Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Why You Should Up-Grade On Barra Lures

Why You Should Up-Grade On Barra Lures

Found this classic floating along bankside up in the sticks at Monduran the other day. It looked pretty new, hook rash is minimal and there was no slime or gunk on it so I would say it hasnt been in the water that long.
    A pretty good example of the reason why terminal tackle on lures should be up-graded
    brian

Re: Why You Should Up-Grade On Barra Lures

Solid advice, I upgrade all lures to stingers or gamakatsu.

Theres the bugger ha ha, yep there some serious fish that need some serious tackle. I donated a couple last trip up in the sticks but never came across any.

Anyhow good stuff Brian

Brian , Nice show & tell . & a picture says a thousand words doesn't it? .. Nagg

Yeah they can do that to ya aye! But, you either go hard or go home! The fish in all that Monduran timber must really know how to bite down on a Lure when they feel like it.

Still havn't caught fish on that Golden Streak colour scheme... good for the Salt however.

Theo
    TT

There's nothing wrong with the lure or terminals

Obviously the fisherperson simply likes to endorse hook & release fishing LOL

Poor bugger must have been jacked off when that happened!

Yes and its good to see finally a few Brands are starting to put decent hooks on from the beginning. The lure above, It looks like the hooks were upgraded but not the split rings???
    Scorpions come with such crap hooks it beggars me that an Aussie company puts out lures that catch so good with such lousy hooks!
    If they take note to Dam barra fishos these companies would do the following

1. Some versions WITHOUT rattles
    2. Some versions that suspend, man I would love a suspending Classic!
    3. Owner hooks or 4x VMC plus equivlant strength split rings.

Seems a lot of lures are still made with the N. Territory and Trollers in mind

I find it almost amusing that we are so high tech with lure making but still have this scenario. Like putting old retreads on a XR8!

How great are these fish that can rip lures apart tho! Go Barra!
    Barrboy7
    " Fishing is not a hobby, a Hobby is something I do in my spare time! "

The hooks seem to be OK, they just forgot about the rings, Whitto

Piccy is a bit deceiving, hooks liked like the standard vmc to me, plus there was a snap on the front split, anyways I got me a new lure, still on the wrong side of the balance sheet for the trip though.

brian

Not the first lure I've seen with stuffed trebles and rings, good idea to upgrade but don't think that this is going to stop a big girl in the timber. What we are seeing a lot of lately is 6x hooks and split rings 60 plus braid and 100lb leaders locked up drags. All this is doing, is now ripping the guts out of the lures breaking the lures in half etc and this is happening to all brands local and imported. I suppose what I am saying is yes it is a good idea to upgrade but it won't make our gear bullet proof as Big Barra will always destroy the weakeest link.

From where Im sitting the Lure was obviously used straight out of the box. Thats the risk you take... almost like a lucky dip with standard 3X VMC's. You are always a chance with 3X VMC's, but your chances get better by the second when you have Owners or other stronger Hardware on your Lure (yes, there is stronger!)

Franco - Loving your avatar mate... go the Crownies!

Theo
    TT

funny how they seem to get it half right!! i bought some Scorpions on the weekend and noticed they have good quality 4xx halco fish rings on them.....with a hook best described as average. My collection of F18 classics come with, as shown above, poor quality rings, but have a 3x VMC hooks, which despite popular opinion, I have not chosen to upgrade(i do change the rings) as anything that bends them out of shape is most likely going to bury me in the sticks anyway. between myself and the missus, we've caught and landed only a handful of these fish (yes, ok, she's winning 4 - 1) we've had the 3x VMC hooks bend slightly but not come out. Never straightend and never lost a fish. I realise its early days in our Barra disease but we fish relatively light (20-30lb) mainlines and 60lb leaders, 3-5kg rods and drags that won't deliver much more than 5kg. I reckon the "softly, softly, catchy fishy" seems to be working for the manageable size fish we've connected to so far but the damage you see in Brian s photo looks like the work of Jaw Pressure exerted to the hook and not just a straight pull. the front and rear hooks look to be intact. I don't think anything would survive the pressure of the jaws of a big barra if you get them in the right spot(or is that wrong spot).

Cheers Roo.

Thanks Theo!
    Muddies that drink beer as part of their staple, dietary intake always taste better!

Definitely softly softly lands more Barra in our opinion with the guys I fish with. The thing that opens those trebles and rings is sudden torsional forces on the hardware, mostly when they change direction / jump / open jaws, or when your line is around a tree and they keep going !

I reckon a lot of times its a matter of pure luck wrt which way the fish plays the game, but whenever possible low rod angles and "following" your barra with the rod to avoid startling the fish or sudden changes in forces will always improve your chances of getting that kodak moment holding the fish.

If the lure has 2 trebles caught either side of the mouth then there's nothing you can do about that. In the barra classic Greenie has used double split rings and experimented with braid attachments to trebles to minimise torsional forces but I must admit I haven't ever seen him use those modifications when we go to Awoonga, and I don't know that the team He fishes with actually do that anymore.
    Seems like a lot of pissing around to me anyhow.

I guess if you've caught plenty barra before and aren't too fussed on getting the next one to the boat then you can get complacent, as I have before. However when the chips are down and your boat is experiencing a bio-rhythm fallout (as mine was after 3 days no fish at Awoonga recently), then the worst thing that can happen is losing that next crucial barra to shitty terminals. Thanks god I realised this on that trip and changed the rings & trebles - the fish I finally hooked was a 121cm, 30kg pig!!

My 2 bob, tight lines boyz
    Last edited by Franco; 17-12-2007 at 11:53 AM.

Purely a novice on this subject but I recently purchased a couple of lures for my next trip to Monduran and was advised that in addition to upgrading the rings and trebles, I should in fact remove the centre set of trebles and the ring.

The reasoning behind this was not only to avoid them being opened up as above but also to allow easy retrieval over the trees. It appears to always be the centre hooks that grab the snags?

Any thoughts?

Mayney
    Last edited by Mayney; 17-12-2007 at 12:38 PM.

Dunno bout the snag theory Mayney, but there is a school of thought on removeing center trebles and up-sizeing the front and rear treble, useing 2 splits per treble, it makes sense in more hook gape exposed to the fish, plus 2 trebles are likeley to cause less damage to a face hooked fish than 3 trebles.
    I dont know, havent tried myself, once I get a few more fish on the board I might start experimenting
    brian