Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Thread: Can a falcon tow 2 tonne boat up a ramp?

Re: Can a falcon tow 2 tonne boat up a ramp?

shanoss, I knew this would happen, I have nothing against a Diso, and I know it is Legal to tow 4 tonne and indeed I have towed over 3 tonne with one! but I will never do it again!!! but, by "proper" I mean forget all the Suzukis and other small 4X4's to be safe and stable you need WEIGHT in the tow vehicle, and Patrols and Cruisers fit the weight category better!

Noelm, weren't you last words "enough from me"?

I towed a 1.6 t boat with my standard falcon for years. In my opinion it tows better than my 2.5t 4x4. Possibly because of the low c of g compared to the 4bee.

The only ramp I ever had a problem with was cabage tree creek at shorncliffe on low tide. Everywhere else it pulls up easily.

I have upgraded to a heavier boat. 21fter. The falcon is just as happy towing that as well.

What I would do though is get an add on transmission cooler fitted. As mentioned by others, the trans will do it hard.

the only reason I take the stand I ahve, is from the simple fact that for a while I towed a Sharkcat with a "standard" car, it was Legal, the car had a "beefed up" transmission and cooler, but I got stuck at the ramp anytime it was less than half tide, and on the Road it felt quite unsafe, the Transmission blew up twice, and so on, from then on I only think that towing anything that is "on the limit" for the tow vehicles capacity is fraught with danger, BUT as mentioned, if you want to do so, go ahead, people post here for opinions, if someone has a differing view then I think that is a good thing, no use asking a question and everyone blows Sunshine up your bum telling you it is fabulous, and first time out you get into a whole mess of strife, thats my slant on Forums, anyone can voice their opinion and the readers can sift through and take what they think will apply to their application!

My advice is to buy a holden, if you cant then take a couple of bricks for the back wheels, it saved me once.

i agree with you noel, having a large trailer boat must be part of a "package" deal, you firstly need somewhere to park it and then you need something to tow it comfortably. most large trailer boats are worth a fair bit of money, a cheap old cruiser or patrol (say $10k) to tow it is chicken feed compared to the boat price. in my opinion you need a big 4wd with a big strong drivetrain and big brakes. anyone towing a 2.5t trailer with a falcon on a regular basis is going to kill it quick smart, they're simply not made for the job.

For comparisons sake:

80 Series Cruiser = 2036kg Curb weight
    97 Dicovery = 2029kg curb weight

Not a lot in it as far as i can tell. Though i would reckon the Patrol would be a bit heavier.

Not that i'm saying he should be towing a 2t boat with a falcon, but there other vehicles out there capable of towing heavier loads than Cruiser and Patrols. I've towed my boat (2.3t) with a cruiser for years and hated it. Just changed over to a Discovery and towing is now almost enjoyable. The cruisers and patrols are not the be all and end all of anything.

quote=Shanoss;730945]For comparisons sake:

80 Series Cruiser = 2036kg Curb weight
    97 Dicovery = 2029kg curb weight

Not a lot in it as far as i can tell. Though i would reckon the Patrol would be a bit heavier.[/quote]

Hi Shannos - I did this exercise with my bro in law who has GQ Patrol - his Patrol and my Disco weigh in the same with almost identical torque and power and almost identical revs - Discos are constant though whereas the GQ was not. There is no way that the GQ or 80 series was a better tow vehicle than the V8 Disco. I have a 95 Diso 3.9 auto and an 02 4.0 manual. They fly. My brother has a 94 3.9 manual and he regularly tows a GQ comp vehicle on a car trailer (his mates comp vehicle while my brother works up his 400+hp County comp truck) and it does it with no dramas at all including towing up through the ranges to and from Landcruiser Mtn Park.

No doubt the later Cruisers and Patrols were better just because they were so much heavier and had heaps more grunt, but lets compare apples with apples and that would require a comparo with the D3 which, in all the tow tests run by Australian 4WD Monthly etc, leave the other big 2 of dead....go and have a look at the web site...check out Overlander's review for example (its very interesting reading). I wouldnt post it up, but I get a bit over LR bashing and I dont sink the boot into Toyos and Patrols unless provoked.

www.overlander.com.au/vehicle_tests/index/full/289/Tow-Test:-Part-1---Large-Wagons

fully agree, I was just making a "for instance"

remember the original question was about towing a biggish rig with a car! and never meant to be a Patrol V Cruiser V Disco experience

thats true mate, but he might want to upgrade (after reading all this) so being informed of the altenatives is not a bad thing.

does the disco have the same running gear as the defender range? if so then it'll be more than up to the task. i was more making the point that for a good long term tow vehicle you need the biggest, strongest running gear you can get. you only have to poke your head under a patrol to see the physical difference in size of the diff/axle housing as compared to say a hilux one.

As usual the landrover supporters are a passionate bunch. They end up pretty good mechanics too

Quote Originally Posted by the lump View Post
    As usual the landrover supporters are a passionate bunch. They end up pretty good mechanics too
    LMAO low blow...
    but funny.

Quote Originally Posted by Noelm View Post
    remember the original question was about towing a biggish rig with a car! and never meant to be a Patrol V Cruiser V Disco experience
    When you make a comment about "proper" 4WD's as you did, then you should probably be able to back it up. All i am saying is that it doesnt have to be only the "big two" that people consider when making a choice of tow vehicle.