Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: seaview charter ripoff

Re: seaview charter ripoff

storm in a tea cup

If the worng thing was done then ring Dept of Fair Trading and the police first thing in the morning. Make sure you have everything documented, times, dates,conversations, etc. Also make a claim through small claims if they fail to give back any money owed.

Quote Originally Posted by the gecko View Post
    A verbal contract is not worth the paper its written on.
    Hehe, quote of the century!!!

It’s very clear cut to me. Hocka booked a trip on this charter boat for Thursday and he turned up on Friday after being told that day is already booked. I would say to Hocka “stiff tity” mate. This crap of bagging people and businesses on any forum can be fraught with danger. I know of many people that have been sued for substantial amounts of money. I would walk this knife edge very carefully indeed Hocka. It’s obvious anyway that your version of events differ from the skippers; so who is telling the full truth, I think the skipper’s side of the story adds up a bit more than your version.

Stu

Im not taking anybodys side here, cos theres still a glaring lack of evidence as to how and when payment was made, and what was promised by the good skipper. What I would remind people, is that its not a police matter. Police only enforce criminal laws. A dispute between a buyer and seller is a civil matter.

You need to sue him, if you have a case - a case that you can prove. thats why getting a reciept or written confirmation of booking is so important. even a witness to the confirmation would be a good start.

Dept of Fair Trading are obliged to investigate all written complaints, but will ignore phone complaints. Unless you have proof, their investigation will come back empty.

I found all this out the hard way. I once had my car taken to a dealer by a man who sold it t the dealer. The car was then sold by the dealer to a buyer. I went to the police and showed them my rego papers. The police decided it was a civil matter because the man who took it to the dealer was my business partner and we had a partnership relationship. They said I could sue him, but as he had no assets, I never recovered the car or the money...life sucks sometimes.

Now you see why Im so strong on getting everything in writing. Good skippers have no problem faxing or emailing a confirmation of date once the money is in their bank account.

Quote Originally Posted by michaelddd View Post
    What this group of people havent said in this forum is that they where allready booked on the boat the day before. When they called and asked they said they wanted to change their day to friday instead of thursday.............. They where told no because friday was allready booked for another group so they turned up anyway......So you tell me what a load of rot and .....Their deposits where not recieved until the friday anyway..You cant just expect to change a booking of your own accord
    Hocka,

You seem to have gone a bit quiet, it would be interesting to hear your response.

r.
    Last edited by roz; 07-01-2008 at 04:22 PM.
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

just rember who ever is lying kama will get ya

Response-

In reply to this forum, here are a few facts to clear up this misunderstanding-

The person who wrote it was not the person who originally booked the trip, which was booked the first time for the Thursday not the Friday. The Tuesday before the trip, they tried to change it to the Friday.
    Their deposit was not received in our account until the morning of the trip.
    The night before the trip, we made several attempts to contact the person who booked the trip, via phone and sms. No one replied or called to check the weather conditions for the trip, and therefore their charter was never confirmed.
    All the deposits were refunded in full, the next possible working day.

For future reference when booking a charter-

1. Book the trip for the day you want,
    2. Confirm the booking with a depsoit at least 2 weeks prior,
    3. Have all possible contact names and numbers correct and available for correspondence and
    4. Check the night before for confirmation that the trip is going in case weather conditions or other unforseeable events prevent the trip from going.

The group that followed these 4 steps had a great day fishing.

Thanks for some facts on this one Lisa.

I know it's the clients responsibility to phone before hand but perhaps seaview should spend the extra couple of cents to get in contact with the client a few extra days prior rather than leave it to the night before to avoid bad publicity like this.

Word of mouth is a big advertiser and tongues are probably still talking now, something that can be avoided for an extra 30 cents. That's the cheapest advertising you will ever get.

Avast ye matey!

so where,s hocka now?

Telling everyone I know to avoid these bandits like the plague.

Quote Originally Posted by kevontherocks View Post
    Telling everyone I know to avoid these bandits like the plague.

Why? Haven't you seen Lisa's response?

We should be fair when we hear both sides of the story.

If there is no response from Hocka this post should go.
    FISHING FISHING AND MORE FISHING. IS THERE ANYTHING ELSE TO DO?

Quote Originally Posted by SNAPPERCOFFIN View Post
    If there is no response from Hocka this post should go.
    I have to agree!!
    It's just so easy to make defamatory comments and cast aspersions about a person or business that can cause damage to reputations.
    Hocka should address the replies or the thread should go!!

quote WHAT A RIPOFF! paul simpson and his boys should be disgusted in themselves. My advise to anyone thinking of going out with seaview is dont. this type of should not be accepted in the fishing community and hopefully word will spread about them and there actions

i know who should be disgusted in themself, i also know what should not be accepted, if what lisa has said is true i think someone should be appologising, and think themselves lucky they are not being sued for slander. bob h
    Last edited by Bob H; 07-01-2008 at 10:13 PM.