Hmmm, If they were bite offs I would wonder if there had been been any leather jackets or toadies around Moe?
Just a thought
G'Day Guys,
Spent the weekend at Moreton Isalnd on my folks boat and trying to get a feed of whiting around tangalooma and lucinda bay, was using my general purpose combo, 5'7" ugly stick, 2000 penn reel, with 12lb fireline, and 12lb leader.
Was getting some winter whiting around 25cm and of course plenty of grinners, but four times over the weekend got snapped off, was only using worm and squid for bait, would get a good bite and give a heave to set the hook but then nothing and wind my line back in to find braid had snapped (no curly pig tail from bad knots) this also happened to others on the boat a couple of times as well)
Now i have caught some quality bream and flathead on this combo before, what is likely to cause this to happen???
Hmmm, If they were bite offs I would wonder if there had been been any leather jackets or toadies around Moe?
Just a thought
braid does not wear all that well and it could have been a bit "frazzled" but more than likely it would have been Toads nipping at the bait or knot/swivel and snipping the line as well and making it weak.
The line was breaking off above the swivel, after first 2 times changed to 20lb leader, made sure of knots, pre-tested knots and line.
I was thinking it might be the braid, inspected it was little frays about it but did not snap when put under tension by myself, was the black firelind, which is now grey, might be affected by UV light as other rods with braid have not lost colour and are stored and used generally the same way and time. But how does this explain the other lines which were mono from snapping.
Therefore it only leaves something attacking the swivel, i use the black magic type.
I agree with Rhys,
Sounds very much like the dreaded leather jacket I'm afraid. Can be a right pain in the backside. he he.
Ryan.
Yeah I am with Rhys also, little blighters! long shank hooks will get you a look at them
If your line is breaking above the swivel then the type of hook won't make much difference. Fire line is a heavily waxed gel spun line, after a while the waxy finish wares away. at this time the line becomes slippery and knots need to be super glued. I love using Fire line and where ever i use it i also carry the glue for that reason. When a Gel spun knot comes undone there won't be a pig tail because it has no memory like mono.
There are some knots that are designed for Gel spun.
Good luck
Mitch
I reckon Mitch has nailed it. Fireline is rather stiff when new and does not slip. As it ages it is nicer to use but can slip knots. Blood knots etc are pretty risky unless locked
are you from moe??????
or is that just a coincedence,,,,, only asking 'cause i was born and bred there
can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE
Glad you guys know how we feel when the jacket invasion happens down here.......................they can go through 30lb braid & you wont feel a thing.
If Toads and Leather Jackets are bitting at your swivels, tie your fire line directly to your leader. Once again use super glue to finish off. I can't remember the last time i used a swivel for lures or bait. It only becomes a target for little critters that like shiny things. When i fished for whiting on the weekend i used my Bass outfit with 10lb pink fire line with an 8ft 4lb leader, I run the bait out in the current about 12mt then chuck the sinker off to the side, when it gets down i set the bail. This keeps the sinker well away from what is now a free bait and no need for a swivel. Give it ago and see how it works for you.
Mitch
hey moe are you sure it was not nilton braid ? I got told that it is shit hot braid so i got some , i normally use fins , since i have had it i have got heaps more tangles casting ( on a spin real ) and heaps more bust offs , i lost 8 good fish on the weekend at the shiping chanel . But you could have been getting bitten off by anything , i caught a 45cm hammer head off the shorncliffe peir years ago fishing for whiting with worms , just because its a small bait doesnt mean big fish wont eat it . maybe the whiting were getting hit as you hooked them .
When i go for a fish next time will use same setup, this way if i catch a decent sized fish we can rule out the line/knot issue.