Hey guys just getting into the 4wd scene but on a tight budget...
not planning to do anything hardcore maybe just the odd driving on the dunes,
how is the wrangler? or cheaper the 4 runner?
Hey guys just getting into the 4wd scene but on a tight budget...
not planning to do anything hardcore maybe just the odd driving on the dunes,
how is the wrangler? or cheaper the 4 runner?
Gday,
We had a 4runner v6 auto and it was gutless and had no end of auto overheating problems.
Got rid of it and now have the GU Patrol.
Goes anywhere.
With beach driving, it depends on your tyres and their pressures.
As a rule, I allways run 22 lb as soon as I hit the sand.
You need to ensure that you have a good compressor that you can re-inflate the tyres as soon as you are finished on the beach.
As a tip, don't go driving on the beach by yourself, as it can be easy to get bogged in soft sand if you don't know what you are doing. You could end up stuck for a while, and you have the drama of the tide coming in. Always drive on the outgoing tide, just in case.
Hope you make a good choice, and get to enjoy what so many of us are into.
Graham.
Last edited by whynott; 22-12-2007 at 06:16 AM.
Firstly davec84, although I know what you meant by " maybe just the odd driving on the dunes, you do know that driving on sand dunes is not on. Hope you meant driving on the beach and designated tracks.
Decide on your budget.
Decide on what you intend to do with said 4 x 4. ( weekender, work, sunday school )
Decide on how many people you intend to carry.
Decide if you intend to tow or have a large payload.
In the end any 4 x 4 will do a job to a certain extent. Once you get into the scene you will discover that different 4BY's suit different applications.
As a side note, a dual cab / diesel / tray back / would be considered an " all rounder ".
4 runner's and Pathfinders are a small family type
Patrols and Cruisers are the larger type and great for towing big loads etc.
In the end you have to weigh up all the pro's and con's including fuel economy. maintainence costs, rego, insurance, re-sale,
Juts remember that it IS the case that it is the DRIVER that makes a 4 x 4, not the vehicle.
Good luck..........
Hey mate, heres also another model to have a look at, a nissan GQ is a great first 4wd, they are relible, powerful, very good of road in stock form, and are even better with just a few upgrades once the 4wd bug its you. They are fairly cheap as well for there spec. A great site to have a look at it www.4wdmonthly.com.au, will tell you plently of information( click forums and just have a look around). if link doesn't work just type 4wd monthly in google.
Good luck Matt
Last edited by .:::stotty:::.; 26-12-2007 at 05:19 PM.
The TJ Wrangler 4ltr is thirsty, but with the top off is good fun.
Wrangler is a good choice...get a manual in whatever you choose.
Unless you are going to buy top of the line that has all the bells and whistles like hill decent assist DO NOT BUY an auto, they are hopeless as a serious off road machine, always have been always will be IMHO.
I have to agree with Frog re manual for serious off-roading and down-hilling but for beach work, a good auto is the greatest and easiest thing to drive. Anyone who is new to beach driving can manage far better with an auto. It simply removes the risk of slowing when engaging the clutch and takes the guess work out of which gear to select for that ugly piece of chewed up sand. All the above is of course IMHO.