Thread: Grass emperor (grass sweetlip)

Grass emperor (grass sweetlip)

Hi ausfishers,

We welcome species into SEQ water in the summer season and top fish table as well.
    In the past (years) I notice people has taking under size and I don't make any criticise about taking undersize now.
    My point is to ensure recreation fishermen aware the legal size (30cm) release in their esky.
    For information: http://www.dpi.qld.gov.au/cps/rde/xc...2_ENA_HTML.htm
    Look under Other tidal species bag and size limits

I understand there are thousands of 28-29cm in Moreton bay, I admit that I catch my first legal for 2007 recently after about 30 undersizes freed into water!

Re: Grass emperor (grass sweetlip)

Gday Silent
    I totally agree ,it seems that legal size grassies are getting harder to find here in Moreton bay, though further north Ive caught some beauties(whitsundays).
    I am beginning to think the size limit needs reviewing as I have'nt kept a grassie locally for ages

Why do you think they are getting harder to catch? The legal ones I mean? I fish Patts and Coochie and sometimes get a legal sweetie but not as many as I used to when I was much younger. 34 years ago. I want to try and target them more now as my other half is sick of Squire . So it is exploring time now ..... if only we could get some mild weather for a change .

Hi Silent,
    mine avge 38-39cm at Nth GC. I ate one, but I didnt think much of them, so now I dont keep em. I prefer estuary cod for the table.

I was starting to think they were a new pygmy breed and didn't get any bigger

Kezza

RANDO - unfortunately grassie average is 30 to 45cm (according internet) somewhere else! don't think they would consider to reduce legal size IMO

SHARKY - you would be enough lucky to pick many legals and keep your secret spot

GECKO - sound like you getting them offshore north of goldie right? bay is not easy to find decent size... I would swap you 50cm Cod for grassies
    Last edited by Silent; 18-12-2007 at 12:48 PM.

Like this size guys
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

Gidday PYTHON,

Nice big grassie and easier to find them at barrier reef isn't one you got there?

I know some of us in Moreton bay fishermen are dreaming to nail those big size at our front door...
    Thanks for pic!

Yeah i know what ya mean Silent
    These good deepwater fella's arn't so weedy taste as their close shallow water cousins.
    A spot we fish in 60 foot of water the lippers there are still nice but have that weedy smell compared to the bigger fella's we have been getting in 110 foot of water.
    Sorry i'm living in the past using feet but have always used this on sounder
    Cheers JT
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

Hey Gecko did you notice that the gut contents smelt rank?. I was told they need to be bled and gutted as soon as they hit the boat. Mine taste great done this way.

Cheers Chris
    Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

Silent
    I meant lift the size limit.
    If there are an abundance of undersized fish it can only mean one thing!!!!
    rando

Quote Originally Posted by rando View Post
    Silent
    I meant lift the size limit.
    If there are an abundance of undersized fish it can only mean one thing!!!!
    rando
    Got it cheers mate!