Thread: Diesel fuel price - 141.9

Re: Diesel fuel price - 141.9

Remember the days when Diesel was far cheaper than petrol??? Its a less refined fuel so why are we paying more for it now days??? Does anyone know the real reason?

Cheers Chris
    Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

Hey Lovey80,

I remember when petrol was 15.9 cents a litre.
    Its expensive now because of the %10 gst and other goverment taxes which probably add 60 or 70 cents to the price. Its a good money spinner for coffers down in Canberra. THIEVING BAS*#@DS

cheers steve99

Quote Originally Posted by Lovey80 View Post
    Remember the days when Diesel was far cheaper than petrol??? Its a less refined fuel so why are we paying more for it now days??? Does anyone know the real reason?

Cheers Chris
    Its refined to a much higher standard these days to reduce sulphur content. the think that makes me crook is that I know BP australia spend dollars upgrading not for cleaner fuels (a side effect) but so they could refine lower quality crude. I guess the demand for diesel is higher these days too, perhaps that pushes the price up.

Bloody queenslanders stop complaining, 153.9 on the mid north coast of NSW and will probably go up by the weekend.

Quote Originally Posted by Lovey80 View Post

Cheers Chris
    G:day Chris

was'nt that long ago, the wife and i started traveling around Australia in 1999 diesel then was 74cL
    its not that we have better diesel now than we did 10yrs ago as in the last 6 months i have had to change my fuel filter 4 times from dirty fuel here in Cairns, ( and not from my tank)
    the everyday tax payer has to pay extra for the fuel so the primery producer can get the fuel at a great rate, someone has to pay the extras

G'day Jim

I haven't done the sums yet... but down and back (not including the week in melb running around) I used roughly 300L.

Was about 20hrs down to melb drive time, on the way back I came up the newell, turned off the oxley and came home via grafton and the pacific.

Smile Re: Diesel fuel price - 141.9

We were paying around $1.39 to $1.45 in Mackay after Christmas, yet in Airlie Beach I saw it at $1.35.

I put 150ltrs in at Mackay for our trip home to the Sunshine Coast - luckily the Prado gets around 10.5 ltrs / 100 klms.

There is little logic into the price make-up of fuels these days. It didn't seem that long ago when unleaded broke the magical barrier of $1 / litre and remember the furore that erupted then.
    Providing consumers are willing to pay the rates listed (what choice do they have?) and governments sit back and watch from the sidelines then I guess the fuel companies will focus on the returns they can deliver to their shareholders first and foremost then focus on the executives huge incentives for delivering such massive profits back into the coffers.
    As much as the government has raised concerns on the matter I believe they sit back quietly happy with the rates as it reduces consumer spending in other areas thus assisting to slow the economy.

Diesel Prices Sux I got it cheaper than Unleaded for about 6 months before they changed it around.. I reckon they are taxing us on distance not the amount now....

Average of 1.40 ATM in Brisbane North. Got lucky in Bundy on the way back from baffle and paid 1.41

http://motormouth.com.au/default_fl.aspx

Good website for finding the cheapest fuel closest to you on the day Even does brands and Premium!!!

Brandon...
    Last edited by BrandonH; 12-01-2008 at 04:36 PM.

1.90 All Day Every Day For The Last 3 Months. Unleaded Is 1.80.

russell Island Is Dearer Than Stradbroke Island. Work That One Out.

supply and demand..more people have bought diesel fuelled vehicles than before therefore put the prices up.