost like clockwork the fish gave up and went onto its side. With a sigh of relief, I netted the barra, but got a big shock when I needed to put the rod down to lift it into the boat with two hands. Thats when it hit me that this fish had finally got me into the 120's and beat my previous best of 119.

The size and colour of this fish was amazing, so after a quick photo on my tripod that I already set up to go (just in case as I was by myself) I tried to release this awesome fish. As with the fight this fish was sluggish to release, and this worried me, as it took a long time for the fish to swim of.

My question is, what happens if a BIG barra does not release well, due to lengthy fight or just out of pure exhaustion. A friend mentioned that sometimes they get roe infections (I know they don't breed in fresh ). What should you do, as we all know they are rather ordinary to eat, and I personally would rather them swim of for someone else to catch, but I also hate seeing dead fish lining the banks....
    But anyways I have (hopefully) attached some pictures. May she swim to fight another day!!!!
    Cheers Matt

mate well done what a ripper of a fish i hope i can catch one that big someday soon awsome job great way to finish of 2007 i say]

Ausfish Platinum Member Leighton's Avatar

thats a thumper, certainly came from the top paddock with a girth like that. I think your brag mat has issues though...to dam small

Ausfish Platinum Member Obi _ Wan's Avatar

Thats a great fish mate, well done.

Obi_Wan

Awesome fish. Congrats on the P.B

Great effort.

I'd buy a longer bragmat though!

Yep thats what I call a barra Well done on the PB! ...... but your now in another league to better it!!!!!!!
    Nagg

My question is, what happens if a BIG barra does not release well, due to lengthy fight or just out of pure exhaustion.
    Unfortunately, all you can do is swim her until she shows sign of revival and hope she's recovered enough to survive, swimming and supporting her helps dissipate the build up of lactic acid generated during the fight.

Unfortunately, sometimes there's not much you can do. Big fish like that, with such a large girth, sometimes damage there stomach/internals during the struggle. Theyre simply not designed to support that weight!

Regarding the fight of the fish, you've probably noticed the different characteristics of the fight compared to the size of the fish. Big girls (anything over 115) generally just put there head down and run. IMHO the best fighting fish are between 90 and 110. They're display is generally awesome showing the power and aerobatics barra are famous for.

After a while you can also start to pick where they're hooked ie if they're hooked in the gills they'll generally tail walk like a marlin!

Great capture and all the best for the new year,
    Matt C

PS Were you using the Team Diawa Combo you won last year?

Matt C,
    Thanks for the info, and agree with the range for fish fighting range of 90-110 (well from my experience so far
    I was actually using the Daiwa rod but not he reel, I had chucked on my chronach and find this is not too bad a set up, and has demolished a few meterys...

Well done Barraboss thats a great fish - nice and fat it takes up the whole mat.
    All the best on future trips.

Cheers Lyndon & Kel

122???? i would call that 124 or 125!
    well done mate

Hey Matt,

Thanks for the photo's mate... shes definetely one of those swamp donkeys that live in that certain area of the Lake we saw you in on Saturday. We have caught a few around those snags that also look quite dark in colour and are well fed fish!

Me and Joe were at it again last night... sloggin away. Joe got a 95cm fish Tuesday night when he went out, but he got hold of a 117cm fish about a week ago (first cast... kid you not) and followed it up with a 123cm 30mins after, as well as 5 decent bites afterwards. Whens my big girl gonna come? LOL?! 100lb'er anyday soon...

Congrats mate.

Theo

(Who took the pic??? Or did you have it Tripod'ed?)
    TT

Sorry for the double post...

How long were you trying to revive her for Matt? I have jumped off then Boat a few times in the past and swam them back for 8/10mins... I always doubt if they survive, but 9/10 they will bite down hard enough and give you the all clear.

I have seen a few dead fish the last week... one nice 125cm+ fish between Tinaburra ramp and Severin, also a gaffed model (112/115cm) near the mansion on the Hill (you know the one!).

Theo
    TT

Theo,

Yeah mate I have the tripod ready to go on self timing. Gives me enough time to click the button pick up the fish and smile away before the flash goes. I have it set on wide mode in case my direction is off then crop the pic accordingly. Saves time and as you know I don't always have 2 up in the boat. I have had Joe take pics before from his boat for me which is also handy!!!

I will be going up this weekend no doubt so I will send you a text and see if we can locate that elusive 100lb'er. Will need a longer and wider mat for that one though mate....

Eotbmg,

I say 122 as have read in other threads about brag mats not being the most accurate forms of measurement, and don't want someone to tell me its smaller than what I believe. All I know was it was BIG and FAT and I am damn happy

Thanks Guys

Theo,
    Now my turn for the double post. I was swimming her for about 10 minutes and she clamped down twice on my hand hard enough to take 2 chunks out of my thumb and also finger each time. First time I have had that happen. Thought my hand was going with it...