Thread: best cheaper rod for zillion (Jacks, cod etc)

best cheaper rod for zillion (Jacks, cod etc)

hey guys,

well i think il go with a cheaper rod seeing i couldnt find a well built forcelight,
    was thinking a raider or something in the same price range,

what do u guys reccommend...?

it will be for throwing hard bodies at jacks, cod barra etc
    and will match up with a zillion

any help appreciated

Re: best cheaper rod for zillion (Jacks, cod etc)

By all reports, the raiders are the best value for money in that price range.

Hey Mate,
    Well My Verdict is that a Rell Like the Zillion Desereves a Good Rod but if you Were After a Cheap rod and Chucking for Up-North Stuff Look What Most of the Guides Use best value for Money Is the T-Curve!
    Cheers Mate!

Save another $80-$100 & buy a Nitro ..... & do the reel justice ..... nice warranty to boot...... Nagg

i havent seen many nitro's but the t,curve is fine if u want something for around the $180 mark although i would save another $100 and get a loomis or nitro

I have a T-Curve. Very nice rod for that sort of fishing. I looked at the Raiders but did not like the action on a casting outfit. I like their spin range better than their baitcasters

Quote Originally Posted by breamnut View Post
    i havent seen many nitro's but the t,curve is fine if u want something for around the $180 mark although i would save another $100 and get a loomis or nitro
    I recently had a look at the Crankbait 6'6" Nitro ...... & could pick it up for $230 Based on an IM8 blank .... it really has some balls but with a nice tip .. Nagg

PS .... If your from Brisbane ? The Tackle Warehouse (Camp Hill) is a dealer
    Last edited by NAGG; 16-12-2007 at 07:17 PM.

Ive got a Raider Barra Mauler for sale atm near new condition. Check out the rods and reels for sale section. Would marry up to your zillion very nicely and has plenty of grunt in it to wrestle barras and the red devels from snags. pm me if interested.

yep i can vouch for the barra mauler to do the business

Yellahunter,

Didnt you have trouble with a raider rod and split cork handle a while back??? I'm sure it was your post. Because I had a mate who had same problem.

anyway, I would spend the extra $ and get a Egrell. (Still cost less then forcelite and way better IMHO) I have the BeaR 6-6 (which is a 6kg rod) which I have a Zillion on. Awesome set up. caught Bass, Jacks, trevally, and of course heaps of Barra on it with no worries. Casts a dream with most light and medium sized lures.

I recall someone saying they'd never touch one of those piece of cr@p raiders again. . . . . but that could have been anyone body.

But seriously the new trions look nice, they do a 4-8kg 6ft which would be perfect for jack work.

Why not have a look at the Samurai NV-7's from Gary Howard. Very nice outfits and you could even build it up yourself.

thanks for all the tips so far guys,

Hey steve. how much do those rods cost..?
    think i might have a serious look at the egrell/bear range

Ben,

I find the Daiwa Advantage really nice rods for the price - especially the previous model. Sporty's had a few on the clearance rack that were going at a good price. I also know of one being sold privately for around the $100 mark if you are interested?

How's the fishing been - I haven't been out much lately, and when I have it has been a quick session before work?

Marty

Yella,

About $350 or so I beleive. might be less. Worth every penny IMHO. You wont have to worry about poor quality construction like your dramas with the mass factory produced Loomis's. Eric personally builds the rods with great skill and precision.

I dont know a great deal about rod construction or the ins and outs regarding blank performance and tapers etc, I just fish!!. I just know they cast further and more accurate than any other rod I have used (including Loomis) and I feel 'safe' when hooked up and that the rod has a 'bit more up the sleeve if required feeling' Thats all that matters to me.

Mine cops a fair workout on impoundment barra and handle it with ease. I have also used it to throw small jackalls for Bass, jacks etc no probs. Good allround rod. Matched well with a zillion. Hope this helps. Egrell website has more info and store details I beleive.

cheers steve
    Last edited by Steve B; 19-12-2007 at 10:43 PM.